LibGuides: SPAN 304: Aspects of Spanish American Culture (Franco): Databases with primary sources

Recommended resources for primary source material

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Documents about the transatlantic slave trade and abolition of slavery. Covers the US, Latin America, Caribbean, & other areas. Covers 16th Century-1888. Collections include Latin American Manuscripts and Caribbean Documents Collection, 1699–1959. Use Advanced Search to limit by language
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Provides access to digital copies of manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images related to slavery and abolition. Coverage begins with 1490 and continues through to the 21st century. Use Advanced Search to limit by region of the world, such as Caribbean, South America, or North America.
Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of Spanish-language and bilingual (Spanish-English) newspapers printed in the U.S. from 1808-1980.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Features a wide variety of original documents pertaining to empire building in the modern ear, primarily the British Empire. Geographic coverage includes the Americas.

World Digital Library
Digitized primary sources from all over the world. "The WDL was developed by a team at the U.S. Library of Congress, with contributions by partner institutions in many countries; the support of the United Nations Education, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO); and the financial support of a number of companies and private foundations."

EEBO: Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Also includes works in other languages. Use the Advanced Search option to limit by language.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Use the Advanced Search option to limit by language.