Read About Massachusetts
Gaining Ground: A history of landmaking in Boston
F73.3 .S46 2003
Massachusetts in the Woman Suffrage Movement
JK1911.M4 B47 2018
Massachusetts and the New Nation
F69 .M418 1992
The Roots of Rural Capitalism: Western Massachusetts, 1780-1860
HC107.M4 R66 1990
Orthodoxies in Massachusetts: Rereading American Puritanism
BR520 .K55 1994
General Resources
Massachusetts Sources [Records & More]
Massachusetts 
'Massachusetts' comes from a Wampanoag word meaning "by the range of hills." The area that is now Massachusetts was originally inhabited by multiple indigenous nations, including the Wampanaog, Mohegan, and Mohican peoples.
The Pilgrims landed at modern-day Provincetown Harbor in 1620, then continued to Plimoth where they founded the first permanent settlement. Massachusetts became the 6th state in 1788.
Sources: "American Indians in Massachusetts," Native-Languages.org, accessed 26 July 2022, http://www.native-languages.org/massachusetts; "History of Massachusetts," Secretary of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, accessed 14 July 2022, https://www.sec.state.ma.us/cis/cishistory.htm; "Greetings from Boston, Massachusetts." Card. Tichnor Bros. Inc., Boston, Mass., [ca. 1930–1945]. Digital Commonwealth, https://ark.digitalcommonwealth.org/ark:/50959/wh246s552 (accessed July 14, 2022).
Books (incl. Memoirs)
Books in Dinand about the history of Massachusetts will be located in the Mezzanine Stacks, roughly between call numbers F61 and F75. These include books about the history of Massachusetts in general, as well as the history of specific regions, towns, etc. within the state. Don't forget to check the oversize section!
Online Sources
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scanned books from major research libraries. Best for books published before 1928.
- Worcester History eBooks(Historic) downloadable ebooks from the Worcester Historical Museum, dealing with different aspects of the history of Worcester and Worcester County.
Libraries to Visit
- American Antiquarian Society - Books & PamphletsThe American Antiquarian Society has an extensive collection of materials on all aspects of U.S. history before 1876, including Worcester. Admission is free, but you should read the Society's guidelines on Planning Your Research Visit before you go! You'll need to register online in advance and undergo a brief orientation on your first visit.
- American Antiquarian Society - Local, County & State HistoriesThe American Antiquarian Society has an extensive collection of materials on all aspects of U.S. history before 1876, including Worcester. Admission is free, but you should read the Society's guidelines on Planning Your Research Visit before you go! You'll need to register online in advance and undergo a brief orientation on your first visit.
- Worcester Historical Museum Library & ArchivesThe WHM has a strong research library relating to Worcester history. You will need to purchase admission to the Museum in order to visit the library; bring your student ID for a discount!
Cemeteries
- American Antiquarian Society - Farber Gravestone Collection"The Farber Gravestone Collection is an unusual resource documenting the sculpture on over 9,000 gravestones most of which were made prior to 1800. "
- Find a GraveCrowdsourced site with information on burials in cemeteries worldwide, with images for many stones. Note that the biographical information / relatives identified on some profiles is not always accurate.
- St. Augustine Cemetery Records, 1819-1859These records of the oldest Catholic cemetery in the Archdiocese of Boston are available with a free account.
Census Records (U.S. & Local)
About the Federal U.S. Census:
The Federal U.S. Census is taken every 10 years, beginning in 1790. These records are generally available online once released, with the exception of the 1890 census, almost all of which was destroyed in a fire. The release of detailed census data (i.e., the line by line records) operates on a "72 year" rule, meaning that data is released 72 years after the official date of a given census. The next release, of the 1950 census, is scheduled for 2032.
In the 19th century, the federal census often included separate "schedules" covering topics like farmers, enslaved individuals, and veterans and their widows. These are usually organized separately from the main census when searching in databases.
About the State Census:
Some states also collected their own census data. These were usually also every 10 years, but offset from the federal schedule -- so for example, there might be a federal census in 1840 and 1850, and a state census in 1845 and 1855. The U.S. Census Bureau maintains information about surviving state census records. For Massachusetts, only the 1855 and 1865 state censuses survive.
FamilySearch has an excellent wiki page that breaks down the different dates and other census information available for the state of Massachusetts.
Using Census Data:
There are two ways of approaching census data. You can examine the line-by-line records to look for specific individuals, examine the names in specific towns, etc. Or, you can look at the data holistically to consider things like overall population size, demographics, etc. Typically, you would access census data in different ways to accomplish each of these purposes.
Looking at Data:
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization, reporting and downloads of U.S. Census Data.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Statistical data in a wide range of subject areas, with tools for searching, analyzing and visualizing.
Looking at Individual Records:
- HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Ancestry® genealogical database which also includes census records and other historical documents from the U.S. and other countries.
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
City Directories
When to Use City Directories:
City directories are helpful for finding...
