Spend some time brainstorming keywords and search terms.
Try using subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.
When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.
Do you have an article citation, but need to find the full-text article?
Three Steps to Finding the Full Text Article...
1. Check the Holy Cross Libraries' Catalog to find the journal in print or in electronic format by searching in the TITLE field for the name of the JOURNAL (not the article name): HC Catalog
2. If the catalog does not produce positive results, check the Electronic Journals A-Z List by searching for the Journal name (not the article name) in the "Find" box.
3. If the Electronic Journals A-Z list does not produce positive results, order the article through InterLibrary Loan.
AnthroSource (Full Text: coverage varies)
Indexes the American Anthropological Association's publications and provides many full-text links to the library’s JSTOR collection
JSTOR (Full Text: coverage varies)
An archive of scholarly journal articles from a variety of subject areas, including anthropology.
ProQuest Central (Full Text: coverage varies)
Great multidisciplinary database
Academic Search Premier (Full Text: coverage varies)
A multidisciplinary database that offers indexing and abstracts for 7,100 publications
Project Muse (Full Text: coverage varies)
Provides full-text journal articles from a variety of subject areas
SocIndex (Full Text; coverage varies)
Indexes more than 1,986,000 records in the field of sociology
Expanded Academic ASAP (Full Text: 1980-present)
An interdisciplinary index to journals and national news magazines