Links to Internet web sites with general data sets that might be useful for environment related studies:
- Container Recycling Organization - CRI’s mission is to make North America a global model for the collection and quality recycling of packaging materials.
- Current Results Research News and Science Facts - Use Current Results to quickly and easily find out about important insights discovered from scientific research on the environment, technology and more.
- Data.gov - access U.S. Federal Executive Branch datasets including environment, geography, agriculture, energy and health.
- The Access Initiative - Information regarding the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world. The Access Initiative offers the public a large breadth of statistical, graphic, and analytical data in easily accessible formats.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) - provides profile of State, county, city, congressional district, or Federal judicial district
- Global Change Master Directory National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Goddard Space Flight Center. http://gcmd.nasa.gov/ - Earth science data sets and services relevant to the global change and earth science research - more than 15,000 descriptions of Earth science data sets and services covering all aspects of Earth and environmental sciences, including agriculture.
- National Science Foundation - An independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" Provides "20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities."
- Population Trends along the Coastal U.S.- A full-text, online “report that presents an overview of coastal population trends from 1980 to 2003 and projected change in coastal population by 2008.” Presented by the Special Projects Office of NOAA’s National Ocean Service.
- State and Metropolitan Data Book 1997 - 1998 - statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States at the State and metropolitan area levels.
- State and Metropolitan Data Book 2006 - statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States at the State and metropolitan area levels.
- State and Metropolitan Data Book 2010 - statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States at the State and metropolitan area levels.
- Toxics and Hazards - Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection Toxics and Hazards - Toxics Use Reduction DataTOXMAP - on-site toxic releases and hazardous waste sites from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and the Superfund National Priorities List (NPL). TOXMAP data is provided by several sources, all of which are listed with links to their web sites.
- USAGOV - Data and Statistics about the U.S. Federal government data and statistics sources
- U.S. Census Bureau - American FactFinder - provides data on population, housing and economy and geography of the U.S.
- U.S. Census Bureau - Census of Population and Housing - data presented here ranges from the most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades.
- U.S. Census Bureau - County and City Data Book - comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States.
- U.S. Census Bureau - Manufacturing, Mining and Construction Statistics - provides information on manufacturing and construction industries in the U.S.
- U.S. Census Bureau Statistical Abstracts - data presented here ranges from the most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades.
- World Bank Environment - Data covers forests, biodiversity, emissions, and pollution.
