United States
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Local, national, and international news, including the Worcester Telegram & Gazette.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 5 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1866-1912
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1756-1963
Historic newspapers from all different U.S. states, hosted by the Library of Congress. - News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Local, regional, national and international newspapers, in addition to images, transcripts and recordings from radio and TV broadcasts.
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1851-2020
Articles from the New York Times, including all pictures and advertisements. - U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
National newspapers, blogs and online news sites, including the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1984-present
Text-only articles from the Wall Street Journal. **Blogs and other website content are not included.**
- Alternative and Underground Press CollectionFrom Popular Culture in Britain & America database. "Electronic reproduction of a collection of newspapers and periodicals published by the alternative and underground press in the United States and Britain during the 1960s and 1970s. The publications vary in their politics, audience and local interests, but they share a radical, anti-establishment or counterculture focus."
- American Indian Newspapers {BPL database}"A collection of newspapers, ranging from historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, which together explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada."
- Catholic News Archive (CRAA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1831-2024
Articles from Catholic news sources, browsable by year, title and diocese, or keyword search. - Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1800s-1900s
Spanish-language and bilingual (Spanish-English) U.S. newspapers.
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life"This digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete."
- Jewish Advocate, 1905-1990 [Boston Public Library Subscription]"Searchable full-page and article reproductions back to the May 26, 1905 issue. Published as the Boston Advocate: New England’s Jewish Weekly from 1905-1909." To access, sign up for an e-card.
- Silent Worker (1888-1929)"The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century. "
- Swedish American Newspapers"Hundreds of Swedish-language newspapers were published in the United States from 1850 onward, catering to America's Swedish immigrant communities. Use this online portal to learn more about these newspapers, and to search over 300,000 digitized newspaper pages from 32 different Swedish American newspaper titles published across the United States between 1857 and 2007. "
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-JournalsAlphabetical list of papers including title, place of publication, years covered, language, and access information. Includes free online collections, subscriptions and some print collections.
- Barnstable, MA Digital Newspaper ArchiveDigitized issues of the Barnstable Patriot, (1830-2017), Hyannis Patriot (1894-1942), Sandwich Observer (1910-1911), The Register (1968-2017), Yarmouth Register (1836-1958), and the Dennis-Yarmouth Register (1959-1967)
- Boston Globe Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1980-present
Text-only articles from the Boston Globe. - Boston Globe Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1872-1993
Articles from the Boston Globe including all pictures and advertisements.
- Nantucket Atheneum Digital Historic Newspaper Archive"This archive allows researchers to search and view issues of over 20 Nantucket historic newspapers from 1816 to the present online using keyword searching."
- Provincetown Online: The Advocate Live!Access to various issues of the Provincetown Advocate, the Provincetown Beacon, Provincetown Banner, and New Beacon ranging in date from 1856 to 1967.
- Worcester Telegram & Gazette Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1989-present
Articles from the Worcester Telegram & Gazette; all pictures and advertisements are included 2018-present. - Worcester Telegram & Gazette Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1866-1988
Articles from the Worcester Evening Gazette and the Worcester Telegram, including all pictures and advertisements.
- California Digital Newspaper Collection"The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. "
- Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection"A service of the Colorado State Library, the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 2 million digitized pages, representing more than 553 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 up to 2020."
- Connecticut Digital Newspaper Project (Chronicling America)Issues from 14 Connecticut newspapers ranging in date from 1826 to 1949.
- Historic Southington (CT) NewspapersA very large collection of Southington’s historic newspapers including The Observer, The Phoenix, and The Southington News."
- Newspapers of Connecticut (CT State Library)Misc. 19th- and early 20th-century Connecticut newspapers.
- Northern Kentucky Newspaper IndexIndexed Northern Kentucky Newspapers from 1835-1935 and 1982-Present.
- Chicago Defender Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1909-1975
Articles from the Chicago Defender, a leading national Black newspaper.
- Quincy (IL) Newspapers, 1835-1919Free, full-text access to six historical Quincy, Illinois, newspapers.
- Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project"128 titles from the state of Louisiana published between 1836 through 1922 — a total of 328,900 pages. Access to the complete list of newspapers via the Title, Parish, Decade, Historically Black, or Multi-Language Titles links."
- Maine Newspaper ProjectA collaborative digitization project providing access to a variety of Maine papers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Minnesota Digital Newspaper HubThe Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1849 and today. Due to potential copyright restrictions most issues published less than 95 years ago can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center.
- North Carolina NewspapersThis collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina.
- Atlantic County (N.J.) Library Newspapers, 1860-1923Over 5,000 newspapers covering Atlantic County happening.
