In ProQuest databases, any items available as an HTML full-text can be translated.
Once you have opened the article, just click under Full Text to expand the translation menu.
(click to enlarge)
The best way to find books (and e-books) in languages other than English, is to search for them.
1. Search by keyword as you normally would.
Search tip: Try searching for terms about your topic in the target language. For example, if you are looking for books about architecture written in German, try searching for the German word for architecture, Architektur. If you are not sure of the correct keywords in your target language, check the Language Resources offered on the side of this page.
2. On the results screen, first limit your search to books, e-books, and similar items by choosing Catalog Only:
3. At the bottom of the search filters, select German.
If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search.
5. Click Apply filters and see what you get!
You can also look for and borrow books from other libraries by searching the WorldCat database. This database is a catalog of books owned by libraries all over the world that we can have delivered to Holy Cross for your use. See below for instructions.
A world-wide catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, and other sources available in libraries worldwide. Includes direct links to request items on Interlibrary Loan.
1. To get to World Cat, use the link on the library home page or the link under "more search options" on the library catalog screen. Open the Advanced Search option in World Cat.
2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal.
3. Scroll down and use the Language Filter to select German
1. Search by keyword as you normally would.
Search tip: Try searching for terms about your topic in the target language. For example, if you are looking for books about architecture in German, try using the German word for architecture, Architektur. If you are not sure of the correct keywords in your target language, check the Language Resources offered on the side of this page.
2. On the left hand side of the page, you will see the search filters. Scroll down until you see the language filter and then select German.
When you locate a book through the worldcat catalog, you will need to request it through a system called interlibrary loan. Watch this video to understand more about how this system works and how you can place a request.
The Libraries' research databases include articles written in many different languages from around the world. Each database platform has a different way or ways of allowing you to locate these resources.
Click on the following tabs for tips for using different databases to find research in different languages.
Search tip: Try searching for terms about your topic in the target language. For example, if you are looking for books about architecture written in German, try searching for the German word for architecture, Architektur. If you are not sure of the correct keywords in your target language, check the Language Resources offered on the side of this page.
JSTOR is a database we subscribe to that contains articles, images, and primary sources on a variety of topics in the humanities and sciences. See below for instructions on how to filter searches by language.
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
1. Open the Advanced Search menu.
2. Enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language from the dropdown menu.
There are two ways to search by language in ProQuest databases.
Note: In ProQuest databases, any items available as an HTML full-text can be translated. Once you have opened the article, just click under Full Text to expand the translation menu.
1. Open the Advanced Search menu.
2. Enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list:
1. Enter your keywords as normal.
2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language. By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click More > to view other available languages.
If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search.
3. Click on your target language to narrow your search.
CrossSearch is our main discovery tool here at Holy Cross. It pulls search results from nearly all of the databses we subscribe to, as well as our library catalog and the WorldCat catalog. EBSCO is the name of many different subject specific databases we have access to here at holy cross. EBSCO and CrossSearch are visually very similar, so the instructions are the same.
There are two ways to search by language in CrossSearch and EBSCO databases.
1. The Advanced Search screen is the default landing screen for most of our EBSCO databases. You can access the Advanced Search for CrossSearch at this link.
2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list: 
1. Enter your keywords as normal.
2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language. By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click More > to view other available languages.
If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search.
3. Click the checkbox next to your target language(s) to narrow your search.
There are two ways to search by language in Project MUSE:
1. Open the Advanced Search menu.
2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list:
1. Enter your keywords as normal.
2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language.
If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search.
3. Click the checkbox next to your target language(s) to narrow your search.
Citations for journal articles in the life sciences, particularly relating to biomedicine, neuroscience, as well as plant and animal sciences.
There are two ways to search by language in PubMed:
2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the button for Additional filters:
3. In the pop-up menu, navigate to the Language section. Choose the languages you would like to include in your search, then choose Show. Your selected languages will now show up as filters on your search.
4. Now, check off the language(s) you would like to apply to your search, to narrow your search.
If no results appear, you may need to revise your search.
1. Open the Advanced Search menu.
2. From the Field drop-down, choose Language.
3. Enter your target language n the search box. Hit Add to include in your search.
4. Repeat Step 3 as needed to include all possible languages, making sure to add additional languages with OR rather than AND.
5. Add your search terms as usual, using the appropriate fields. When your search is ready, hit Search.
1. Open the Settings menu.
2. On the Scholar Settings page, there will be a menu on the left where you can select Languages
3. Then on the next page, you can check off the desired language under "Search only for pages written in these language(s)".
1. Enter your search as normal.
2. Enter your keywords as normal.
3. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language.
By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click More to view other available languages.
To select more than one target language, click Select multiple, and then choose your preferred languages from the list.
4. Click on your target language to narrow your search.
The Libraries also have access to a number of popular periodicals in different languages. Most can be found using CrossSearch or various databases. To find these materials in any database, use the source type filters provided combined with the language filter to get the results you want.
All newspapers, magazines, journals available online through the Libraries can be searched in our E-Journals finder:
You can also look for periodicals by database. Below is a list of useful databases for finding popular periodicals in languages other than English:
Local, regional, national and international newspapers, in addition to images, transcripts and recordings from radio and TV broadcasts.
