The Dinand2020 Report, prepared by a faculty committee chaired by Prof. Jennie Germann Molz, envisions Dinand Library as the “intellectual hub” of the community. They envision a “vibrant space for research and learning at every level” that balances “individual and collaborative work,” “information and expertise” and “physical and digital resources.” We have made some small steps toward creating the environment envisioned by the report, by reconfiguring existing space to create more flexible study spaces for students and creating spaces on the second floor for the Center for Teaching, the Center for Writing and Academic Services.
As we move to determine an appropriate mix of digital and physical resources, we recently expanded our JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections. The next step is to review the current print collection. The goal of this review is to determine if there are print materials that can be removed from the collection because faculty agree that they are either outdated, duplicative, or no longer necessary for the current curriculum. This will be a time-consuming process and will require significant faculty input.
To begin this project, we compared our collection, including titles in the Science Library, to two national databases (OCLC and HathiTrust) and created a database of this information with accompanying usage statistics. This work was performed by Sustainable Collections, a company that specializes in print collection analysis. We have used this database to create lists of “underutilized” titles that can be retrieved easily via Interlibrary Loan and/or are digitized in the HathiTrust Collection. These are books that have circulated less than two times in the last twenty-five years and have not circulated since 2003.
We know that there could be many reasons why a particular book might not circulate and many reasons why we would still want that book to remain available in the stacks. The next step in the project is to review all of the titles in these lists to determine which books are indeed outdated or duplicative and which books should remain in the stacks even if they do not circulate. Faculty input and expertise in this phase of the review is invaluable. I am requesting that you review these lists to identify titles that should not be removed. You can find the list and pertinent information here: http://tinyurl.com/of9v774
Note: there are two deadlines:
JSTOR titles by October 1, 2015
Monograph titles by December 1, 2015.
I thank you in advance for your input and assistance with this review. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.