- Addresses (and other details) for local businesses
- Addresses for specific individuals
- Occupations of specific individuals
- Lists of local organizations, officials, etc.
- (In some cases) other general information about the area.
Tips for Using City Directories:
- Thomas MacEntee, "Using City Directories: Top 10 Tips and Tricks"Includes information on the layout and function of city directories, including links to abbreviation lists.
- Amy Johnson Crow, "What You Might Be Missing in City Directories"An overview of the history and format of city directories, why searching doesn't always work, and how to effectively find information in them.
- "Six Things to Find in City Directories" [Ancestry.com]Good general information, but also specifically designed to accompany HeritageQuest.
Directories in Print:
- American Antiquarian Society - Directories"The American Antiquarian Society has nearly 7,000 directories published in the United States before 1877. "
Online Sources:
- Directories (People) @ The Boston Public LibraryCompilation of Boston directories available online.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scanned books from major research libraries. Best for books published before 1928.
- HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Ancestry® genealogical database which also includes census records and other historical documents from the U.S. and other countries.
Maps
Online Sources
- Atlascope Boston"Atlascope is a tool for exploring historic urban maps in metropolitan Boston and telling stories about how places have changed over time. It currently includes 70 atlases of Boston and its inner suburbs."
- Collections | Norman B. Leventhal Map & Education CenterThe Norman B. Leventhal Map & Education Center at the Boston Public Library provides access to more than 10,000 digitized maps from 15th-century to present, especially from New England.
- Digital Commonwealth (Massachusetts Collections Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical sources owned by libraries, museums and other institutions in the state of Massachusetts, browsable by topic, institution, format or location.
- Massachusetts Real Estate AtlasesDigitized 19th and 20th-century real estate atlases from the State Library of Massachusetts, covering 12 counties and 80 municipalities across the state.
- Sanborn Maps Online [Library of Congress]Digitized historic fire insurance maps from various cities in the US.
Libraries to Visit
- American Antiquarian Society - Maps & AtlasesThe American Antiquarian Society has an extensive collection of materials on all aspects of U.S. history before 1876, including Worcester. Admission is free, but you should read the Society's guidelines on Planning Your Research Visit before you go! You'll need to register online in advance and undergo a brief orientation on your first visit.
- Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library"The Leventhal Map & Education Center cares for more than a quarter million cartographic and geographic objects, including maps, atlases, charts, globes, gazetteers, ephemera, research texts, and data sets. Most, though not all, of our physical objects are housed on location at our gallery and research center at the Central Library in Copley Square. All of our collections holdings are available for access to researchers by appointment, and many are available as digital collections."
Military Records
Records
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Massachusetts National Guard Museum & Archives(currently in process of relocating to Concord, MA)
- 9th Infantry Division Association Documents (World War II)The College Archives & Distinctive Collections hold the originals and other documents from this collection.
Papers of the Military Historical Society of MassachusettsCall Number: E470 .M57 1989Publication Date: 1989
Personal Narratives
- Winding Down: the Revolutionary War letters of Lieutenant Benjamin Gilbert of Massachusetts, 1780-1783 : from his original manuscript letterbook by Call Number: E263 M4 + G45 1989ISBN: 0472101129Publication Date: 1989
Commanding Boston's Irish Ninth: the Civil War letters of Colonel Patrick R. Guiney, Ninth Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry by Call Number: E513.5 9th .G85 1997ISBN: 0823218120Publication Date: 1997Also available online.
The College Archives & Distinctive Collections hold a special collection of Guiney's letters and other materials.
Practicing Medicine in a Black Regiment: The Civil War diary of Burt G. Wilder, 55th Massachusetts by Call Number: E513.5 55th .W55 2010ISBN: 9781558497399Publication Date: 2010
Newspapers & Periodicals
When to Use Newspapers & Periodicals:
Historical newspapers can be a good source for finding...
- Notices of sale, construction or other property changes;
- Ads and news about local businesses;
- News about specific individuals, including obituaries/death notices.
- General news and information about what is happening in an area during a given period of time.
Tips for Reading Historic Newspapers:
- "Must-Know Tips For Reading 18th and 19th Century Newspapers" [Findmypast.com]A basic guide to what to expect, and how to find information, in historical newspapers.
- Genealogy Roadshow, "Newspaper Research"[archived version via Wayback Machine]
Online Sources
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 1 This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains the majority of early American periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society for the years 1684-1820 (noting that some periodicals may continue into the later collections). The AAS collections include publications local to Worcester.See also Series 2 (1821-1837) || Series 3 (1838-1852) || Series 4 (1853-1865) || Series 5 (1866-1912)
- Barnstable, MA Digital Newspaper ArchiveDigitized issues of the Barnstable Patriot, (1830-2017), Hyannis Patriot (1894-1942), Sandwich Observer (1910-1911), The Register (1968-2017), Yarmouth Register (1836-1958), and the Dennis-Yarmouth Register (1959-1967)
- Boston Globe Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1980-present
Text-only articles from the Boston Globe. - Boston Globe Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1872-1993
Articles from the Boston Globe including all pictures and advertisements.
