How To...Export Citations to RefWorks

Most research databases offer the ability to export a citation for a specific article etc. directly into your Refworks or other citation manager. Since each database company designs their interfaces differently, this export tool also appears differently in different databases. This guide is designed to help you locate this tool in the majority of Holy Cross' research databases in addition to tools like Google Scholar. 

What if my database is not on this list? 

This could mean that your database is one of the rare exceptions that does not export to Refworks,  or, it could simply mean that it hasn't been added yet! Email libref@holycross.edu and we'll be happy to help you with the specific database and/or to add instructions to this page. 

What if I have other questions about using Refworks? 

Good news-- there is a guide for that! 

---

How do I find the instructions for [___] database? 

Database interfaces tend to vary by the company that makes them. For that reason, this guide is organized by database company. 

If you are not sure which company makes the specific database, you can use Ctrl + F to see if it is listed below.  

This list last updated 2  Jun, 2021

ADAM MATTHEW  (full list of databases)

Refworks Instructions

Databases: includes African American Communities; America in World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts; American Indian Histories & Cultures; China, America and the Pacific: Trade & Cultural Exchange; China: Culture and Society; China: Trade, Politics and Culture; Defining Gender; Empire Online; Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings; First World War: Personal Experiences; India, Raj and Empire; Macmillan Cabinet Papers; Mass Observation Online; Medieval Family Life; Nixon Years, 1969-1974; Popular Culture in Britain and America; Shakespeare's Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance; Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice; Travel Writing, Spectacle & World History; Women in The National Archives (UK) 
 

BREPOLIS  (full list of databases)

Refworks Instructions

Databases: Annee Philologique; Clavis Clavium Online;International Medieval Bibliography
 

EASTVIEW  (full list of databases)

Refworks Instructions

Databases: Current Digest of the Chinese Press; Current Digest of the Russian Press
 

EBSCOhost  (full list of databases)

Refworks Instructions

Databases: CrossSearch; Academic Search Premier; AgeLine; Alternative Press Index; America: History and Life; American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection; Architectural Digest Magazine Archive; Art & Architecture Complete; Art Index Retrospective; Arte Público Historical Collection; Atla Religion Database; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive; EBSCO EBooks; EconLit; ERIC; Esquire Magazine Archive; Forbes Magazine Archive; Fortune Magazine Archive; GreenFILE; Historical Abstracts with Full Text; Image Collection; Index Islamicus; LGBTQ+ Life; Lbrary, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA); Life Magazine Archive; MathSciNet; MLA International Bibliography; People Magazine Archive; Philosopher's Index; PsycArticles; PsycINFO; SocINDEX; Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive; Time Magazine Archive; U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive
 

ELSEVIER (full list of databases)

Refworks Instructions

Databases: ScienceDirect; Scopus 
 

GALE (full list of databases)

Refworks Instructions

Databases: includes Academic OneFile; American Men and Women of Science; Archives Unbound; Biography; Business; College Blue Book; Communication and Mass Media; Contemporary Authors; Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series; Contemporary Black Biography; Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television; Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook; Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile); Educator's Reference Complete; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); Environmental Studies and Policy; Expanded Academic ASAP; Gale eBooks; Gale Literary Index; Gale Literature; Gale Literature Criticism; Gale Primary Sources; Gardening and Horticulture; General OneFile; Global Issues (Gale in Context); Health and Medicine; Health and Wellness (Gale); Hospitality and Tourism; Information Science; Kids infoBits; Literature Resource Center; London Times Digital Archive; Middle School (Gale in Context); Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile); New Catholic Encyclopedia;  News (Gale OneFile);  Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO); Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism; Nursing and Allied Health; Opposing Viewpoints; Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine; Poetry Criticism; Science (Gale In Context); Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive; Small Business Resource Center; Statistics Sources; Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism; U.S. History (Gale In Context); Vocations and Careers; World History (Gale In Context) 
 

OXFORD (full list of databases)

Refworks Instructions

Databases: includes American National Biography; Dictionary of National Biography; Grove Art Online; OED: Oxford English Dictionary; 
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography; Oxford Journals; Oxford Music Online; Oxford Reference
 

PROQUEST (full list of databases)

Refworks Instructions

Databases: includes ABI/INFORM Complete; Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection; American Periodicals Series;  Boston Globe Current; Boston Globe Historical; Business Market Research Collection; C19: The Nineteenth Century Index; Chicago Defender Historical; Ebook Central; EEBO: Early English Books Online; Heritage Quest; Irish Times (1859-2019) and Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958); Music Online Classical Scores Library; Music Periodicals Database (IIMP); New York Times Current; New York Times Historical; ProQuest Asian Business Collection; ProQuest Biological Science; ProQuest Career & Technical Education; ProQuest Central; ProQuest Computer Science; ProQuest Consumer Health; ProQuest Criminal Justice; ProQuest Education; ProQuest European Business; ProQuest Health & Medical Collection; ProQuest Healthcare Administration; ProQuest Military; ProQuest Newspapers; ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health; ProQuest Political Science; ProQuest Psychology Journals; ProQuest Religion; ProQuest Science; ProQuest Social Science; ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.; ProQuest Telecommunications; U.S. Newsstream; Wall Street Journal