International Open Access Week
"Open Access Week, a global event now entering its tenth year, is an opportunity for the academic and research community to continue to learn about the potential benefits of Open Access, to share what they’ve learned with colleagues, and to help inspire wider participation in helping to make Open Access a new norm in scholarship and research." *
For more information and to learn more about Open Access visit:
Open Access Week 2018 Events
The theme for International Open Access Week 2018 is "Designing Equitable Foundations for Open knowledge," which reflects a scholarly system in transition. While governments, funders, universities, publishers, and scholars are increasingly adopting open policies and practices, how these are actually implemented is still in flux. As open becomes the default, all stakeholders must be intentional about designing these new, open systems to ensure that they are inclusive, equitable, and truly serve the needs of a diverse global community.
Setting the default to open is an essential step toward making our system for producing and distributing knowledge more inclusive, but it also comes with new challenges to be addressed. How do we ensure sustainability models used for open access are not exclusionary? What are inequities that open systems can recreate or reinforce? Whose voices are prioritized? Who is excluded? How does what counts as scholarship perpetuate bias? What are areas where openness might not be appropriate?
http://www.openaccessweek.org/profiles/blogs/theme-of-2018-international-open-access-week-to-be-designing-equi
Scheduled activities include:
Mon 10/22 – Open Access Movie Night - co-sponsored by Department of Math & Computer Science
7pm, Seelos Theater (doors open at 6:30)
Award-winning documentary about the life, and death, of American computer programmer, developer, political organizer, and Internet "hacktivist" Aaron Swartz, whose acts of civil disobedience questioned control over the Internet and issues affecting access to information. This film may be of particular interest to the following disciplines:
- Computer Science (computer programming, internet, open access);
- Pre-Law (civil disobedience, copyright infringement)
- Political Science (activism, organization of social and civil rights movements, government control of information)
Tue 10/23 - Lunch & Learn: Copyright and Creative Commons
12-1pm, Dinand Library Conference Room
What is the difference between Copyright and a Creative Commons license? Why do they both matter? Learn more at this brief presentation. Bring your own lunch; desserts and drinks will be provided.
Thu 10/25 – Paywall: The Business of Scholarship"
3:30 -5pm - Browsing Room, Dinand Library
This recently released documentary addresses a growing concern in the area of scholarly communication, namely the costs associated with for-profit publishing. Discussion will follow the screening. Light refreshments.
Fri 10/26 - Open Access Open House: Celebrating CrossWorks' 5th Anniversary
2-3pm, Dinand Library Staff Conference Room
Come celebrate the success of CrossWorks, our institutional repository. Discover the variety of scholarly and creative works posted in CrossWorks and learn about the submission process. Light refreshments.
All Week check out the Open Access displays in the Dinand, Science and Music Libraries. What to learn more about Open Access? Would you like a tour of CrossWorks, our institutional repository? The Digital Scholarship Librarian is happy to answer your questions.
Featured Links
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Hathi Trust - a partnership of major research institutions and libraries to preserve and provide free access to print materials in their collections through digitization.
CrossWorks - collects, preserves & provides access to the creative and scholarly work of the Holy Cross community.
http://holycross.crossworks.edu
PubMed Central - free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/
Creative Commons - using licenses that work alongside copyright, creators can share and give public permission to use their work to the degree they choose.
