SOCL 281: Sociology of Travel & Tourism (Germann Molz): Journal articles

Spend some time brainstorming keywords and search terms.

Try using subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms. Take a look at this article. How could you use the Subject Terms in this article to find more sources on a topic?

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources. Let's look at the article Mostafanezhad, M. 2013. ‘The Geography of Compassion in Volunteer Tourism’, Tourism Geographies, 15(2): 318-337. Mostafanezhad cites the following the source:

Wearing, S. & McDonald, M. (2002) The development of community-based tourism: Re-thinking the relationship between tour operators and development agents as intermediaries in rural and isolated area communities, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, 10(3), pp. 191–206.

Does HC have this article? Follow the steps in the "Find Full-Text Articles" box below.

Who has cited a source since it was published? Looking at these forward citations can be a great way to find more sources on your topic. Try searching for article on Google Scholar. If you find the article, you'll see a "Cited by" link under the article citation, click on this to find "forward citations."

Remember to carefully any sources you find in Google Scholar. Some sources may not have been cited very many times, especially if they were published recently.

Do you have an article citation, but need to find the full-text article? Three Steps to Finding the Full Text Article:

1. Check the Electronic Journals A-Z List  by searching for the name of the Journal name (not the article title) in the "Find" box. If the journal comes up in your results, look at the years of coverage to make sure that the library has the year you are looking for. If yes, click on the link for the journal and then scroll to the volume you need or search within the journal for the article.

2. If you aren't able to find the journal in the Electronic Journal list, check the Catalog to find the journal in print by searching for the name of the journal (not the article title).  If the journal comes up in your results, look at the years of coverage to make sure that the library has the year you are looking for. If yes, copy down the call number so that you'll be able to locate the journal in the stacks.

3. If you can't get the article in print or online, order the article throughInterLibrary Loan.

How do scholarly journals differ from popular (non-scholarly) publications? Check out this chart for the basic differences.

Check out the library's e-journals list to search for articles in specific journals. The library has a number of number of journals focused on travel and tourism. For example:

• Tourist Studies
• Annals of Tourism Research
• Tourism Geographies
• Journal of Tourism and Cultural Change
• Tourism Management
• AMBIO: A Journal of the Human Environment 
• Journal of Sustainable Tourism
• Journal of Transport Geography
• Food Culture & Society
• Journal for Cultural Research
• Third World Quarterly
• Hospitality & Society
• Scandinavian Journal of Hospitality and Society
• Polar Record

Google Scholar is a great tool for doing a broad search of scholarly literature on your topic:

• Google Scholar searches across many disciplines. 
• Your search results will include a broad range of sources, including journal articles, conference papers, theses, dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, & abstracts. 
• Results come from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities & other web sites. 

You'll just want to keep some things in mind:

• Coverage is not comprehensive. Many sourcess are hidden in publishers' databases and journals that Google can't search, so you'll want to look at other databases as well. 
• Search results can include links to things like high school term papers, so you'll want to evaluate what you find. 

You can access advanced search features by clicking the arrow in the right of the search box. These features allow you to refine your search.

Look for the words Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross next to an article. You should be able to access any of these articles through the library's subscriptions. If you come across a source that Holy Cross does not have access to, remember that you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

When you are on campus, Google Scholar will automatically show you those Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross links next to articles that Holy Cross has access to. If you are off-campus, you can set your Scholar Settings to show the links for accessing sources through Holy Cross. You can modify your settings by selecting the Settings link in the upper-right corner of Google Scholar webpage.

Click on the Cited by and Related articles links at the bottom of a search result to find relevant articles & books.