LibGuides: A Guide To...Environmental Data Set Sources: Agriculture, Food and Health Resources

Agriculture, Food and Health Related Resources

Agricultural Marketing Resource Center - provides access to data sets on renewable energy supply usage & analysis, profitability, and prices.
Census of Agriculture by the National Agriculture Statistics Service - Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years (most recent being 2007), the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. Data is available for multiple census years.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture - Agricultural texts published "between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science."
The Access Initiative Environmental data tables.
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations - source of information for developing countries and countries to improve agriculture, forestry and fisheries practices and ensure good nutrition for all.
National Institute for Health Statistics - statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
National Institutes for Health - Part of the United States Department of Health & Human Services, the NIH's mission is to "foster fundamental creative discoveries, innovative research strategies, and their applications as a basis to advance significantly the Nation's capacity to protect and improve health."
Occupational Safety and Health Administration -Home page provides links to recent environmentally related issues that affect workers. See Data & Statistics tab for additional worker related data sets.
PubMed Central - "The US National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Access to the full text of articles in PMC is free, except where a journal requires a subscription for access to recent articles."
USDA Agricultural Research Service Water Database - Collection of precipitation and streamflow data from small agricultural watersheds in the United States with access to data sets on precipitation, runoff, sediment, termature and more through each of the research centers:
USDA Economic Research Service - United States Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service (USDA ERS) Data Sets on natural resources and the environment as it pertains to food, farming and natural resources in the areas of soil conservation, water quality and management, cropping practices, invasive species, pest management, and land use at the state and federal level.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service - provides data on environmental agricultural chemical usage.
World Bank Agriculture and Rural Development - Data includes measures of agricultural inputs, outputs, and productivity compiled by the UN's Food and Agriculture Organization.