LibGuides: SPAN 304: Aspects of Spanish American Culture (Franco): Home

Recommended databases for journal articles

JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes journals from the fields of Latin American Studies, History, and Language & Literature. You can access additional JSTOR content from the Boston Public Library by signing up for a BPL eCard.
To limit by language, go to Advanced Search and use the language drop-down menu to limit your search to the language of your choice.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, and news in almost every subject area.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
To limit by language, use Advanced Search and under "Limit your results", select a language from the list.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of sources about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Includes citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals from a range of areas, including the humanities and social sciences.
To limit by language, you can use the Language menu option to the left of your search results.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward. Includes journal articles, book citations, dissertations and theses. Allows for searching by time period.
To limit by language, use Advanced Search and under "Limit your results", select a language from the list.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly articles, periodicals, reference works and primary documents. Geographic coverage is global.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary databases. To limit by language, use Advanced Search and under "Limit your results", select a language from the list. Or, use the regular search option and then limit your results by language using the menu option to the right of your search results.

HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress

Search tips

Spend some time brainstorming keywords and search terms. Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.

EJournals

In addition to searching the research databases listed here, you may also want to try searching in specific subject specific journals. Search Holy Cross' EJournal list here.

EJournals at Holy Cross

Examples of journals: