Historical News Sources
Holy Cross has a number of databases which provide access to primary source material. Databases which may be helpful for this class are listed below. You will want to pay attention to the date and geographic coverage for these databases to determine which ones will be most likely to provide sources for the topic you are researching.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters and magazines about the history of the United States and Canada, 1450-present.
- American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new windowIncludes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. add C19. Example article from The North American Review "Morality in college athletics" (1895).
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1851-2020
Articles from the New York Times, including all pictures and advertisements. - Boston Globe Historical This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1872-1992
Articles from theBoston Globe including all pictures and advertisements. - C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. For guidance on searching this database, please see this guide.
Historical Material from the Boston Public Library With a BPL eCard, you can search:
Historical Material from the Worcester Public Library
- Newpapers The Library has a number of newspapers on microfilm, includingWorcester Daily Spy (1845-1904), Worcester Evening Gazette (1866-1989),Worcester Evening Post (1897-1938), Worcester Telegram (1886-1989). Complete list.
Publications on Microfilm at Holy Cross
- Dinand has a number of magazines on microfilm. For example: Crisis, Ebony, Essence, Off Our Backs(Women's Liberation Collective), Rolling Stone, Jet, the New Yorker, Sports Woman, USA Today, and US News & World Report, and Women Sports. Check out the whole collection in the Debate Room on the 2nd floor of Dinand. A librarian can provide assistance with using the microfilm reader.
Additional Digitized Newspapers
Many individual newspapers have digitized their archives and made them available online. Check out this guide from the University of Pennsylvania for a list of historical newspapers available online and this guide from Marist College for a list of digitized African American newspapers. Both lists include college newspapers.
Resources for news from more recent history (approximately 1980-Present)
- New York Times Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1980-present
Text-only articles from the New York Times. **Blogs are not included.** - ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and international news sources, including major titles like the Boston Globe, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, and LA Times.
- Women's Sports (1979-1984)In print at Dinand, call number GV709 +W6
- Women's Sports and Fitness(1984-1993)In print at Dinand, call number GV709 +W6
Holy Cross Sports
The Archives & Special Collections is in the process of making the Crusader and the Tomahawk, the student newspaper that preceded the Crusader, available online. These issues aren't searchable, but an Archivist can use finding aids to help you locate additional materials about individuals, groups, or events. The collection holds archives files on all sports, as well as alumni records, audiovisual material on some games (mostly basketball and football) and has scrapbooks for some of the earlier sports (for example, sports from the 1930s).
The Holy Cross Archives are located on the 3rd floor of Dinand and are open Monday-Friday 8:30AM-12PM & 1PM-4:30PM. The collections include records of college administrators, staff, faculty, student organizations, athletics and alumni. The Archives also contain complete runs of all college publications, an extensive photograph collection, and audio-visual material documenting theatrical plays, lectures, and sporting and other events.
Search the digital repository CrossWorks for digitized copies of the Purple Patcher, the yearbook of College of the Holy Cross.
Videos
1903 film of Yale-Princeton football game and Michican-Chicago football games from the Library of Congress
20 years of news footage and anchor scripts from WSLS-TV, a local station in Roanoke, Va Includes college sports coverage. From UVA libraries
You can find many primary sources freely available online. For example:
- Google Books Advanced SearchLimit content to Magazines. To limit only to freely available content, select “Full view only” for Search. You can also limit to a specific date range. Includes LIFE magazine (1936-72). (Check off the "Search all issues" box under the search box to search across all issues of LIFE magazine.)
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1777-1963
Historic newspapers from all different U.S. states, hosted by the Library of Congress.
