RELS 116: Catholicism (Clark)

Holy Cross students, faculty and staff have access privileges at other institutions in Worcester through ARC (Academic Research Collaborative). ARC is a cross-borrowing agreement between Holy Cross and other universities in Worcester and in the general Worcester area. 

While it is often convenient to request materials from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan, sometimes you don't have (or want to spend) the time to wait for items to arrive. If the item that you need is owned by an ARC library, you have the option of visiting the library in person and directly checking out that item. 

To see if an item is available at an ARC library, use the WorldCat database to search for the item you are interested in:

Then, click to view the full list of libraries where the item is available. When you use the FirstSearch version of WorldCat (linked above), a small icon will appear next to books available from ARC libraries. 

To use an ARC library, visit the Circulation Desk in Dinand to request an ARC Borrower's Card. Then bring both the ARC card and your Holy Cross ID with you to visit the other library (exception: you will need proof of MA address to borrow from the Worcester Public Library). 

Different ARC libraries have different rules about who can borrow certain kinds of materials.  Click here for a complete list of libraries that participate in ARC and their borrowing policies. 

Note: It is always a good idea to check the local library's catalog before making a trip to check out a specific item. WorldCat will tell you if Clark, for example, owns the book you are looking for, but it will not tell you if that book is already checked out! 

List of ARC Libraries: 

This page contains a selected list of ARC Libraries with specialties in history, political science and/or related topics. You may wish to check these Libraries' physical collections as well as their online databases (call ahead to make sure you will have access to the databases). Clark in particular has several political science databases not available at Holy Cross. 

American Antiquarian Society
185 Salisbury Street | Worcester, MA 01609
Materials for in-library use only. Resources for the study of American and Canadian history, literature, and culture through 1876 including: books; pamphlets; graphic arts and ephemera; manuscripts; newspapers and periodicals; music; maps; and genealogies. 

Anna Maria College-  Mondor-Eagen Library
50 Sunset Lane | Paxton, MA 01612
English and French literature; American history; social work; business; nursing; music; criminal justice; paralegal; music therapy; religion; education; fire science.

Becker College, Leicester  - Paul R. Swan Library
13 Washburn Square | Leicester, MA 01524
History; philosophy; sports management; veterinary science and technology; health science.

Clark University - Robert Hutchings Goddard Library
950 Main Street | Worcester, MA 01610
Social sciences; geography; psychology; Holocaust; G.H. Goddard collection; G. Stanley Hall papers; maps.

Worcester Public Library
3 Salem Square | Worcester, MA 01608
You will need proof of MA address (i.e., mail received to your Holy Cross PO Box) to get a WPL Borrower's Card. If you already have a CWMARS Library Card from your home library,  you can use this at WPL. 
Business and U.S. government document depository; literature and fiction; Worcester and genealogy; children talking books; grants center; large print; 25 world languages.

Have you ever discovered a book or article that would be perfect for your research topic, only to learn that Holy Cross doesn't own it? That's where InterLibrary Loan comes in. 

InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request books and articles owned by other libraries all over the US -- and in some cases, around the world! Once you've placed a request, another library will send the book or article to Holy Cross for your use. 

Some things to keep in mind: 

• Depending on where a book is traveling from, it can take up to 1-2 weeks (though usually less) to arrive. An article could take a few days to 1 week. Make sure to plan ahead! 
   
• ILL books often have shorter checkout periods than books you borrow from HC Libraries. When your book arrives, it will come with a sticker indicating the due date.

To find books or journals outside of HC Libraries -- and to request them, follow the steps below -- or watch this video  for more information and a complete walkthrough. 

To locate books to request on ILL, you can use the    database, which combines library catalogs from all over the world.

In many cases, you can also use the  button in the article databases and then choose Interlibrary Loan to submit a request for an article or book chapter. 

Once you locate an item you would like to request, find this box in the WorldCat record and click ILLiad Interlibrary Loan: 


 Then log-in, fill in the information required, then hit Submit Request.