Understanding the 19th-Century Press
Video Orientation to Antebellum American Newspapers:
The Commercialization of News in the Nineteenth Century by Call Number: [E-Book]Publication Date: 1992
The Press Gang: Newspapers & Politics, 1865-1878 by Call Number: PN4864 .S86 1994Publication Date: 1994
United States
- 19th Century US Newspapers [Boston Public Library subscription]To access, sign up for an e-card.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1684-1820
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1821-1837
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 3 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1838-1852
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 4 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1853-1865
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 5 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1866-1912
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1756-1963
Historic newspapers from all different U.S. states, hosted by the Library of Congress. - New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1851-2020
Articles from the New York Times, including all pictures and advertisements.
- American Indian Newspapers {BPL database}"A collection of newspapers, ranging from historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, which together explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada."
- Catholic News Archive (CRAA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1831-2024
Articles from Catholic news sources, browsable by year, title and diocese, or keyword search.
- Freedom's Journal (1827-1829)Provides full-text access to all 103 issues of “the first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States” from 1827 to 1829. Presented by the Wisconsin Historical Society.
- Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1800s-1900s
Spanish-language and bilingual (Spanish-English) U.S. newspapers.
- Silent Worker (1888-1929)"The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century. "
- Swedish American Newspapers"Hundreds of Swedish-language newspapers were published in the United States from 1850 onward, catering to America's Swedish immigrant communities. Use this online portal to learn more about these newspapers, and to search over 300,000 digitized newspaper pages from 32 different Swedish American newspaper titles published across the United States between 1857 and 2007. "
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-JournalsAlphabetical list of papers including title, place of publication, years covered, language, and access information. Includes free online collections, subscriptions and some print collections.
- Barnstable, MA Digital Newspaper ArchiveDigitized issues of the Barnstable Patriot, (1830-2017), Hyannis Patriot (1894-1942), Sandwich Observer (1910-1911), The Register (1968-2017), Yarmouth Register (1836-1958), and the Dennis-Yarmouth Register (1959-1967)
- Boston Globe Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1872-1993
Articles from the Boston Globe including all pictures and advertisements.
- Historic Cambridge Newspaper CollectionFree access to papers including Boston Herald American's Cambridge Rambler (1975-1981), The Cambridge Chronicle (1846-2019), Cambridge Press (1887-1889), Cambridge Tab (1981-1983), Cambridge Express (1981-1983), Cambridge Sentinel (1903-1947), Cambridge Tribune (1887-1941), Fax (1987-1991).
- Nantucket Atheneum Digital Historic Newspaper Archive"This archive allows researchers to search and view issues of over 20 Nantucket historic newspapers from 1816 to the present online using keyword searching."
- Provincetown Online: The Advocate Live!Access to various issues of the Provincetown Advocate, the Provincetown Beacon, Provincetown Banner, and New Beacon ranging in date from 1856 to 1967.
- Worcester Telegram & Gazette Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1866-1988
Articles from the Worcester Evening Gazette and the Worcester Telegram, including all pictures and advertisements.
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama [Boston Public Library subscription]"This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."" To access, sign up for an e-card.
- California Digital Newspaper Collection"The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. "
- El Clamor Publico Collection, 1855-1859"Billed as Los Angeles' "Periodico Independiente y Literario," El Clamor Publico was the first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation."
- Sonoma County Historical Newspaper CollectionA selection of pages and clippings from Sonoma County newspapers dating from the late 1800s through the early 20th century.
- Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection"A service of the Colorado State Library, the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 2 million digitized pages, representing more than 553 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 up to 2020."
- Connecticut Digital Newspaper Project (Chronicling America)Issues from 14 Connecticut newspapers ranging in date from 1826 to 1949.
- Historic Southington (CT) NewspapersA very large collection of Southington’s historic newspapers including The Observer, The Phoenix, and The Southington News."
- Newspapers of Connecticut (CT State Library)Misc. 19th- and early 20th-century Connecticut newspapers.
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama [Boston Public Library subscription]"This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."" To access, sign up for an e-card.
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama [Boston Public Library subscription]"This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."" To access, sign up for an e-card.
- Northern Kentucky Newspaper IndexIndexed Northern Kentucky Newspapers from 1835-1935 and 1982-Present.
