Suggested Databases
American History Databases
The databases listed below cover American history from a variety of angles. Check the database description to learn about what types of sources are included and what dates are covered. You may find some databases include scholarly sources like journal articles and book chapters, while others feature primary sources like historical newspapers.
Scholarly Sources
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters and magazines about the history of the United States and Canada, 1450-present.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, primary sources, audiovisual and other credible sources relating to United States history.
Primary Sources
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1684-1820
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - Indigenous Histories & Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1500-1998
Primary sources created by indigenous Americans and the Europeans who interacted with them, searchable by date, genre, area and indigenous nation. - American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1740-1940
Historic magazine and journal articles, including professional, childrens' and womens' magazines. - Digital Commonwealth (Massachusetts Collections Online) This link opens in a new window
Historical sources owned by libraries, museums and other institutions in the state of Massachusetts, browsable by topic, institution, format or location.
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, primary sources, audiovisual and other credible sources relating to United States history.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1756-1963
Historic newspapers from all different U.S. states, hosted by the Library of Congress. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1821-1837
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 3 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1838-1852
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 4 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1853-1865
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 5 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1866-1912
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester.
Database Tools
America: History and Life - Historical Period Search
America: History and Life is a database that includes journal articles, book chapters and magazines about the history of the United States and Canada, 1450-present. This database is one of our "best bets" for history research, meaning it includes a strong range of material to support your research needs.
One helpful feature in this database is the ability to limit your results by historical period. When you enter the database from the link above or from our A-Z Database list, you will be brought to the Advanced Search screen. Here, you can enter your search terms and select certain filters. Under "Limit your results," you'll see an option for Historical Period. Enter the years you are interested in studying here. Note that you will need to select the era from the dropdown menu - either b.c.e. (BC) or c.e. (AD). The database will now search for resources that are tagged as being about that time period.
This is different from the publication date filter that you will also see as an option. Publication date will filter for sources published during the range you include. If you are looking for primary sources (sources that were published during the historical period you're studying), entering the dates in the publication date filter will show you primary sources. The historical period filter shows you sources that were published at any time about the time period you list.
Database Filters
While the Historical Period search is unique to America: History and Life, all library databases have options to filter and narrow down your results. When you are searching in a database, take some time to explore the filters available on your results page. They are usually found on the left side of the results screen, though some databases may list them across the top of the page. You can usually filter by things like publication date, subject, publisher, and type of publication. This can help you narrow your results to show only sources published in a certain date range, sources that address a specific topic, or to choose to view only scholarly articles.
The Library's video demo for using CrossSearch demonstrates how search filters work in CrossSearch, and you can apply those skills to other library databases.
Find Books: Library Catalog
Library Catalog
Use the Library Catalog to find print books, print journals, and ebooks in the library's collection. Access the Library Catalog search through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library). Above the search bar, select "Library Catalog." To use more advanced searching options, click on the "My Library Account" link below the search bar to go directly to the catalog, where you can search by keyword, title, subject, or call number.
Books on the shelves are organized by call number. A call number is an address for a book that tells you where the book is located on the shelf. Call numbers identify different subject areas, so books with similar call numbers will cover similar subjects. This way, when you find a book on the shelf, you know the books around it are on similar topics.
When you look up a book in CrossSearch or the Library Catalog, you will see the call number listed with the book details.
You can download a map of the Dinand Library stacks below.
Subject Terms
Books in the library catalog have specific subject terms that provide information about what the book is about. These terms can be useful search tools since they are consistent across all the books in one subject. When you find a book that looks relevant to your topic, click on the title in the catalog to be brought to the full record. The record includes a list of subjects assigned to that book. Subject terms are hyperlinked, so you can click on one from the record to search for it directly. You can also make note of any subject terms that keep appearing and use them in an advanced search to find more resources on that topic.
Suggested Subject Terms
Below are some subject terms that may be helpful for research related to 19th century America, immigration, and Worcester history:
- Worcester (Mass.)
- Emigration and immigration
- Massachusetts History
- Worcester History
- Immigrants Massachusetts (or any state you are interested in specifically)
- Migrations
You can also search for specific ethnic or cultural groups, countries of origin, or other places you are interested in studying.
Advanced Search
Just like library databases, the library catalog has an advanced search option to combine search terms in strategic ways. Follow the below link to the library catalog. Below the search box, click on "Advanced Search." There, you can combine search terms and choose in what area of the catalog record you are searching. To use subject terms effectively, select "Subject" from the dropdown menu and enter one of the subject terms listed above. Then, you can combine this with other search terms.
For example, if I wanted to know about Irish immigrants in Massachusetts, I could enter a search like this:
For the first two search terms, irish and massachusetts, I left the dropdown menu set to "All Fields." This is because those terms may appear in the titles of books relevant to my topic, so I want to make sure the search looks for them in many places. Because I know the subject term "emigration and immigration" is applied to resources about immigration, I selected "Subject" from the dropdown menu to focus that aspect of my search. To the side of the search fields there is a dropdown labeled Match, which I left with the default "ALL Terms." This functions the same as adding AND between the terms in a database. It will look for all three of the search terms I entered.
- Library CatalogFollow this link to go directly to the library catalog.
Worcester History
Worcester History in the Library
The Libraries have many materials related to the history of Worcester, including town records and proceedings of different city offices. Use the subject term Worcester Mass. or just Worcester to find materials in the library catalog related to Worcester's history. Some may be located in the College Archives & Distinctive Collections, while others will be in the Dinand stacks. For materials in the Dinand stacks, make note of the call number and then browse the shelves around it. Browsing may be the best way to find materials in this case, as they will be grouped on the shelves with other materials on similar topics.
Many books on Worcester History are in the call number area F74.W9. Find this section on the Mezzanine Level, Upper East Wing (the side of the library facing the Hoval).
Below are some suggested books to start with that are available in Dinand. Note any books with a plus sign (+) in their call number are Oversize and will be shelved at the end of the section.
Worcester: 1880-1920 by Call Number: F74 .W9 H85 2003ISBN: 9780738512105Publication Date: 2003-06-10
Worcester: its past and present. A brief historical review of two hundred years, with an exhibit of the industries and resources of the city at the commencement of the third century of her existence ... with a description of points of interest, views of pCall Number: F74.W9 +H9 1888Publication Date: 1888Note: Oversize- The Worcester of eighteen hundred and ninety-eight. Fifty years a city. A graphic presentation of its institutions, industries and leaders. by Call Number: F74.W9 +R4wPublication Date: 1899Note: Oversize
Newspaper Databases
The Telegram & Gazette (also known as the Telegram or the T&G) was founded in 1866 as Worcester's daily newspaper. Holy Cross provides access to the T&G through library databases. These databases let you browse for issues by date or search for specific keywords. Pay attention to the dates listed below the database name to make sure you are searching in the historical or current issues, depending on your research need.
- Worcester Telegram & Gazette Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1989-present
Articles from the Worcester Telegram & Gazette; all pictures and advertisements are included 2018-present. - Worcester Telegram & Gazette Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1866-1988
Articles from the Worcester Evening Gazette and the Worcester Telegram, including all pictures and advertisements.
Archives & Distinctive Collections
Many materials on Worcester and College history are located in the Archives & Distinctive Collections on the third floor of Dinand Library. All are welcome to visit the Archives to view materials and learn about the collections. To ask about the collections or to make an appointment, email archives@holycross.edu. For information about collections and resources, visit the link below.
Worcester Art Museum
Some materials in the catalog may list "Worcester Art Museum" or "WAM" as their location. Holy Cross community members are able to borrow from the Worcester Art Museum Library. If you find a book or other item that is located in the Art Museum Library, the catalog record will have a link for "Request this item" next to the item status. Click this link and follow the prompts to request the item and it will be delivered to Dinand Library for you to pick up.
You can also visit the Worcester Art Museum Library during their open hours to check out materials. See their website below for library hours. (Note: Library hours may differ from the regular museum hours.)
Local Resources
- Local History & Genealogy (Worcester Public Library)Information about the Worcester Public Library's local history and genealogy collections.
- Worcester Links (Worcester Public Library)List of useful links to local organizations, information and more.
- Digital Commonwealth (Mass.)Provides access to photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made available by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies from across Massachusetts.
- Worcester Historical Museum Library & ArchivesThe museum’s library consists of a research collection of some 7,000 published titles, a photograph collection of over 500,000 prints, and approximately 4,000 linear feet of non-published manuscripts and documents in a variety of forms.