MONT 199C-F05: Music, Protest, and Power (Whelden)

What is CrossSearch?

CrossSearch is a one-stop search tool that lets you search most of the informational resources available through the library, including:

• Books, ebooks, archival materials, media and music scores owned by the Holy Cross Libraries.
• Research databases like Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, ARTstor and ProQuest Central.
• E-journal collections like JSTOR and ScienceDirect.
• The Holy Cross digital repository CrossWorks.
• Open Access collections such as HaithiTrust Digital Library

As you can see, CrossSearch looks in many different places and for many different types of sources. In one search, you might see results for academic journal articles, books in the library’s collection, films, newspaper articles, and more. This can be a good place to start if you want to see a broad scope of the resources available on your topic. However, because CrossSearch includes so many types of resources, you might find you need to filter these results more than you would in a more specific database.

CrossSearch is best accessed through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library).

Using CrossSearch Filters

Because CrossSearch includes a wide range of filters, it is helpful to use the built in filters to narrow your results to find relevant information. You can filter your results by publication type, date, subject, language, and more.

Find the filters on the left side of the search results. 

Use the Resource Type filter to search for specific types of publication. Some options include academic journals, news, magazines, and electronic resources. If you know you want to find a specific type of source, like articles in a newspaper, this filter helps you narrow down your search to include just that type of result. You also have the option to select multiple filters.

About Databases

A database is a collection of information that is arranged and tagged for easy searching and retrieval. Think of a database like an online storage container: It stores different publications, journals, books, magazines, and newspapers and makes it possible for you to access them. The library subscribes to over 300 databases that are available for Holy Cross students to use.

You can access the list of databases from the link below, or by selecting "Research Databases" on the Library website. The database list provides options for filtering and sorting databases to find what is most relevant to you. You can select a specific subject to see databases that focus on that subject, or a database type if you are looking for a specific type of source like newspapers/magazines or primary sources. If you aren't sure where to start, ask a librarian!

Background Information, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries

Library databases also include reference sources, which are sources that provide overviews of a topic and background information to help you in your research (like the name suggests, they are used "for reference"). These include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and indexes. They are generally used to find factual information to build your understanding of a topic before diving into in-depth research.

Holy Cross has a number of reference sources available electronically and in print. To find reference sources online, start on the A-Z Database list. Click on the dropdown menu labeled "Types" and select "Encyclopedias & More." Some reference databases are linked below.

Newspapers & Magazines

You can use CrossSearch to find newspaper and magazine sources, or you can select a database specific to these types of sources. If you know you want to see results from this type of publication, it may be more effective to choose a newspaper and magazine database. To find newspaper and magazine databases, start on the A-Z Database list. Click on the dropdown menu labeled "Types" and select "Newspapers & Magazines." Some suggested databases are linked below.

Find Books in the Library Catalog

Use the Library Catalog to find print books, print journals, and ebooks in the library's collection. Access the Library Catalog search through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library). Above the search bar, select "Library Catalog." To use more advanced searching options, click on the "My Library Account" link below the search bar to go directly to the catalog, where you can search by keyword, title, subject, or call number. 

Books on the shelves are organized by call number. A call number is an address for a book that tells you where the book is located on the shelf. Call numbers identify different subject areas, so books with similar call numbers will cover similar subjects. This way, when you find a book on the shelf, you know the books around it are on similar topics.

When you look up a book in CrossSearch or the Library Catalog, you will see the call number listed with the book details. The details will also include the book's location, which tells you which library the book is in.

Music Library

The Music Library is located in the east end of Fenwick Hall. Music scores, books, LPs, CDs, and videos are located in the Music Library. They will have call numbers starting with the letter M. You can find more information about the Music Library at the guide linked below.