Article Citations Online
Being able to follow a citation is crucial for research! If you have a citation, you can use those skills to track down the full-text of the article directly using the E-Journals search.
All of the information that you need to track down an article is located in its citation -- like this one below! Note that the | is not part of the citation -- these symbols mark where each component of the citation begins and ends.
| Carpenter, Daniel P., Kevin M. Esterling and David M.J. Lazer. |"Friends, Brokers and Transitivity: Who Informs |
| Author Title of Article |
|
Whom in Washington Politics?" | Journal of Politics | 66 | no. 1 | (2004):| 224-246. | |
|
Journal Vol. Issue Date Pages |
|
doi: 10.1046/j.1468-2508.2004.00149.x |
|
DOI, stable URL or database |
Instructions for using the E-Journals search to find articles
If the journal isn't available online...
1 - Check the catalog to see if Holy Cross has the journal in print -- if so, we send you a scan through Document Delivery:
2 - Use WorldCat to check whether the journal is owned by other libraries in DC (don't forget to check dates!)
Accessing Materials: Document Delivery & Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery
- InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch this video
for more information and a complete walkthrough.
- Document Delivery is a service that allows you to request a scan of materials owned by the Holy Cross Libraries. To find books or journals for Document Delivery, search the databases, Google Scholar, etc. as normal. Document Delivery requests follow the same process as Interlibrary Loan requests.
Books
Requesting Books from Dinand Library:
When no electronic options are available, you may request for books owned by the Libraries to be mailed to you via Document Delivery. We will send books via Priority Mail with tracking, and you are not required to mail books back.
We will not mail Interlibrary Loan books or other items -- we will only mail items that belong to the Holy Cross Libraries (including the Worcester Art Museum Library).
Locating Books in DC:
To see if a particular book is available at a library near you, use the WorldCat database to search for the item you are interested in:
- FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
An advanced version of WorldCat, with the ability to search by specific libraries. A world-wide catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, and other sources available in libraries worldwide. Includes direct links to request items on Interlibrary Loan.
Make sure your zip code is set to Washington/Arlington and not to your home address. Then, click to view the full list of libraries where the item is available, including local public libraries.
Note: It is always a good idea to check the local library's catalog as well as their access policies, before making a trip to check out a specific item. WorldCat will tell you if a library owns the book you are looking for, but it will not tell you if that book is already checked out.
Requesting Books on Interlibrary Loan:
Articles:
Requesting Articles via Database:
If you have found an article you would like to request in the article databases and no electronic access is available, you can use the 
button to request an article on Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery.
Click the button. When the pop-up box opens, choose
Log-in using your Google username and password.
You should be brought automatically to the Article Request form. The database will fill out most information for you. Check to make sure the information entered is accurate (to help us find your article sooner!). A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the chapter, if possible (author, article and journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email.
Requesting Other Articles:
If you have found an article you would like to request by means other than the article databases, log into the Interlibrary Loan system....
Log-in using your Google username and password.
Once you have logged in, choose "Article" under the appropriate menu:
Then, fill out the request form. A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the article (author, article and journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email.
Book Chapters:
Requesting Book Chapters:
To request a book chapter on Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery, log into the Interlibrary Loan system....
Log-in using your Google username and password.
Once you have logged in, choose "Book Chapter" under the appropriate menu:
Then, fill out the request form. A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the chapter, if possible (chapter and book author, chapter and book title, date of publication, publisher, and, ideally, page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email.
Troubleshooting Access Off-Campus
Using Links Off-Campus:
Anything that you can access electronically at Holy Cross, you can access from DC! Here are some things you should know about how this works:
- When accessing JOURNALS OR DATABASES (like JSTOR), it is important that you go through the links on the library’s website. If you go to www.jstor.com while working off-campus, JSTOR will not recognize you as a Holy Cross subscriber. Using the links on the library’s website will ensure that you are properly recognized and logged in.
-
When working off-campus, any link to a library resource should begin with the PROXY PREFIX: https://holycross.idm.oclc.org/login?auth=cas&url=. This is what prompts the database to show you the CAS login screen and verify that you are a Holy Cross user. If you have a link that does not begin with this prefix, you can often fix the link yourself by copy-pasting this prefix on the front of the link. Note that the links auto-generated by many databases do not include this prefix by default; you will have to add it manually.
- When SAVING LINKS for later access, make sure that you are using a permalink generated by the database or search tool. We would caution you against simply leaving tabs open, bookmarking, or copying the link from your address bar. These links often have code in them related to whatever search you have been doing and/or when you were searching, which will expire, causing the link to break.
Instructions for finding and using permalinks
Troubleshooting:
Here are some of the most common problems that you may encounter when accessing links from off-campus, and what they mean.
In general, many technical problems can be solved by clearing your browser cache.
Are You Hitting a Strange Log-in?
When accessing items from off-campus, the only log-in screen that you should ever see is the Google login screen, which uses your Holy Cross Google username/password (i.e., what you use for your email).
Some users are encountering an EBSCO or OCLC login. If these appear, it usually means that there is something wrong with the link that you are using. Check that the link has the proxy prefix (more information below) and does not have any extra punctuation (i.e., a period at the end of some links will prevent them from working). If you are still hitting the OCLC or EBSCO login, please get in touch! You will not be able to login to the OCLC or EBSCO login screens.
Is Your Proxy Prefix Missing?
When working off-campus, any link to a library resource should begin with:
https://holycross.idm.oclc.org/login?auth=cas&url=.
This is what prompts the database to show you the CAS login screen and verify that you are a Holy Cross user. If you have a link that does not begin with this prefix, you can often fix the link yourself by copy-pasting this prefix on the front of the link.
If that doesn't work, please get in touch with us (chat or libref@holycross.edu) and we'll be happy to get you the correct link.
Note that the links auto-generated by many databases (Gale and ProQuest among them) do not include this prefix by default; you will have to add it manually.
Are You Still Logged In?
In library databases or journal pages, if you are properly logged-in, you should see a message with wording similar to “Access provided by College of the Holy Cross,” usually near the top of the page. If you see a message prompting you to log-in to your library’s subscription, are asked to pay for access to articles -- or, in CrossSearch, if you see a yellow bar at the top welcoming you as a Guest -- you may need to log-in again. You can do this by starting a new CrossSearch search, or by opening a database from the library website. Then, refresh the tabs you have open and your log-in and access should be renewed.
If you are experiencing technical problems, please reach out to us! Not only do we want to fix your access as soon as possible, but you may have encountered a problem that will affect others, too!
The best way to contact us for tech problems is to e-mail Helpdesk-request@holycross.edu, and mention that it is a library related issue. If you can, CC libref@holycross.edu, which will help us respond to you more quickly! You can also use the library chat if you need a more immediate response.
Google Scholar Settings:
While on campus, Google Scholar will recognize that you are at Holy Cross and connect you to articles accordingly. To make this happen while using Google Scholar at home, you need to update your Scholar Settings. See the document linked below for detailed instructions with screenshots.
Instructions for customizing your Google Scholar settings
In brief:
1. Go to Settings > Library links
2. Type College of the Holy Cross into the search box
3. Check College of the Holy Cross - Full Text Finder Results.
This will trigger HC links to display on the right side of your results page.
VPN:
You may also wish to connect to the College’s VPN (virtual private network). Using the VPN lets you establish a secure connection; access on-campus resources such as software and network drives; and use library resources without a log-in, as you would on-campus.
See the ITS documentation for the PaloVPN portal for more information and instructions on setting up VPN access. For questions about the VPN or troubleshooting, visit the ITS guide to Student Technology or contact ITS at Helpdesk-request@holycross.edu