International Open Access Week
"Open Access Week, a global event now entering its eighth year, is an opportunity for the academic and research community to continue to learn about the potential benefits of Open Access, to share what they’ve learned with colleagues, and to help inspire wider participation in helping to make Open Access a new norm in scholarship and research." *
For more information and to learn more about Open Access visit:
Video
- Open for CollaborationCollaboration opens up a world of possibilities
Open Access Week 2015 Events
The theme for International Open Access Week 2014 is "Open for Collaboration" highlighting the ways in which collaboration both inspires and advances the Open Access movement—from the partnerships behind launching initiatives such as PLOS and ImpactStory, to the working relationships the community has established with policymakers that have delivered Open Access policies around the world. The theme also emphasizes the ways in which Open Access enables new avenues for collaboration between scholars by making research available to any potential collaborator, anywhere, any time. http://www.sparc.arl.org/news/2015-open-access-week-theme-announcement
Scheduled activities include:
Tue 10/20 – Library SAC Meeting
4:30pm, Dinand Library Staff Conference Room
Guest speaker Lisa Villa (Digital Scholarship Librarian) offers a brief introduction to Open Access, followed by a discussion of how to familiarize and involve students with the Open Access movement.
Wed 10/21 – Open Access Open House: Celebrating CrossWorks
1-3pm, Dinand Library Staff Conference Room
Come celebrate the success of CrossWorks, our institutional repository. Discover the variety of scholarly and creative works posted in CrossWorks and learn about the submission process. Light refreshments.
All Week check out the Open Access displays in the Dinand, Science and Music Libraries. What to learn more about Open Access? Would you like a tour of CrossWorks, our institutional repository? The Digital Scholarship Librarian is happy to answer your questions.
Look for the Open Access "Link of the Day" on the Library Services Facebook and Twitter accounts.
Featured Links
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Hathi Trust - a partnership of major research institutions and libraries to preserve and provide free access to print materials in their collections through digitization.
CrossWorks - collects, preserves & provides access to the creative and scholarly work of the Holy Cross community.
http://holycross.crossworks.edu
PubMed Central - free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/
Creative Commons - using licenses that work alongside copyright, creators can share and give public permission to use their work to the degree they choose.
