ANTH 256: The Imagined Body (Rodgers): Journal Articles

Spend some time brainstorming keywords and search terms.

Try using subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.

Do you have an article citation, but need to find the full-text article?

Three Steps to Finding the Full Text Article...

1. Check the Holy Cross Libraries' Catalog to find the journal in print or in electronic format by searching in the TITLE field for the name of the JOURNAL (not the article name): HC Catalog

2. If the catalog does not produce positive results, check the Electronic Journals A-Z List  by searching for the Journal name (not the article name) in the "Find" box.

3. If the Electronic Journals A-Z list does not produce positive results, order the article through InterLibrary Loan.

AnthroSource (Full Text: coverage varies)
Indexes the American Anthropological Association's publications and provides many full-text links to the library’s JSTOR collection

Academic Search Premier (Full Text: coverage varies)
A multidisciplinary database that offers indexing and abstracts for 7,100 publications. 

ProQuest Central 
A great multidisciplinary database. You can also limit your search to ProQuest Social Science Journals

JSTOR (Full Text: coverage varies)
An archive of scholarly journal articles from a variety of subject areas. Try using Advanced Search so that you can limit your search to specific academic disciplines, such as Anthropology, Sociology, Feminist & Women's Studies, or an area study.

Project Muse (Full Text: coverage varies)
Provides full-text journal articles from a variety of subject areas

SocIndex (Full Text; coverage varies)
Indexes more than 1,986,000 records in the field of sociology

Expanded Academic ASAP (Full Text: 1980-present)
An interdisciplinary index to journals and national news magazines

Check out the library's e-journals list to search for articles in specific journals. For example:

• American Ethnologist  
• American Anthropologist
• Signs "Recognized as the leading international journal in women's studies"
• Fashion Theory: The Journal of Dress, Body & Culture

Google Scholar is a great tool for doing a broad search of scholarly literature on your topic:

• Google Scholar searches across many disciplines. 
• Your search results will include a broad range of sources, including journal articles, conference papers, theses, dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, & abstracts. 
• Results come from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities & other web sites. 

You'll just want to keep some things in mind:

• Coverage is not comprehensive. Many sourcess are hidden in publishers' databases and journals that Google can't search, so you'll want to look at other databases as well. 
• Search results can include links to things like high school term papers, so you'll want to evaluate what you find. 

You can access advanced search features by clicking the arrow in the right of the search box. These features allow you to refine your search.

Look for the words Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross next to an article. You should be able to access any of these articles through the library's subscriptions. If you come across a source that Holy Cross does not have access to, remember that you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

When you are on campus, Google Scholar will automatically show you those Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross links next to articles that Holy Cross has access to. If you are off-campus, you can set your Scholar Settings to show the links for accessing sources through Holy Cross. You can modify your settings by selecting the Settings link in the upper-right corner of Google Scholar webpage.

Click on the Cited by and Related articles links at the bottom of a search result to find relevant articles & books.