How Do You Pronounce 'Worcester'?
[Video created by Clark University]
Read About Worcester
A History of Worcester 1674-1848
F74.W9 M69 2007
From Bondage to Belonging: The Worcester Slave Narratives
E444 .F88 2007 or ONLINE
The Polish Community of Worcester
F75.P7 P66 2003
Armenians of Worcester
F75.A7 A65 2000
Arab-American Faces and Voices
F74.W9 B638 2003 or ONLINE
Swedes of Greater Worcester
F74.W9 S184 2002
Women and Reform in a New England Community, 1815-1860
HQ1439.W67 L39 2000
Worcester : an illustrated history
F74.W9 +P65 1999
General Resources
- Worcester Research Guide Research guide developed collaboratively by librarians of the Worcester ARC (Academic Research Collaborative) and hosted by Clark University.
- Where in Worcester? Historical Records and Where to Find Them Pamphlet produced by the Worcester Historical Museum
- Worcester Links [Worcester Public Library] List of useful links to local organizations, information and more.
- Your Worcester Street [City of Worcester] Pamphlet by Ivan Sandrof detailing the history behind and naming of various important Worcester streets.
Worcester Sources [Records & More]
About Worcester
- 1673: 1st European settlement, "Quinsigamond Plantation" (abandoned c.1675)
- 1678: 2nd European settlement, "Worcester" (abandoned c.1702)
- 1713: 3rd (permanent) European settlement
- 1722: Worcester established as a town
- 1731: Worcester established as county seat of Worcester County
- 1848: Worcester incorporated as a city
Sources:
- "City hall, Worcester, Mass." Card. Pub, by Perkins & Butler. Inc., Worchester, Mass. Tichnor Bros. Inc., Boston, Mass., [ca. 1930–1945]. Digital Commonwealth, https://ark.digitalcommonwealth.org/ark:/50959/h128ng32b (accessed July 12, 2022);
- "This Old Neighborhood: Quinsigamond Plantation and King Philip's War," Worcester Memorial Auditorium, 4 March 2020, https://www.worcesteraud.com/news/this-old-neighborhood-quinsigamond-plantation-and-king-philips-war;
- "Worcester History," Worcester Historical Museum, accessed 12 July 2022, https://www.worcesterhistory.org/worcesters-history/
Books (incl. Memoirs)
Books in Dinand about the history of Worcester will be located in the Mezzanine Stacks, roughly between call numbers F69 and F75. Don't forget to check the oversize section!
[ Partial list of Worcester books, in English, in Dinand Library ]
Online Sources
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scanned books from major research libraries. Best for books published before 1928.
- Worcester History eBooks(Historic) downloadable ebooks from the Worcester Historical Museum, dealing with different aspects of the history of Worcester and Worcester County.
Libraries to Visit
- American Antiquarian Society - Books & PamphletsThe American Antiquarian Society has an extensive collection of materials on all aspects of U.S. history before 1876, including Worcester. Admission is free, but you should read the Society's guidelines on Planning Your Research Visit before you go! You'll need to register online in advance and undergo a brief orientation on your first visit.
- American Antiquarian Society - Local, County & State HistoriesThe American Antiquarian Society has an extensive collection of materials on all aspects of U.S. history before 1876, including Worcester. Admission is free, but you should read the Society's guidelines on Planning Your Research Visit before you go! You'll need to register online in advance and undergo a brief orientation on your first visit.
- Local History & Genealogy [Worcester Public Library]WPL has a large collection of useful and interesting books dealing with Worcester and other local history. Many of these are located in the Genealogy & Local History area on the 3rd floor. Remember, with your ARC card, you are eligible to get your own WPL library card!
- Worcester Historical Museum Library & ArchivesThe WHM has a strong research library relating to Worcester history. You will need to purchase admission to the Museum in order to visit the library; bring your student ID for a discount!
Cemeteries
- American Antiquarian Society - Farber Gravestone Collection"The Farber Gravestone Collection is an unusual resource documenting the sculpture on over 9,000 gravestones most of which were made prior to 1800. "
- Find a GraveCrowdsourced site with information on burials in cemeteries worldwide, with images for many stones. Note that the biographical information / relatives identified on some profiles is not always accurate.
Census Records (U.S. & Local)
About the Federal U.S. Census:
The Federal U.S. Census is taken every 10 years, beginning in 1790. These records are generally available online once released, with the exception of the 1890 census, almost all of which was destroyed in a fire. The release of detailed census data (i.e., the line by line records) operates on a "72 year" rule, meaning that data is released 72 years after the official date of a given census. The next release, of the 1950 census, is scheduled for 2032.
In the 19th century, the federal census often included separate "schedules" covering topics like farmers, enslaved individuals, and veterans and their widows. These are usually organized separately from the main census when searching in databases.
About the State Census:
Some states also collected their own census data. These were usually also every 10 years, but offset from the federal schedule -- so for example, there might be a federal census in 1840 and 1850, and a state census in 1845 and 1855. The U.S. Census Bureau maintains information about surviving state census records. For Massachusetts, only the 1855 and 1865 state censuses survive.
FamilySearch has an excellent wiki page that breaks down the different dates and other census information available for the state of Massachusetts.
Using Census Data:
There are two ways of approaching census data. You can examine the line-by-line records to look for specific individuals, examine the names in specific towns, etc. Or, you can look at the data holistically to consider things like overall population size, demographics, etc. Typically, you would access census data in different ways to accomplish each of these purposes.
Looking at Data:
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization, reporting and downloads of U.S. Census Data.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Statistical data in a wide range of subject areas, with tools for searching, analyzing and visualizing.
Looking at Individual Records:
- HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Ancestry® genealogical database which also includes census records and other historical documents from the U.S. and other countries.
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
City Directories
When to Use City Directories:
City directories are helpful for finding...
- Addresses (and other details) for local businesses
- Addresses for specific individuals
- Occupations of specific individuals
- Lists of local organizations, officials, etc.
- (In some cases) other general information about the area.
Tips for Using City Directories:
- Thomas MacEntee, "Using City Directories: Top 10 Tips and Tricks"Includes information on the layout and function of city directories, including links to abbreviation lists.
- Amy Johnson Crow, "What You Might Be Missing in City Directories"An overview of the history and format of city directories, why searching doesn't always work, and how to effectively find information in them.
- "Six Things to Find in City Directories" [Ancestry.com]Good general information, but also specifically designed to accompany HeritageQuest.
Directories in Print:
Worcester City DirectoriesCall Number: F74.W9Dinand Library has multiple, misc. volumes from the 1840s onward.
- American Antiquarian Society - Directories"The American Antiquarian Society has nearly 7,000 directories published in the United States before 1877. "
Online Sources:
- HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Ancestry® genealogical database which also includes census records and other historical documents from the U.S. and other countries.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scanned books from major research libraries. Best for books published before 1928.
Maps
Online Sources
- A History of Worcester in 10 Maps [City of Worcester]A collection of maps, with historical notes, collected for the Worcester tercentennial in 2022.
- Collections | Norman B. Leventhal Map & Education CenterThe Norman B. Leventhal Map & Education Center at the Boston Public Library provides access to more than 10,000 digitized maps from 15th-century to present, especially from New England.
- Digital Commonwealth (Massachusetts Collections Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical sources owned by libraries, museums and other institutions in the state of Massachusetts, browsable by topic, institution, format or location.
- Massachusetts Real Estate AtlasesDigitized 19th and 20th-century real estate atlases from the State Library of Massachusetts, covering 12 counties and 80 municipalities across the state.
- Sanborn Maps Online [Library of Congress]Digitized historic fire insurance maps from various cities in the US.
Libraries to Visit
- American Antiquarian Society - Maps & AtlasesThe American Antiquarian Society has an extensive collection of materials on all aspects of U.S. history before 1876, including Worcester. Admission is free, but you should read the Society's guidelines on Planning Your Research Visit before you go! You'll need to register online in advance and undergo a brief orientation on your first visit.
Landmarks
- Worcester Public Art Map"Map & Database of public art and other landmarks throughout the City, highlighting murals, memorials, statues and other art installations," compiled by the City of Worcester.
- Worcester War MemorialsCompiled by the City of Worcester, "a collection of the statues, monuments and squares commemorating our veterans and the wars in which they served."
Military Records
- Massachusetts National Guard Museum & Archives(currently in process of relocating to Concord, MA)
- Worcester War MemorialsCompiled by the City of Worcester, "a collection of the statues, monuments and squares commemorating our veterans and the wars in which they served."
Newspapers & Periodicals
When to Use Newspapers & Periodicals:
Historical newspapers can be a good source for finding...
- Notices of sale, construction or other property changes;
- Ads and news about local businesses;
- News about specific individuals, including obituaries/death notices.
- General news and information about what is happening in an area during a given period of time.
Tips for Reading Historic Newspapers:
- "Must-Know Tips For Reading 18th and 19th Century Newspapers" [Findmypast.com]A basic guide to what to expect, and how to find information, in historical newspapers.
- Genealogy Roadshow, "Newspaper Research"[archived version via Wayback Machine]
Newspapers & Periodicals in Print / On Microfilm
You will find that many older papers are available only on microfilm. Periodicals on microfilm are stored page-by-page in a long row of film, which the user then scrolls through using a special machine and magnifier. Microfilm does not come with its own way of "looking up" articles, other than browsing, so you may find it helpful to identify an event and/or date ahead of time, or to look for references to specific articles in secondary sources.
