Meet Our Libraries
Dinand Library is the main library on the Holy Cross campus. It holds the majority of our print collection and has four floors of study space to meet a variety of space needs. As part of a post-World War I campus expansion, Dinand was originally designed by the Boston architectural firm of Maginnis & Walsh to be a defined space for study on the campus. Named in honor of Bishop Joseph N. Dinand, S.J. who served as President of Holy Cross from 1911-1918 and from 1924-1927, the library was dedicated in 1927 and renovated in 1979 when the Hiatt wings were added.
Archives & Distinctive Collections at the College of the Holy Cross collect, preserve, and provide access to a wide variety of materials related to the College's history. represented in the College Archives, Rare Books Collections, Special Collections, and Digital Scholarship. The Archives & Distinctive Collections department works to engage with the entire Holy Cross community through the shared goal of preserving the College's history, fostering a scholarly research environment, and acquiring items reflective of our diverse academic community. We seek to make these materials accessible through an active instruction program, scholarly collaborations, robust online repositories, digitization and exhibitions.
General questions about the Holy Cross Archives and Distinctive Collections can either be submitted through the Ask an Archivist Form, or by emailing archives@holycross.edu. You can view some of our digital Archives on CrossWorks, including College yearbooks, student publications, and course catalogs.
Photo courtesy of Michael J. Novia
The O’Callahan Science Library has over 95,000 physical volumes and increasing numbers of electronic product occupies the entire first floor of Swords Hall, the central portion of the five-building Integrated Science Complex. The Science Library subscribes to over 50 major article databases just in the science disciplines, which contain access to thousands of journals.
The Library serves Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, Mathematics & Computer Science, Neuroscience, and Physics.
The Fenwick Music Library was founded in 1978 and is located in the east end of Fenwick Hall. The goal of the library is to support the music department curriculum and provide print, sound, and electronic music-related materials for the Holy Cross community.
Music scores, books, LPs, CDs, and videos are located in the Fenwick Music Library. The Music Library is equipped with all the necessary playback equipment. Music Reserve materials are circulated here as are the keys to the music department practice rooms.
The Worcester Art Museum Library, operated by College of the Holy Cross, was founded in 1909 as a non-circulating bibliographic resource dedicated to the history of art. It reflects the collection strengths of the Worcester Art Museum, located in downtown Worcester. Holy Cross students get free admission to the Worcester Art Museum with a Holy Cross ID! While the library exists to serve the staff of the Museum, it also serves as the Fine Arts branch for the Holy Cross Library.
Holy Cross students can visit the Worcester Art Museum Library to browse and check out materials and can request to have materials from the Worcester Art Museum Library delivered to Holy Cross for pickup.
Introduction to Holy Cross Libraries
Printing
Printing in the Libraries
Holy Cross students receive free black and white printing. Your account is automatically loaded with credits each semester so you can print for free.
To print in any of the libraries, you can either use a library computer or your personal device to send a print job to the Print Release Station. The job is held at the Print Release Station to help prevent files from accidentally printing multiple times or stacking up on the printers. Go to the Print Release Station, type in your username, click "print" on the file(s) you want to print, and it will release your file to the printer.
To print from your personal device, follow these instructions from ITS to connect to the printers. Once your device is connected, you can print in any of the libraries.