- Historic Cambridge Newspaper CollectionFree access to papers including Boston Herald American's Cambridge Rambler (1975-1981), The Cambridge Chronicle (1846-2019), Cambridge Press (1887-1889), Cambridge Tab (1981-1983), Cambridge Express (1981-1983), Cambridge Sentinel (1903-1947), Cambridge Tribune (1887-1941), Fax (1987-1991).
- The Liberator"The Boston-based radical abolitionist newspaper The Liberator was published weekly from January 1, 1831 to December 29, 1865."
- Nantucket Atheneum Digital Historic Newspaper Archive"This archive allows researchers to search and view issues of over 20 Nantucket historic newspapers from 1816 to the present online using keyword searching."
- Newspaper Archive [Boston Public Library]"Searchable full-page reproductions of historical newspapers, some of which were made from the collections of the Boston Public Library. Boston coverage includes: Boston Globe (morning and evening editions), 1872-1922; Boston Post, 1831-1922." To access, sign-up for a BPL e-card.
- Provincetown Online: The Advocate Live!Access to various issues of the Provincetown Advocate, the Provincetown Beacon, Provincetown Banner, and New Beacon ranging in date from 1856 to 1967.
- The Women's Era"The first national periodical published by and for Black women in the United States" 1894-1897
Photographs
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Now part of JSTOR. Library of images relating to art and architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
- Digital Commonwealth (Massachusetts Collections Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical sources owned by libraries, museums and other institutions in the state of Massachusetts, browsable by topic, institution, format or location.
- Photographs of 17th & 18th Century Structures in MA (AAS)Digitized negatives taken in central and eastern MA 1887-1945 by Worcester author Harriette Merrifield Forbes.
- WhatWasThere.comA crowdsourced project to stitch together user-submitted photographs from all time periods with modern Google Maps.
Political Sources
- HeinOnline: Government, Politics & Law for Academics This link opens in a new window
A library of legal resources including law journals; government, legal and diplomatic documents; books; reports; and historical sources.
- James Michael Curley Notebook Collection (1814-1937)The originals and other items from the James Michael Curley papers are held by the College Archives & Distinctive Collections.
Property Records
When to Use Property Records:
Property records are useful for locating...
- Information on the ownership of a property at a given time;
- Information on transfer of property between individual and/or other entities;
- Information on the material nature and contents of a given property;
- Information on the monetary value of a given property;
- and more.
Tips for Using Property Records:
- "How to Find and Use Land Records"This blog written by a genealogy researcher explains how land records work in the United States, what information is in them and why they might be helpful.
- "Beginning Research in United States Land Records" [FamilySearch]A useful overview of property records in the United States and how to access them.
Online Sources:
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Massachusetts Land RecordsImages of land records 1731-present, indexes 1966-present. For land records prior to 1966, you will either need to find a reference in another source (like FamilySearch), or browse by date.
Probate Records:
When to Use Probate Records:
Probate Records are records created in the process of settling a person's affairs after their death. Probate records are helpful for finding...
- The names of relatives, friends and other associates, including married names of adult children;
- Clarification on the nature of relationships between the deceased and other individuals;
- (In some cases) information on the kind of property owned by the deceased; this can include real estate as well as individual possessions and their value;
- (In some cases) information on whom the deceased person owed money, and who owed them money;
Tips for Using Probate Records:
Online Sources for Probate Records:
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Other Court Records:
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal documents at the federal and state level, including court cases, laws, and legal encyclopedias.
Religious Records
General Resources:
- Massachusetts Church Records (FamilySearch)This useful wiki page includes details on church records for a variety of Christian denominations in Massachusetts. It also links to guidance for locating records from other religious traditions.
Catholicism:
- Boston College NewspapersIncludes access to key titles including the Boston Pilot (also published as the Jesuit, or Catholic, Sentinel, the United States Catholic Intelligencer, and the Literary and Catholic Sentinel.
- Catholic News Archive (CRAA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1831-2024
Articles from Catholic news sources, browsable by year, title and diocese, or keyword search. - Catholic Portal (CRRA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or "Catholic Portal," provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. There are over 25 subject guides offering assistance in finding relevant materials in the Catholic Portal. The portal includes manuscripts, books, ephemera, photographs, and artifacts relevant to its 12 collection themes.
- Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Boston Records, 1789-1920These records are available for browsing only, to users with free accounts.
- St. Augustine Cemetery Records, 1819-1859These records of the oldest Catholic cemetery in the Archdiocese of Boston are available with a free account.
Congregationalism:
Judaism:
Other Records
General/Misc. Collections:
- Massachusetts Archives Collection Database (1629-1779)Searchable index of selected documents from the Massachusetts Archives Collection, including colonial and ecclesiastical documents, records pertaining to emigrants, "French Neutrals" and Native Americans, specific towns, and more.
Immigration Records:
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Vital Records (Birth, Marriage, Death):
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.