- Quincy (IL) Newspapers, 1835-1919Free, full-text access to six historical Quincy, Illinois, newspapers.
- Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project"128 titles from the state of Louisiana published between 1836 through 1922 — a total of 328,900 pages. Access to the complete list of newspapers via the Title, Parish, Decade, Historically Black, or Multi-Language Titles links."
- Maine Newspaper ProjectA collaborative digitization project providing access to a variety of Maine papers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Minnesota Digital Newspaper HubThe Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1849 and today. Due to potential copyright restrictions most issues published less than 95 years ago can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center.
- North Carolina Newspapers (1751-1898)Available through the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center's DigitalNC Project
- Atlantic County (N.J.) Library Newspapers, 1860-1923Over 5,000 newspapers covering Atlantic County happening.
- New Jersey Digital Newspaper ProjectA compilation of "all known digitized newspapers published in New Jersey, whether currently available or in process, including links and other access information." Organized by county, includes both free and subscription resources.
- Friend of Man (1836-1842)"One of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements." Presented by Cornell University Library.
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1851-2020
Articles from the New York Times, including all pictures and advertisements.
- Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection"Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection contain all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War."
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive"The Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive is the gateway to the Commonwealth's historical full-text searchable newspaper database.
Newspaper titles and holdings will continue to be added as they become available from all 67 counties stretching back to our colonial roots to the present." - Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper ProjectProvides full-text access to The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-present).
- Utah Digital Newspapers (1850-1900)Search more than 3.5 million pages from 200 digitized Utah newspapers.
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama [Boston Public Library subscription]"This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."" To access, sign up for an e-card.
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama [Boston Public Library subscription]"This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."" To access, sign up for an e-card.
- Virginia Chronicle"Virginia Chronicle is a historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to full text searching and digitized images of over a million newspaper pages."
- Arvin A. Brown Public Library Community History ArchiveAccess to multiple Vermont papers including the Richford Gazette (1879-1927), Richford Journal (1901-1922), Richford Journal & Gazette (1927), and Journal Gazette (1950-1957),
- Stowe Free Library Community History ArchiveAccess to multiple VT papers including the News & Citizen (1894), Stowe Journal (1896), Stowe Reporter (1958-1999),
UK
- British Library Newspapers [Boston Public Library subscription]Includes a wide variety of British papers ranging in date from the 1730s to 1950. To access, sign up for an e-card.
- The Gazette OnlineProvides full-text access to the Belfast Gazette(Early 20th century-present), the Edinburgh Gazette(Late 19th century-present) and the London Gazette(Late 19th century-present)
- Irish Times & Weekly Irish Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1859-2022
Articles from the Irish Times and Weekly Irish Times, including all pictures and advertisements. - London Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1785-2019
Articles from the London Times, including all pictures and advertisements.
- Penny Illustrated (1861-1913) and The Graphic (1870-1900)Full-text access to these British newspapers. The Penny Illustrated and The Graphic are free from this site, but other publications are not so you may want to limit your search to these publication titles. Produced by the British Library’s British NewsPaper Archive.
- Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive (1822-2006) [Boston Public Library subscription]"Searchable page reproductions of Britain’s premier Sunday newspaper." To access, sign up for an e-card.
Europe
- Deutsches ZeitungsportalHistoric German newspapers 1671-1950. Many, but not all, papers are in German. Browse by title, location or year, or keyword search.
- Europeana Newspapers"Explore the headlines, articles, advertisements, and opinion pieces from European newspapers from 20 countries, dating from 1618 to the 1980s."
- Imperial Russian NewspapersThe Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution.Core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-JournalsAlphabetical list of papers including title, place of publication, years covered, language, and access information. Includes free online collections, subscriptions and some print collections.
Latin America
- Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de MexicoPublic-domain Mexican newspapers, in Spanish
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers"The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era."
Middle East
- Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers"The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. "
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-JournalsAlphabetical list of papers including title, place of publication, years covered, language, and access information. Includes free online collections, subscriptions and some print collections.
Africa
- Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers"The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. "
*19th Century Wars in the Press
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama [Boston Public Library subscription]"This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."" To access, sign up for an e-card.