Periodicals
Periodicals are regularly published magazines and newspapers. They can be daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or yearly.
EJournals
Use the EJournals finder to discover if we have access to a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper.
Step 1: Type in the title of the periodical that you are looking for.
Step 2: Verify the title to ensure that it is the correct periodical you are looking for. If a search box is present, you can use it to keyword search the periodical. You can also click the link for an individual database and search the periodical within that database. Note that each database might cover a different date range for the periodical.
Spanish Language Newspapers and Periodicals
Historical Newspaper Databases
- Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCollection of Spanish-language and bilingual (Spanish-English) newspapers printed in the U.S. from 1808-1980.
- Hermoteca DigitalHosted by Spain's Biblioteca Nacional, this collection contains 143 digitized Spanish-language newspapers and magazines. (1772 - 1933)
- Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa HistóricaDigital Library of Spanish-language newspapers and magazines, from the 18th - 21st century.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers"The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era."
- Arte Público Historical Collection Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1746-2006
Newspaper and magazine articles, and other primary sources, related to Hispanic history, literature and culture in the United States. Mostly in Spanish. - Arte Público Historical Collection Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1799-2006, but mainly 1895-1950
Magazine articles, books and other primary sources related to Hispanic civil rights, religion, and women writers in the United States. Mostly in Spanish.
Current newspapers written in Spanish :
- El País (Spain)Spanish-language daily newspaper from Spain. Access articles from April 19, 1996 - current via the NexisUni database.
- El Mundo (Spain)Spanish-language daily newspaper from Spain. Access articles from June 1, 2002 - present via our subscription in NexisUni.
- El Universal (Mexico)Spanish-language daily newspaper from Mexico. Access articles from November 29, 2007 - current via our subscription to NexisUni.
- La Nación (Argentina)Spanish-language newspaper from Argentina. Access articles from January 1, 2005 - present via our subscription in NexisUni.
- PressReader (Database from the Boston Public Library)Use this database to search 347 Spanish language periodicals from the past 3 months. Note: you will will need a Boston Public Library e-card to access this database.