Online Sources
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 1 This link opens in a new windowDigital access to early American periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society, right here in Worcester! The AAS is the nation's chief repository for 18th and 19th century newspapers published in the United States, Canada, and the West Indies.
See also : Series 2 (1821-1837) || Series 3 (1838-1852) || Series 4 (1853-1865) || Series 5 (1866-1912)
- Newspaper Archive [Boston Public Library]"Searchable full-page reproductions of historical newspapers, some of which were made from the collections of the Boston Public Library. Boston coverage includes: Boston Globe (morning and evening editions), 1872-1922; Boston Post, 1831-1922." To access, sign-up for a BPL e-card.
- Boston Globe Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1872-1993
Articles from the Boston Globe including all pictures and advertisements. - Worcester Telegram & Gazette Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1866-1988
Articles from the Worcester Evening Gazette and the Worcester Telegram, including all pictures and advertisements. - Worcester Telegram & Gazette Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1989-present
Articles from the Worcester Telegram & Gazette; all pictures and advertisements are included 2018-present.
Photographs
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Now part of JSTOR. Library of images relating to art and architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
- Digital Commonwealth (Massachusetts Collections Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical sources owned by libraries, museums and other institutions in the state of Massachusetts, browsable by topic, institution, format or location.
- HistoryPin - Worcester collectionsHistorypin is a crowdsourced project to connect photos and stories from community cultural organizations, with maps of their communities. There are several curated collections pertaining to Worcester.
- Photographs of 17th & 18th Century Structures in MA (AAS)Digitized negatives taken in central and eastern MA 1887-1945 by Worcester author Harriette Merrifield Forbes.
- WhatWasThere.comA crowdsourced project to stitch together user-submitted photographs from all time periods with modern Google Maps.
- Wohlbruck Collection - Images of Worcester (AAS)"This collection of 180 glass plate negatives document the city of Worcester, Massachusetts, as it looked from about 1905 to 1910."
- Worcester Public Library - YearbooksIn addition to yearbooks held in the WPL collections, some of their digitized yearbooks have been made available via the Internet Archive.
Property Records
When to Use Property Records:
Property records are useful for locating...
- Information on the ownership of a property at a given time;
- Information on transfer of property between individual and/or other entities;
- Information on the material nature and contents of a given property;
- Information on the monetary value of a given property;
- and more.
Tips for Using Property Records:
- "How to Find and Use Land Records"This blog written by a genealogy researcher explains how land records work in the United States, what information is in them and why they might be helpful.
- "Beginning Research in United States Land Records" [FamilySearch]A useful overview of property records in the United States and how to access them.
Online Sources:
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Massachusetts Land RecordsImages of land records 1731-present, indexes 1966-present. For land records prior to 1966, you will either need to find a reference in another source (like FamilySearch), or browse by date.
Probate Records:
When to Use Probate Records:
Probate Records are records created in the process of settling a person's affairs after their death. Probate records are helpful for finding...
- The names of relatives, friends and other associates, including married names of adult children;
- Clarification on the nature of relationships between the deceased and other individuals;
- (In some cases) information on the kind of property owned by the deceased; this can include real estate as well as individual possessions and their value;
- (In some cases) information on whom the deceased person owed money, and who owed them money;
Tips for Using Probate Records:
Online Sources for Probate Records:
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Other Court Records:
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal documents at the federal and state level, including court cases, laws, and legal encyclopedias.
Religious Records
- Catholic News Archive (CRAA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1831-2024
Articles from Catholic news sources, browsable by year, title and diocese, or keyword search. - Catholic Portal (CRRA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources created by and about Catholics from libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives around the world.
Other Local Records
General/Misc. Collections:
- Local History & Genealogy [Worcester Public Library]WPL has a wide variety of collections outside of those listed on other tabs. From WPL, you also have the ability to access restricted images on the FamilySearch website, and to use WPL's Ancestry.com: Library Edition subscription.
- Massachusetts Archives Collection Database (1629-1779)Searchable index of selected documents from the Massachusetts Archives Collection, including colonial and ecclesiastical documents, records pertaining to emigrants, "French Neutrals" and Native Americans, specific towns, and more.
- Records of the Worcester City Clerk, to 1847Inventory of historical record collections held by the Worcester City Clerk's office.
Immigration Records:
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Local Government:
- Records of the Worcester City Clerk, to 1847Inventory of historical record collections held by the Worcester City Clerk's office.
Vital Records (Birth, Marriage, Death):
- FamilySearchFamilySearch is a free genealogy and records research platform which contains thousands+ of digitized records ranging from the census, to birth/death, to property. A free account is required to search. Run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.