Skip to Main Content
     

POLS 103: Introduction to International Relations (Thomas)

Chicago Style

Basics of Chicago Style:

If you are unsure, check with your professor. Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes. 
Need more help? Use the resources listed in the Chicago Citation Help box below. 

Book with a single author

Footnote: Wally Carew, A Farewell to Glory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross (Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003), 10. 

Bibliography: Carew, Wally. A Farewell to Glory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross. Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003. 

Journal article from an online database

Footnote: James G. Hersberg, "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3 (2003): 24.

Bibliography: Hershberg, James G. "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3(2003): 23-48.

Published correspondence

Footnote: Grant to McPherson, 1 July 1863, in The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, ed. John Y. Simon (Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1979), 8:200. 

Bibliography: Grant, Ulysses S. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant to Gen. James B. McPherson, 1 July 1863. In The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, edited by John Y. Simon, vol. 8. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1979. 

Chicago Style Resources:

Writing Annotated Bibliographies:

Each annotation should analyze and evaluate, not just summarize, the resource you read.

 Annotations should reflect your own experience with a source – don’t rely on reviews or summaries. 

 Your annotations should address such areas as:

  1. Arguments (what is the author arguing? do they do it well?);
  2. Comparisons between this source and other sources you are annotating;
  3. The relevance or usefulness of each source for your topic, and/or
  4. Other information about the source that struck you as particularly notable or useful. 

Ideally, you should aim to cover at least a couple of these points and have ~150-200 words in each annotation. 

Make sure that your bibliography is in the correct style. This means that

  1. Your citations should follow the Chicago (or other style) standard for whatever type of source you are citing;
     
  2. Each entry should be correctly formatted: with any second line of the citation and your annotations indented, in alphabetical order, and either double- or single-spaced, depending on what your style calls for. 

See the handout below for more tips and a sample bibliography: