Skip to Main Content
     

Faculty Guide to Library & Archives Services

New to the college? Just back from sabbatical?  Can't remember where to go to get the help you need at the library?  This guide will point you in the right direction.

Books & E-Books

PURCHASING MATERIALS:

If you would like to request that the library purchase books for your courses, your research, or for the general enhancement of our collections, contact your liaison librarian or submit a request via our online purchase form. Your request will be reviewed by the department librarian for pricing, format and other considerations.

Please note that not all books are available for licensing as a library ebook (even if you see an individual ebook for purchase).

To request new periodicals or electronic subscriptions (for journals, databases, etc.), please contact your liaison librarian. 

OUR COLLECTIONS:

CrossSearch is the Libraries' multi-search "discovery" tool. CrossSearch searches a cross-section of journal articles, newspapers, CDs, images, and many other types of resources available through the libraries. It is also our main catalog.

To focus your search on items in the catalog (e.g., books, e-books, and DVDs), use the Catalog Only limit in CrossSearch. 

Books in the Libraries 

Holy Cross uses the Library of Congress Classification system.
 

  • Reference: These items are generally non-circulating; however, we can make exceptions for faculty use. Books in Dinand Reference are located in the Main Reading Room; Science and Music Reference materials are in the designated reference sections of those libraries. 
  • Reserve: Held at the Circulation Desk of the relevant library. 
  • Special Coll., Archives: Held in Archives & Distinctive Collections, Dinand 3rd Floor
     
  • Call Numbers A-G:  Dinand Mezzanine Level (one floor down from the Main Reading Room). 
  • Call Numbers N, TR:  Dinand Visual Arts Wing (on the main level) 
  • Call Numbers H-L, P, U-Z: Dinand Ground Level 
  • Call Numbers M: Fenwick Music Library, Brooks Hall [except where otherwise indicated]
  • Call Numbers Q-T [except TR]: O'Callahan Science Library, Swords Hall 

Faculty can request digitization of chapters or sections from books held in the Libraries’ print collection. for course or personal use. Contact eres_mgr@holycross.edu or place a Document Delivery request.  If you are not sure which sections you would like digitized, we would be happy to scan a table of contents for you. 

Electronic Journals & Databases

FROM OTHER LIBRARIES: 

 

Interlibrary Loan: 

Faculty can request books, chapters, journal articles and more from other libraries using the Interlibrary Loan service.  Holy Cross uses the ILLiad system for Interlibrary Loan. Physical items obtained on Interlibrary Loan are picked up at the library you have identified in your ILLiad profile. 

 

 Instructions for using Document Delivery & Interlibrary Loan

 Instructions for renewing Interlibrary Loan items

Worcester ARC: 

Holy Cross students, faculty and staff have access privileges at other institutions in Worcester through ARC (Academic Research Collaborative). ARC is a cross-borrowing agreement between Holy Cross and other universities in Worcester and in the general Worcester area. In addition to Interlibrary Loan services, you may also check out circulating items from ARC libraries directly.  

To see if an item is available at an ARC library, use the WorldCat database to search for the item you are interested in, then click to view the full list of libraries where the item is available. To use an ARC library, visit the Circulation Desk in Dinand to request an ARC Borrower's Card. Then bring both the ARC card and your Holy Cross ID with you to visit the other library (exception: you will need proof of MA address to borrow from the Worcester Public Library). 

Note: It is always a good idea to check the library's catalog before making a trip to check out a specific item. While the COVID pandemic persists, you should also check current access policies.  There is a complete list of participating libraries on the Worcester ARC website.

Boston Public Library: 

The Boston Public Library issues both library cards and e-cards to anyone resident, working or studying in the state of Massachusetts. In addition to borrowing from BPL's extensive print collections, a card allows access to their online database subscriptions. An e-card can be obtained online, without visiting BPL in person. Note that to check out physical materials, museum passes, etc., you will need to visit the library and upgrade your e-card to a full library card. More information about the eCard program is available in the BPL eCard FAQ.

AJCU Jesuit Passport: 

Jesuit Passport is a program available through the Association of Jesuit Colleges & Universities (AJCU).  It is available to faculty only. The Passport program allows faculty to visit and check-out books from libraries at other Jesuit institutions. Questions about the Passport program should be directed to Eileen Cravedi, ecravedi@holycross.edu  

Note: It is always a good idea to check the library's catalog before making a trip to check out a specific item. While the COVID pandemic persists, you should also check current access policies. You can see a map of AJCU institutions on their website. 

Streaming Audio & Video

STREAMING AUDIO & VIDEO: 

If you need streaming access to film(s) or audio for your course, please submit a film request form or audio request form. We will research any available options and get back to you. 

We encourage you you to explore streaming films and/or audio recordings that are already available in the Libraries' collections (on the following tabs). 

DIGITIZATION OF DVDs AND VHS: 

We have temporarily lifted our restrictions on digitization of DVDs for which there is no streaming equivalent.

Use this form to request a film for your course. During busy times at the start of the semester, expect a one to two-week turnaround.

*Note that we are currently unable to digitize VHS. We are working on making this service available again as soon as possible.* 

Note that we cannot digitize personal copies of films. We would be happy to accept donations of personal copies to be permanently added to the Libraries' collections and then digitized. We are able to digitize films which have been purchased by the College for the use of an academic department. 

CURRENT LICENSES: 

See the spreadsheet below for a list of films currently licensed from Kanopy, Swank and Docuseek2 and their expiration dates. 

Note that this list does not include titles from AVON (Academic Video Online), which are available on an unlimited basis for the duration of our AVON subscription and do not have expiration dates. Films available as part of the AVON database can be searched via CrossSearch or by going to AVON directly. 

Streaming films with expiration dates [requires Holy Cross e-mail login] 

SOURCES FOR STREAMING FILM: 

The following list includes selected sources for streaming video. You can also search CrossSearch to see what films we already have access to. Simply enter your keywords, then, on the results list, then, under Resource Type on the left toolbar, choose Videos (you may need to click Show More for Videos to appear as a category). 

If you would like to quickly determine whether a specific film is available for rental via Amazon Prime, Hulu, Netflix, etc., JustWatch.com is another useful resource. 

OPEN ACCESS RESOURCES: 

SOURCES FOR STREAMING AUDIO: 

The following list includes selected sources for streaming audio. You can also search CrossSearch to see what films we already have access to. Simply enter your keywords, then, on the results list, then, under Resource Type on the left toolbar, choose Audio (you may need to click Show More for Videos to appear as a category). 

OPEN ACCESS RESOURCES: