Online Resources
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Absorbed by Atla Religion. Browse older articles online at Villanova University, or browse the print index in the Dinand Main Reading Room.
- Catholic News Agency"Catholic News Agency was founded in 2004, in response to Pope St. John Paul II’s call for a 'New Evangelization.'....CNA provides free, up-to-the-minute news affecting the Universal Church, giving particular emphasis to the words of the Holy Father and happenings of the Holy See, to any person with access to the internet. "
- America: The Jesuit ReviewCatholic news and opinion journal published by the Jesuits, "known across the Catholic world for its unique brand of opinion and analysis."
Need older articles? You can access the America archives back to 1988 through our e-journals list. - CruxAt one time part of the Boston Globe, now "an independent Catholic news site, operated in partnership with the Knights of Columbus."
- EWTN (Eternal Word Television Network)Catholic television network founded in the 1980s tp "communicate the teachings and the beauty of the Catholic Church and to help people grow in their love and understanding of God and His infinite mercy." The EWTN site includes a news section as well as general resources on Catholicism, and radio and television programming.
- L'Osservatore Romano [English edition]The weekly, English edition of the Vatican's official newspaper (the daily paper is published in Italian).
The library holds some older editions on microfilm (see below). - National Catholic RegisterU.S.-based news source, now owned by EWTN, which aims " to provide a perspective on the news of the day as seen through the eyes of the Magisterium."
- National Catholic ReporterU.S. religious news source, offering an "alternate Catholic" perspective to mainstream media.
Need older articles? You can access the NCR archives back to 1992 through our e-journals list.
Below are listed selected databases that may be helpful for historical Church research.
For our complete list of primary source databases, click here.
- American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1740-1940
Historic magazine and journal articles, including professional, childrens' and womens' magazines. - Catholic Portal (CRRA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Primary sources created by and about Catholics from libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives around the world.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1701-1800
British and American primary sources from the 18th century. - Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1789-1914
British and American primary sources from the "long" 19th century. - Religion and the Law This link opens in a new window
Books, journal articles, and other resources on the relationship between various world religions, religious law, and systems of government.
- U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 (Archives Unbound)"This publication provides a wealth of unique correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews."
In the Library
The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI)Call Number: AI3 .C3Publication Date: 1968-Dinand Stacks (1933-2004 only). Previously published as The Catholic Periodical Index and The Guide to Catholic Literature [BX800 .G9]. An annual, annotated, author-title-subject bibliography covering many Catholic sources including the Acta Apostolica Sedis, L'Osservatore Romano, and Origins, as well as several Catholic newspapers.
L'Osservatore Romano [English Edition]Call Number: MICROFILMPublication Date: 1970-Ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance.
The English edition of L’Osservatore Romano is published weekly. Available on microfilm 1970-1998, 2010-present (with some missing issues).- OriginsCall Number: BX801 +O69Publication Date: 1971-Dinand Stacks Oversize and Rehm Library. Published by the Catholic News Service, Origins is a weekly English language periodical dating back to 1971. It includes English translations of significant Vatican documents.
- Talks of the PopeCall Number: Stacks Oversize BX1378.3 +T14 v.9-24Continues Talks of Pope Paul VI and is continued by Talks of Pope John Paul II
In addition to published compilations of papal letters and other Church documents, some libraries and archives maintain clippings of primary sources from newspapers, pamphlets, and other sources not traditionally published in book format. Dinand has a handful of such clipping collections pertaining to the popes in its collection, which are listed below. Note that not all of our clipping collections have a record in the catalog.
Pamphlets on the PopesCall Number: Oversize BX960 +A1"Miscellaneous: Newspaper clippings, messages, letters, etc."- Newspaper clippings : speeches, messages, biographical detail, etc., by and about Pope Pius XIICall Number: Oversize BX1378 +A1
- Pamphlets on John Paul XXIIICall Number: Oversize BX1378.2 +I
- Pope Paul VI, journey to America. Newspaper clippings.Call Number: Oversize BX1378.3 +1