- New Jersey Digital Newspaper ProjectA compilation of "all known digitized newspapers published in New Jersey, whether currently available or in process, including links and other access information." Organized by county, includes both free and subscription resources.
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1851-2020
Articles from the New York Times, including all pictures and advertisements.
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive"The Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive is the gateway to the Commonwealth's historical full-text searchable newspaper database.
Newspaper titles and holdings will continue to be added as they become available from all 67 counties stretching back to our colonial roots to the present." - Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper ProjectProvides full-text access to The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-present).
- Arvin A. Brown Public Library Community History ArchiveAccess to multiple Vermont papers including the Richford Gazette (1879-1927), Richford Journal (1901-1922), Richford Journal & Gazette (1927), and Journal Gazette (1950-1957),
- Stowe Free Library Community History ArchiveAccess to multiple VT papers including the News & Citizen (1894), Stowe Journal (1896), Stowe Reporter (1958-1999),
Canada
- Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest)Full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, some dating as far back as the late 1970s.
UK
- British Library Newspapers [Boston Public Library subscription]Includes a wide variety of British papers ranging in date from the 1730s to 1950. To access, sign up for a free BPL e-card.
- The Gazette OnlineProvides full-text access to the Belfast Gazette(Early 20th century-present), the Edinburgh Gazette(Late 19th century-present) and the London Gazette(Late 19th century-present)
- Irish Times & Weekly Irish Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1859-2022
Articles from the Irish Times and Weekly Irish Times, including all pictures and advertisements. - London Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1785-2019
Articles from the London Times, including all pictures and advertisements.
- Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive (1822-2006) [Boston Public Library subscription]"Searchable page reproductions of Britain’s premier Sunday newspaper." To access, sign up for an e-card.
Europe
- Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1949-2022
Selections from Soviet and Russian news sources, translated into English. *To search content articles before 2011, make sure that your search is set to “All Databases”*
- Deutsches ZeitungsportalHistoric German newspapers 1671-1950. Many, but not all, papers are in German. Browse by title, location or year, or keyword search.
- Europeana Newspapers"Explore the headlines, articles, advertisements, and opinion pieces from European newspapers from 20 countries, dating from 1618 to the 1980s."
- Imperial Russian NewspapersThe Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution.Core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-JournalsThis useful list includes open-access Jewish periodicals from around the world (including Palestine), as well as some that might be available through library subscriptions.
Asia
- Asian Newsstream (ProQuest)Access to more than 60 of the most respected national and regional sources of news and current affairs information in Asia and the Far East.
Latin America
- Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de MexicoPublic-domain Mexican newspapers, in Spanish
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers"The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era."
- Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela.
Middle East
- Middle East & African Newsstream (ProQuest)Middle East and African Newsstream offers full text access newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the region. Sources include The Jerusalem Post, the Gulf Daily News, Kuwait Times, Cape Times, and Yemen Times, among many others. It includes backfiles as far back as 1988.
- Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers"The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. "
- Palestine Post Newspaper Archive (1932-1950)English-language, Zionist-Jewish newspaper founded in 1932 in Jerusalem. After 1950, it was published as The Jerusalem Post.
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-JournalsAlphabetical list of papers including title, place of publication, years covered, language, and access information. Includes free online collections, subscriptions and some print collections.
Africa
- Middle East & African Newsstream (ProQuest)Middle East and African Newsstream offers full text access newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the region. Sources include The Jerusalem Post, the Gulf Daily News, Kuwait Times, Cape Times, and Yemen Times, among many others. It includes backfiles as far back as 1988.
- Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers"The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. "
Oceania
- Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)Access to leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Combines content from Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand, News Limited, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and APP newswires.
*20th Century Wars in the Press
- First World War: Personal Experiences This link opens in a new windowFocused on firsthand perspectives of the First World War, this collection includes a variety of materials representing personal experiences in multiple theaters of war. The collections include newspapers, clippings and trench papers including The Wipers Times.
See also...
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life"This digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete."
- America in World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts This link opens in a new windowMaterials covering American military and civilian involvement in all major theaters of operation and in multiple service branches including Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, Merchant Marines, Coast Guard, and medical personnel. Includes a number of newspaper clippings and some issues of newspapers.
- The Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973"The Observer was a weekly newspaper published by the Command Information Division of the U.S. Military Assistance Command’s Office of Information. It was the official organ of the Military Assistance Command, and it carried official news about and for American troops in Vietnam"
- Alternative and Underground Press CollectionFrom Popular Culture in Britain & America database. "Electronic reproduction of a collection of newspapers and periodicals published by the alternative and underground press in the United States and Britain during the 1960s and 1970s. The publications vary in their politics, audience and local interests, but they share a radical, anti-establishment or counterculture focus."