MONT 199C-F05: Music, Protest, and Power (Whelden)

About Chicago Citations

There are two versions of Chicago citation: Notes and Bibliography, which uses footnotes throughout the text and a complete bibliography at the end of the paper, and Author-Date, which uses in-text citations and a complete reference list at the end of the paper. This page includes guidance for the Author-Date style of Chicago, 17th edition.

Example Citations

Book with a single author or editor 

In-text: (Hsu 2022, 10)

References: Hsu, Katherine Lu. 2022. The Violent Hero: Heracles in the Greek Imagination. London: Bloomsbury Academic. 

Journal article from an online database (w/ month or season given)

In-text: (Boyle and Lahey 2016, 66)

References: Boyle, Melissa A. and Joanna N. Lahey. 2016. “Spousal Labor Market Effects from Government Health Insurance: Evidence from a Veterans Affairs Expansion." Journal of Health Economics, 45 (January): 63-76.  https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jhealeco.2015.11.005. 

Journal article from an online database (w/ no month or season given)

In-text: (Candelora 2017, 46)

References: Candelora, Daniella. 2018. "Entangled in Orientalism: How the Hyksos Became a Race." Journal of Egyptian History 11(1-2): 45-72.  Historical Abstracts. 

Online newspaper/magazine article 

In-text: (Malik and Onguny 2022)

References: Malik, Aditi and Philip Onguny. 2022. "From Message to Violence: What to Watch for in the Media Ahead of Kenya's Elections." The Conversation, March 21. https://theconversation.com/from-message-to-violence-what-to-watch-for-in-the-media-ahead-of-kenyas-elections-177459.

Page from a website

In-text: (College of the Holy Cross, n.d.)

References: College of the Holy Cross. n.d. "Prelaw Program." Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/prelaw-program.

Reference Sources Consulted Online (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.)

In-text: (Oxford English Dictionary 2023)

References: Oxford English Dictionary. 2023. s.v. "pinwheel (n.)." Accessed August 27, 2024. https://doi.org/10.1093/OED/1079522224.

*Note: "s.v." stands for "sub verbo" or "under the word." It is used before the entry title in the footnote to indicate when articles are listed alphabetically, instead of with a volume or edition number.