Suggested Websites
- Native Land MapNative Land Digital is a Canadian not-for-profit organization, incorporated in December 2018. It is designed to be Indigenous-led, with an Indigenous Board of Directors who oversee and direct the organization.
- Map of Sundown Towns in the United StatesThis site was created by Matt Cheney and is copyrighted by James W. Loewen 1997-2020.
- Lynching Map"The Equal Justice Initiative believes we need to change the narrative about race in America in order to advance our collective goal of equal justice for all."
- Lynchings in the United States: 1883 - 1941Map created by Charles Seguin, Assistant Professor of Sociology at Penn State.
History Reference Books
Suggested reference books about historical topics. These might help you answer some of the history questions in the assignment. You can find these books in the Main Reading Room of Dinand Library.
A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples by Call Number: E76.2 .P75 1998Publication Date: 2000
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Call Number: Dinand Reference E77 +G15 1998 v.1-4ISBN: 0787610852Publication Date: 1998-03-05
Encyclopedia of Massachusetts IndiansCall Number: Dinand Reference E78.M4 E63 1999 v.1-2ISBN: 0403093309Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Chronology of World Slavery by Call Number: Dinand Reference HT861 +R63 1999ISBN: 0874368847Publication Date: 1999-06-15
Contact us in the library
RESEARCH SUPPORT
- Librarians for this assignment: Alicia Hansen (ahansen), Eileen Cravedi (ecravedi), Laura Wilson (llwilson)
- Chat Service: Chat 24/7 with librarians from Holy Cross and other Jesuit schools via via AJCU Virtual Reference
- Email: Contact any of our librarians or, for fastest response, contact libref@holycross.edu
- Research Appointments: Schedule a Personal Research Session (with a librarian) or a Peer2Peer Consultation (with our Peer Research Consultants) for a one-on-one meeting tailored to your specific needs. We can help with any part of your research process, from developing a topic all the way to the bibliography.
- Reference Desk: Visit the desk in the Main Reading Room for drop-in help from librarians and student assistants.
- Online Resources: Visit our online research guides, tutorials and FAQ.
Current Newspapers
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and international news sources, including major titles like the Boston Globe, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, and LA Times.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Local, national, and international news, including the Worcester Telegram & Gazette.
- Worcester Telegram & Gazette Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1989-present
Articles from the Worcester Telegram & Gazette; all pictures and advertisements are included 2018-present. - Boston Globe Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1980-present
Text-only articles from the Boston Globe.
Don't forget about your local public library or historical society. They will have local history information and archives, often online. For example: Westfield (MA) Athenaeum has an easy to find section on their site strictly for local history resources. In addition to what's offered online, you can always call or visit the librarians, and they will be more than happy to help!
https://www.westath.org/local-history/
Historical Newspapers
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1777-1963
Historic newspapers from all different U.S. states, hosted by the Library of Congress. - Boston Globe Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1872-1990
Articles from theBoston Globe including all pictures and advertisements. - American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1740-1940
Historic magazine and journal articles, including professional, childrens' and womens' magazines. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1821-1837
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 3 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1838-1852
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 4 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1853-1865
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 5 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1866-1912
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Date(s): Early 1800s - early 2000s
Primary sources by and about Black Americans. - American Indian Histories & Cultures This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1500-1998
Primary sources created by Native Americans and the Europeans who interacted with them, searchable by date, genre, area and indigenous nation. - Arte Público Historical Collection Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1746-2006
Newspaper and magazine articles, and other primary sources, related to Hispanic history, literature and culture in the United States. Mostly in Spanish. - Arte Público Historical Collection Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1799-2006, but mainly 1895-1950
Magazine articles, books and other primary sources related to Hispanic civil rights, religion, and women writers in the United States. Mostly in Spanish. - Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1800s-1900s
Spanish-language and bilingual (Spanish-English) U.S. newspapers. - Chicago Defender Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1909-1975
Articles from the Chicago Defender, a leading national Black newspaper.
