Skip to Main Content
     

ENGL 366: Modern British Novel (Haley)

CrossSearch: Search everything at once

CrossSearch is a tool that allows users to simultaneously search the Holy Cross Libraries' collections and includes:

  • books, ebooks, archival materials, media and music scores owned by the Holy Cross Libraries.
  • research databases like Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, ARTstor and ProQuest Central.
  • e-journal collections like JSTOR and ScienceDirect.
  • the Holy Cross digital repository CrossWorks.
  • Open Access collections such as HaithiTrust Digital Library.

Using CrossSearch

CrossSearch retrieves items in the Holy Cross Libraries' collections that match your search terms.  You can find even more results not owned by Holy Cross by unchecking the "Holy Cross Libraries Collection" under the LIMIT TO heading on the left side of the search results screen.  If we don't own an item, you may need to place an interlibrary loan request.  

More Resources

Not everything owned by the Holy Cross Libraries is included in CrossSearch.  You may wish to search individual research databases using our Research Databases list.  

Tell Us What You Think

We'd love to hear your thoughts on our new CrossSearch.  Submit your feedback via the online form.    

 

Beyond Dinand

WorldCat is union catalog containing millions of records from thousands of libraries worldwide. It is an excellent starting point for finding resources for request through Interlibrary Loan.

If you need to access a book that Holy Cross does not own,  search for the title in WorldCat and look for the list of libraries that own your book. 
 
ARC
If a library at another Worcester-area college, or the Worcester Public Library, has a book that you need, you can go to that library and check out the book in person. You'll just need to stop by the circulation desk in Dinand to pick up an ARC card, then present your ARC card and Holy Cross ID to staff at the other library. Click here for a list of libraries that you can use with your ARC card.  Check their local catalog -- or call ahead -- before you go to make sure that the book isn't already checked out! 
 
Interlibrary Loan
If the book you need is not available at another Worcester college (or if you don't have the means to get to one!),  you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request to have the book sent here.  Interlibrary Loan is a service provided by the libraries and won't cost you anything. On very rare occasions (for example, if a book is being sent from overseas), there might be a charge for Interlibrary Loan, but we will waive these charges for you anyway as Honors students! 

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg is a free, online resources which is a great tool for searching the full-text of many long novels.  It is one of the longest-running sites for free eBooks and now includes close to 7,000 books, all in the public domain (that is, published before 1923 and thus no longer in copyright). All Project Gutenberg books are free to view and download. Each book may be available in a number of different formats ranging from text files to PDFs and Kindle books (EPUB).

OpenLibrary

A repository of digitized books drawn from the Internet Archive. 

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a repository of digitized books drawn from major research libraries in the United States. The library contains millions of books of all different dates and subjects. Certain parts of the collection are restricted, but many books are free online.

Google Books 

Like Project Gutenberg, Google Book Search allows you to search the full text of many public domain works.  Use the Advanced Search to limit by different criteria, such as author.

Google Book Search