MONT 152G-S01: Canton to King Cotton (Miller)

Primary Sources

When researching historical figures (like pirates), primary sources can be a valuable source of information. A primary source is a first-hand witness to a historical event or period, created at that point in time. This can include articles, interviews, photographs, memoirs, correspondence, diaries, government documents, and more. Primary sources give valuable insight into what was happening at a specific point in history as it happened, rather than looking at it through a present day lens.

In general, primary sources are those that are published around five years on either side of the event. For example, if you're researching the pirate William "Captain" Kidd, you can see that he lived from 1654-1701. Primary sources about him would have been published during that time, or up to around 1706. However, this isn't a hard and fast rule! Captain Kidd was considered part of the Golden Age of Piracy, generally agreed to cover a time period from the 1650s-1730s. Sources created during that time that discuss Captain Kidd may still be considered primary sources even if they were published more than five years after his death.

Secondary Sources

A secondary source is a source that was created after an event took place by someone who did not experience it firsthand. They provide descriptions, explanations, or analyses of the event that took place. This includes books, biographies, articles, documentaries, and more. A secondary source can include citations and references to primary sources but will build off those sources to provide new analysis or information. Use secondary sources to find added context and analysis of your primary sources. These types of sources can work together to give you a well-rounded view of your topic.

Search Tips

• Start your research early. Primary sources can be hard to find and may take more time and effort to read and analyze. Give yourself time to browse, read, interpret, and evaluate what you find. You may need to conduct more searches than you are used to in order to narrow down the right terms.
• Think about your search terms. Since the sources you're looking for weren't published in modern times, they likely won't use modern language. You may need to change your search terms to reflect the language of the time. For example, you might find some historic publications use the spelling "pyrates" instead of "pirates." 
• Keep it simple! Search terms like names are more likely to bring back results than terms that refer to concepts. Start with a simple search and use database filters to narrow down your results.
• Get to know your database. Look at how search results are sorted, what filters are available, and what the database provides access to. Try using a few different databases and see what different things you find. You can often browse or filter results by publication date and geographic location.
• Give yourself context. Primary sources exist in the context of their time. When you find primary sources, look at the entire publication, not just the section that's relevant to your research. This will give you an idea of what else was happening at the time.
• Don't panic, be patient, and ask a librarian for help if you need it!

Analyzing Primary Sources

Primary Source Databases

The Library subscribes to hundreds of databases that cover different topics and contain different types of information. To see the full list of databases available, visit our A-Z Database List. The list of databases has filters you can use to find specific subjects or types of databases. To find primary source databases, click on the "Types" dropdown menu at the top of the page. Select "Primary Sources," then click "Search." You will see a list of databases that have primary sources. Each one includes a description and a date range covered, which can help you decide if it will have information relevant to your topic. 

You can also filter by subject and combine filters. Once you have filtered for primary sources, use the "Subjects" dropdown menu to select a subject, then click "Search" again. You will now see primary source databases that are also tagged with the subject you selected.