Contact Us
|
Music and Arts Librarian
Artstor
The Artstor Digital Library is a subscription image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
Access provided by Holy Cross.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Now part of JSTOR. Library of images relating to art and architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
General Collections
- Creative Commons Image SearchSearch for Creative Commons licensed media from sources such as Flickr, Google Images, Wikipedia Commons, and more.
- VADS (Visual Arts Data Service, UK)Over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections in the UK, free for use in education.
- Flickr CommonsCollection of historical photography from over 100 cultural institutions from all around the world, all with no known copyright restrictions.
- LUNA CommonsThe LUNA Commons showcases public collections from a wide variety of sources, promoting shared resources.
- WorldImagesThe California State University IMAGE Project contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage, and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Free to use for non-profit educational purposes (CC BY-NC 2.5) - Art Images for College TeachingAICT is a royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community. All images are in the Public Domain.
- PIXNIOPublic Domain images and free stock photos
- TinEye's Multicolr SearchSearches CC images on Flickr by color
Museum and Institutional Collections
- Center for Creative PhotographyImages from the Center's collection of over 100,000 art objects. All images under copyright.
- Digital Commonwealth (Mass.)Provides access to photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made available by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies from across Massachusetts.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaA single search interface to millions of digitized documents and images from U.S. libraries, archives, and museums.
- EuropeanaA single search point for the digital collections of over 4,000 European cultural institutions.
- George Eastman MuseumMore than a quarter of a million objects from the photography, technology, and George Eastman Legacy collections are available.
- Getty Search GatewayAllows users to search across several of the Getty Museum and Institute collections.
- National Gallery of Art (USA)Over 50,000 images from the NGA in the Public Domain.
Architecture
- American Landscape and Architectural Design 1850-1920A collection of approximately 2,800 lantern slides representing an historical view of American buildings and landscapes built during the period 1850-1920.
- Built in AmericaThe Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) and Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress, and part of American Memory.
- Catena: Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & LandscapesA searchable collection of historic and contemporary images that include plans, engravings, paintings, and photographs of historic gardens and landscapes.
- Google Street ArtNearly 10,000 images from around the world.
- Great Buildings CollectionImages, architectural drawings, 3D building models, commentaries, and bibliographies of a thousand buildings selected over ten years by the editors of ArchitectureWeek.
- StructuraeInternational database and gallery of structures, with over 150,000 images of 60,000 structures.
Science and Medicine
- Biodiversity Heritage Library (on Flickr)Over 300,000 free nature images from the BHL collection
- CalPhotosHosted by UC Berkley's Natural History Museums. A collection of photos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world. Usage guidelines vary.
- Government Resources for Science ImagesA guide to the vast image collections created by U.S. government departments and agencies.
- Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)Images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
- Mass Department of Environmental Protection Image CollectionsImages of the Mass EPA sites, facilities, and federal stimulus funded projects
- NASA Image and Video LibraryPublic access to NASA's image, video, and audio collections in a single, searchable resource.
- New York Academy of Medicine LibraryThe Library's Digital Collections and Exhibits provides access to the historical collection on the history of medicine and public health.
- Open-i: Biomedical ImagesOpen-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Photographs and illustrations from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Wellcome ImagesImages from the Wellcome Collection, themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.