Additional Resources
- Citing Sources & Academic IntegrityThis guide offers resources for citing sources appropriately as well as understanding and practicing academic integrity.
- Writer's WorkshopThe Writer’s Workshop provides an opportunity to meet with trained, peer consultants to discuss assignments, brainstorm ideas, develop outlines for your papers, improve and further polish your paper drafts, and more. The workshop is located on the 2nd floor of Dinand, next to the Debate Room. You can walk-in or, book an appointment here!
Citation Software
With RefWorks, you can import references from Holy Cross databases to create your own personal list of references and bibliographies for your papers.
Still using the Legacy version of RefWorks? Please consider migrating as soon as possible! -- but in the meantime, you can still access the Legacy RefWorks site. Contact a librarian for help migrating.
- How To...Use RefWorks
-
How To...Export Citations to RefWorks
by HC Libraries Research Help Last Updated Sep 30, 2021 19 views this year
Chicago Style
Basics of Chicago Style:
If you are unsure, check with your professor. Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes. Need more help? Use the resources listed in the Chicago Citation Resources tab, or ask a librarian!
Book with a single author
Footnote: Wally Carew, A Farewell to Glory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross (Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003), 10.
Bibliography: Carew, Wally. A Farewell to Glory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross. Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003.
Journal article from an online database
Footnote: James G. Hersberg, "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3 (2003): 24, https://doi.org/10.1080/14682740312331391608.
Bibliography: Hershberg, James G. "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3(2003): 23-48. https://doi.org/10.1080/14682740312331391608.
Published correspondence
Footnote: Grant to McPherson, 1 July 1863, in The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, ed. John Y. Simon (Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1979), 8:200.
Bibliography: Grant, Ulysses S. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant to Gen. James B. McPherson, 1 July 1863. In The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, edited by John Y. Simon, vol. 8. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1979.
Chicago Style Resources:
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Dinand Reference; Music Reference; Science Reference
