LibGuides: SOCL 203: Race & Power (Weiner): Current Racial Realities

Community Information

Government

US Census Data

http://data.census.gov
Explore census data, learn about America’s people, places, and economy
See the video below on how to use the website to find demographic information.

Other Resources

USA.gov
The "Google" of U.S. government websites. Use this search engine to find information published on .gov sites.
Freedom for Immigrants: Mapping U.S. Immigration Detention
Interactive map of U.S. immigration detention.

more... less...

"Freedom for Immigrants is devoted to abolishing immigration detention, while ending the isolation of people currently suffering in this profit-driven system."
How Diverse are US Newsrooms?
From the American Society of News Editors, in partnership with Google News Initiative
Not My Tax Dollars
Not My Tax Dollars is a project of the US Campaign for Palestinian Rights (USCPR). Find out how much money people in your city spend on Israel, and what could be funded instead.

Newspapers

ProQuest Newspapers

National and international news sources, including major titles like the Boston Globe, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, and LA Times.
Worcester Telegram & Gazette Current

Date(s):1989-present
Articles from the Worcester Telegram & Gazette; all pictures and advertisements are included 2018-present.
ProQuest Central

Journal articles, magazines, and news in almost every subject area.

Search for Public Schools
From the National Center for Education Statistics. Use the Search For Public Schools locator to retrieve information on all U.S. public schools. This data is collected annually directly from State Education Agencies (SEAs).
National Center for Education Statistics
Land Grab Universities
See video for finding teacher demographics and school lunch statistics
Civil Rights Data Collection
The Department of Education's Civil Rights Data Collection includes data about: enrollment demographics, discipline, school expenditures, teacher experience, and more.

State Unemployment by Race
https://www.epi.org/indicators/state-unemployment-race-ethnicity/
Economic Policy Institute

Family wait times for public housing
This is a report that *contains* data sets. Scroll down to find your state and the 2020 wait times for public housing.
See video tutorial on public housing wait times
Federal Reserve's data on median net worth
Note: This information does not list median net worth by state and by race.

Health insurance tables from census.gov
See the bottom of the table for health insurance coverage. You can change the filters by geography for state or county level. This is the ACS (American Community Survey) from the Census.
County Health Rankings
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income inequality, and teen births in nearly every county in America.
Massachusetts Environmental Public Health Tracking
"Environmental Public Health Tracking (EPHT) is the ongoing collection, integration, analysis, and interpretation of data about: environmental hazards (e.g., air pollutants), exposure to environmental hazards (e.g., childhood blood lead levels), health effects potentially related to exposure (e.g., asthma, cancer)."
Population Health Statistics: Race and Ethnicity Reports
"The Health Status Indicators by Race and Ethnicity contains charts and graphs depicting a comparison of health status indicators for Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The following health status areas are represented: demographic data, maternal and infant health, mortality patterns, health status and risk behaviors, indicators of health care access, hospital discharge data, and AIDS incidence data."
Mass.gov - Vital Records and Data Publications
"The Registry of Vital Records and Statistics (RVRS) provides data about Massachusetts births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths for use by government agencies, researchers, and the public. RVRS also publishes annual birth and death reports that present the most frequently requested data including leading causes of death, teen birth rates, quality of prenatal care and infant mortality."
Mass.gov - Substance Abuse Treatment Admissions Statistics
Scroll down to find the reports based on geographic location.

To find the number of supermarkets / liquor stores:

STEP ONE

To find out information about businesses in your town or city, first learn the NACIS code for the business you are looking for.

What is a NACIS code?

"A NAICS (pronounced NAKES) Code is a classification within the North American Industry Classification System. The NAICS System was developed for use by Federal Statistical Agencies for the collection, analysis and publication of statistical data related to the US Economy." source: https://www.naics.com/what-is-a-naics-code-why-do-i-need-one/

SEARCH NAICS CODES BY INDUSTRY

Search for a specific type of business. For example- "grocery store" or "liquor store."

STEP TWO

Use the "Advanced Search" feature of data.census.gov to add "filters" for the industry code and the city you are researching.

screenshot of NAICS search in data.census.gov

STEP THREE

Select a table to view

search results from data.census.gov

View the report, the number of establishments should be available. If it is not, try another recent report.

Crime

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Mission of the Bureau of Justice Statistics is "to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded."
Crime Data Explorer/Arrest Data Analysis Tool
From the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
Prison Pay Rates
How much do incarcerated people earn in each state? The Prison Policy Initiative has compiled available data.
Vera Institute incarceration trends website
Find jail and prison trends across counties, states, and regions. Use the map to explore how your county compares to others along five key incarceration metrics.

Police

Mapping Police Violence
Mapping Police Violence is a research collaborative collecting comprehensive data on police killings nationwide to quantify the impact of police violence in communities.
The Washington Post - UPDATED database of fatal shootings by a police officer
"This database contains records of every person shot by an on-duty police officer since Jan. 1, 2015, as well as the agencies involved in each event. It is updated regularly as fatal shootings are reported and as facts emerge about individual cases."

more... less...

"The Washington Post is compiling a database of every fatal shooting in the United States by a police officer in the line of duty since Jan. 1, 2015.

In 2015, The Post began tracking more than a dozen details about each killing — including the race of the deceased, the circumstances of the shooting, whether the person was armed and whether the person was experiencing a mental-health crisis — by culling local news reports, law enforcement websites and social media, and by monitoring independent databases such as Killed by Police and Fatal Encounters. The Post conducted additional reporting in many cases.

In 2016, The Post is gathering additional information about each fatal shooting by police that occurs this year and is filing open-records requests with departments. More than a dozen additional details are being collected about officers in each shooting. Officers’ names are being included in the database after The Post contacts the departments to request comment.

The Post is documenting only those shootings in which a police officer, in the line of duty, shoots and kills a civilian — the circumstances that most closely parallel the 2014 killing of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Mo., which began the protest movement culminating in Black Lives Matter and an increased focus on police accountability nationwide. The Post is not tracking deaths of people in police custody, fatal shootings by off-duty officers or non-shooting deaths.

The FBI and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention log fatal shootings by police, but officials acknowledge that their data is incomplete. In 2015, The Post documented more than twice as many fatal shootings by police as had been recorded by the FBI. Last year, the FBI announced plans to overhaul how it tracks fatal police encounters.

The Post’s database is updated regularly as fatal shootings are reported and as facts emerge about individual cases. The Post is seeking assistance in making the database as comprehensive as possible. To provide information about fatal police shootings since Jan. 1, 2015, send us an email at policeshootingsfeedback@washpost.com. The Post is also interested in obtaining photos of the deceased and original videos of fatal encounters with police."
1033 Watch: Look Up Your State

Laws

US Protest Law Tracker
"The US Protest Law Tracker, part of ICNL’s US Program, follows initiatives at the state and federal level since November 2016 that restrict the right to peaceful assembly. "
Anti-CRT Law Tracking
The CRT Forward Tracking Project (FTP) identifies, tracks, and analyzes local, state, and federal activity that attempts to restrict access to truthful information about Critical Race Theory (CRT), race, and systemic racism. T
Palestine Legal Legislation: BDS law tracker
Palestine Legal is an independent organization dedicated to defending and advancing the civil rights and liberties of people in the US who speak out for Palestinian freedom.