Consider what type of artifact you would like to create for your final project. Use the suggestions listed here to explore examples of that type of artifact through the library databases.
>> Click here for a worksheet to fill out as you search. <<
You will be prompted to make a copy of the Google Doc.
Explore the list of databases that include these publications. Each database will include the dates covered and a description that tells you where the resources are from. Select one that interests you and search for articles.
Available in Dinand Library in the Nevins Collection (first floor, to the left of the Circulation Desk). Use the Library Catalog to search for specific titles or subjects. Follow the link below to the Library Catalog. In the search box, enter "Nevins Collection" to search items in the collection.
The links below include our Library Guide to Zines, which has several online zine libraries, and databases that can be filtered to show zines and other self-published fan works.
The databases below include government documents related to propaganda campaigns and scans of propaganda pamphlets and other materials. Keep in mind some of these materials may not be available in English.
Date(s):1938-1946
British government documents focused on propaganda and psychological warfare in World War II, including correspondence, minutes, mission files, and propaganda leaflets.
Date(s): 1939-1945
Leaflets and periodicals created by Allied forces and then delivered by airdrop and shells into German-occupied territory during World War II. Materials are mostly German and French, with some in English and the rest in other European languages.
Date(s): 1968-1976
Reports and other records from the FBI's surveillance of anti-Vietnam War organizations.
Ephemera refers to items that may not have been designed to be preserved, but have been kept over time. This is a broad category of materials and may include things like menus, event tickets, greeting cards, stickers, letters, and other collectibles.
A library of miscellaneous primary source collections.
Date(s): 1950-1975
Magazines, zines, and other primary sources reflecting the culture of the US and UK in the 1950s, '60s, and '70s.
Browse more primary source databases from the list below, or view the full list on our A-Z Database list. If there is something you are interested in exploring, but aren't sure where to look, ask a librarian!
A library of miscellaneous primary source collections.
Now part of JSTOR. Library of images relating to art and architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
Date(s): 1756-1963
Historic newspapers from all different U.S. states, hosted by the Library of Congress.
Date(s): ~1500-2000
Primary sources in English relating to empire building around the world and especially the British Empire.
Date(s): 1800-present
Government documents, reports, books, journal articles, and more pertaining to the history of labor and working conditions in the United States, through the present day.
Date(s):1818-1970s
Primary sources produced by American women traveling throughout the United States and around the world during the 19th and 20th centuries.
CrossSearch is a one-stop search tool that lets you search most of the informational resources available through the library, including:
CrossSearch looks in many different places and for many different types of sources. In one search, you might find results for academic journal articles, books in the library’s collection, films, newspaper articles, and more. This can be a good place to start if you want to find a broad scope of the resources available on your topic. However, because CrossSearch includes so many types of resources, you might find you need to filter these results more than you would in a more specific database.
CrossSearch is best accessed through the library home page (www.holycross.edu/academics/libraries).
About DatabasesA database is a collection of information that is arranged and tagged for easy searching and retrieval. Think of a database like an online storage container: It stores different publications, journals, books, magazines, and newspapers and makes it possible for you to access them. The library subscribes to over 300 databases that are available for Holy Cross students to use. Visit our A-Z Databases list to see what is available.
General databases include information and journals that cover many subjects and academic fields. These can be a good place to start if you’re not sure what subject your topic falls under, if your topic is interdisciplinary and falls under multiple subject areas, if you want to see perspectives from different fields about your topic, or if you simply want to find general information.
To find general databases, go to the A-Z Database List. In the dropdown menu labeled "Subjects," select "_General" and click "Search." You will see a list of general databases, with some highlighted as "Best Bets." Some general databases are listed below.
Journal articles, magazines, and news in almost every subject area.
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
Journal articles, magazines, and news in almost every subject area.
Subject databases include journals and publications from a specific academic field. They may include a number of different publications, but they are all within the same academic area. These can be helpful if you want to look at one specific subject or field.
To find subject databases, go to the A-Z Database List. In the dropdown menu labeled "Subjects," select your subject area and click "Search." Some Literature databases are listed below.
Journal articles, books and dissertations focusing on literature and literary criticism, language, and publishing.
Journal articles, literary magazines, essays, biographies, and other sources focused on authors and literary movements.
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
Use the Library Catalog to find print books, print journals, and ebooks in the library's collection. Access the Library Catalog search through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library). Above the search bar, select "Library Catalog." To use more advanced searching options, click on the "My Library Account" link below the search bar to go directly to the catalog, where you can search by keyword, title, subject, or call number.
Books on the shelves are organized by call number. A call number is an address for a book that tells you where the book is located on the shelf. Call numbers identify different subject areas, so books with similar call numbers will cover similar subjects. This way, when you find a book on the shelf, you know the books around it are on similar topics.
When you look up a book in CrossSearch or the Library Catalog, you will find the call number listed with the book details.
You can download a map of the Dinand Library stacks below.
