Archives & Distinctive Collections
Holy Cross Sources
HC Timeline
- 1843: Fenwick cornerstone laid in June; first classes in November.
- 1849: First Commencement ceremony
- 1865: Charter officially granted by State of Massachusetts
- 1972: First female students on campus
- 1991: Optional First Year Program (FYP) is introduced
- 2008: FYP becomes universal Montserrat program
Sources: "Historical Timeline of Holy Cross," College of the Holy Cross, 14 July 2022, https://www.holycross.edu/175th-anniversary/historical-timeline-holy-cross; College Archives & Distinctive Collections.
Books (incl. Memoirs)
Books in Holy Cross will generally be located in the Center Basement Stacks, roughly near call number LD2281. Don't forget to check the oversize section!
Thy Honoured Name: A history of the College of the Holy Cross, 1843-1994 by Call Number: LD2281.H32 K89 1999Publication Date: 1993The authoritative history of Holy Cross.
- Anthony F. Ciampi (1816-1893) : The Jesuit Who Saved The College of The Holy Cross byCall Number: BX4705.C53 L37 2017Publication Date: 2017
- Bishop Healy, beloved outcaste : the story of a great priest whose life has become a legend byCall Number: BX4705.H434 F6 1954Publication Date: 1954
A Farewell to Glory: the rise and fall of an epic football rivalry : Boston College vs. Holy Cross by Call Number: GV958.B66 C37 2003Publication Date: 2003
Holy Cross Class of '72 Ex-Man by Call Number: LD2281.H32 D38 2011ISBN: 9781460918623Publication Date: 2011- Historical sketch of the College of the Holy Cross, Worcester, Massachusetts. 1843-83Call Number: LD2281.H32 H6 1883Publication Date: 1883
- The spires of Fenwick; a history of the College of the Holy Cross, 1843-1963 byCall Number: LD2281.H32 M48Publication Date: 1966
- Uphill both ways : confessions of a Catholic college alum byCall Number: LD2281.H32 P37 2004Publication Date: 2004
- Women on the Hill: : alumnae reflect on twenty years at Holy Cross, 1972-1992 byCall Number: LD2281.H319 C33 1993ISBN: 0963611801Publication Date: 1993
- History of the College of the Holy Cross, 1843-1943Call Number: Z5814.U7 +H7 1943Publication Date: 1943
Cemetery
For the definitive guide to Holy Cross' Jesuit cemetery, see:
Beneath the Cross : Historical Tour of the Jesuit Cemetery at the College of the Holy Cross by Call Number: LD2281.H32 C36 2019Publication Date: 2019
Campus Newspapers & Periodicals
Student Newspaper
- The Tomahawk/The Crusader (1925-1999)Read PDFs of the Holy Cross student newspaper, today published as The Spire, from its origins as the Tomahawk in 1925, through 1999 (when it was called The Crusader).
- The Spire (2018-present)The official website of the Spire.
Digitization is a work in progress! For issues of the Crusader between 1999 and 2018, visit
the Archives & Distinctive Collections to use the print copies in their collection.
Other Campus Periodicals
- The Purple
1960-1999 - Diotima: A Journal of Student Philosophical WritingArchives, B1 +D56
1999-2002 - The Fenwick ReviewCurrent Periodicals
2014-2021 (some vols. missing)
Other Sources
Archives & Distinctive Collections
The ultimate source for information on College History is the Holy Cross Archives & Distinctive Collections, located on the 3rd Floor of Dinand Library.
Some tips to keep in mind for Archival research:
- Archives & Distinctive Collections are open during the week (Mon-Fri) by appointment only 9am-12pm, and for general research (no appointment needed) 1-4pm. The Archives & Distinctive Collections also now offer evening hours (no appointment needed) Wednesday 6-8pm.
- Although appointments are only required in the mornings, it is highly recommended that you reach out to the (very helpful!) staff before your visit for guidance and to let them know what materials you would like to view. You can contact them at archives@holycross.edu.
- Before visiting, make sure you are familiar with the policies and procedures. Note especially that you are not allowed to use pens or highlighters in the reading room, to protect the materials, but lockers are provided to store any such items as well as food, drink etc.
- Archival research does not come with electronic searching, and can be an exciting (but time-consuming) journey! -- make sure you leave yourself plenty of time to browse the collections and to digest what you find. And, be sure to take excellent notes!
CrossWorks
CrossWorks is another wonderful source for College history. CrossWorks is the institutional repository of the College of the Holy Cross.
Send Us a Question
Do you have a question for an archivist that you don't think requires a full appointment? Send it to us here, and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.
*When you submit questions through this form, the information you submit is retained in our LibAnswers system. We use this data to understand the needs of our users, so that we can improve our services. The data is not shared.