How to: Locate Non-English Resources

Understanding Library Call Numbers

The books at Holy Cross libraries are organized by a system called Library of Congress Classification. Each book has an alphanumeric call number that tells you where in the library it is housed. Watch this video tutorial to learn more about how to locate books using a library call number. 

Search CrossSearch by Language

The best way to find books (and e-books) in languages other than English, is to search for them. 

Option 1: Create an Advanced Search

1. Open the Advanced Search screen.

2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal. 

3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list: 

Option 2: Narrow an Existing Search

1. Search by keyword as you normally would. 

Search tip: Try searching for terms about your topic in the target language. For example, if you are looking for books about war written in French, try searching for the French word for war, guerre. If you are not sure of the correct keywords in your target language, check the Language Resources offered on the side of this page. 

2.  On the results screen, first limit your search to books, e-books, and similar items by choosing Catalog Only: 

3. At the bottom of the section, click to expand More Limits: 

4.  Scroll down until you find the options for limiting your search by Language. By default, you will only see the 6 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click See More to view other available languages.

If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search. 

5.  Check the box next to your target language to narrow your search. 

Search WorldCat by Language

You can also look for and borrow books from other libraries by searching the WorldCat database. This database is a catalog of books owned by libraries all over the world that we can have delivered to Holy Cross for your use. See below for instructions.

Option 1: Create an Advanced Search

1. Open the Advanced Search menu.

2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal. 

3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list: 

Option 2: Filter an Existing Search 

1. Search by keyword as you normally would. 

Search tip: Try searching for terms about your topic in the target language. For example, if you are looking for books about war written in French, try searching for the French word for war, guerre. If you are not sure of the correct keywords in your target language, check the Language Resources offered on the side of this page. 

2.  On the results screen, first limit your search to books by using the Format options on the side menu: 

3. Continue to the next section, labeled Refine Your Search.

4.  Scroll down until you find the options for limiting your search by Language. By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click See More to view other available languages.

If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search. 

5.  Click on your target language to narrow your search.

Inter Library Loan Services

When you locate a book through the worldcat catalog, you will need to request it through a system called interlibrary loan. Watch this video to understand more about how this system works and how you can place a request. 

JSTOR

JSTOR is a database we subscribe to that contains articles, images, and primary sources on a variety of topics in the humanities and sciences. See below for instructions on how to filter searches by language. 

1.  Open the Advanced Search menu. 

2. Enter your keywords as normal. 

3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language from the dropdown menu. 

CrossSearch & EBSCO databases

CrossSearch is our main discovery tool here at Holy Cross. It pulls search results from nearly all of the databses we subscribe to, as well as our library catalog and the WorldCat catalog. EBSCO is the name of many different subject specific databases we have access to here at holy cross. EBSCO and CrossSearch are visually very similar, so the instructions are the same. 

There are two ways to search by language in CrossSearch and EBSCO databases. 

Option 1: Use the Advanced Search

1. The Advanced Search screen is the default landing screen for most of our EBSCO databases. You can access the Advanced Search for CrossSearch at this link.

2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal. 

3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list: 

Option 2: Filter an Existing Search 

1. Enter your keywords as normal.  

2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language.  By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click More > to view other available languages.

If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search. 

3.  Click the checkbox next to your target language(s) to narrow your search.

ProQuest Databases

There are two ways to search by language in ProQuest databases. 

Note: In ProQuest databases, any items available as an HTML full-text can be translated. Once you have opened the article, just click under Full Text to expand the translation menu. 

Option 1: Create an Advanced Search

1.  Open the Advanced Search menu. 

2. Enter your keywords as normal. 

3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list: 

Option 2: Filter an Existing Search 

1. Enter your keywords as normal.  

2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language.  By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click More > to view other available languages.

If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search. 

3.  Click on your target language to narrow your search.

Project MUSE

There are two ways to search by language in Project MUSE:

Option 1: Create an  Advanced Search

1.  Open the Advanced Search menu. 

2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal. 

3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list: 

Option 2: Filter an Existing Search 

1. Enter your keywords as normal.  

2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language.  

If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search. 

3.  Click the checkbox next to your target language(s) to narrow your search.

PubMed

There are two ways to search by language in PubMed: 

Option 1: Filter an Existing Search 

1. Enter your keywords as normal.  

2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the button for Additional filters: 

3. In the pop-up menu, navigate to the Language section. Choose the languages you would like to include in your search, then choose Show. Your selected languages will now show up as filters on your search. 
 

4.  Now, check off the language(s) you would like to apply to your search, to narrow your search. 

If no results appear, you may need to revise your search. 

Option 2: Create an Advanced Search 

1.  Open the Advanced Search menu. 

2. From the Field drop-down, choose Language.

3. Enter your target language n the search box. Hit Add to include in your search. 

4. Repeat Step 3 as needed to include all possible languages, making sure to add additional languages with OR rather than AND. 

5. Add your search terms as usual, using the appropriate fields. When your search is ready, hit Search. 

NexisUni

1.  Enter your search as normal. 

2. Enter your keywords as normal. 

3. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language.  

By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click More to view other available languages.

To select more than one target language, click Select multiple, and then choose your preferred languages from the list. 

4.  Click on your target language to narrow your search.

Google Scholar

1.  Open the Settings menu. 

2. On the Scholar Settings page, there will be a menu on the left where you can select Languages

3. Then on the next page, you can check off the desired language under "Search only for pages written in these language(s)".

Periodicals in Print
 

  Partial list of non-English periodicals in print

Finding Periodicals in the Library

In Dinand Library... 

• Current issues of newspapers are shelved in the Main Reading Room, on the bookcase in the center of the room. These are organized alphabetically. 
   
• Selected current issues of magazines and journals are shelved in the Main Reading Room, on the left side of the room (opposite the printers). These are organized alphabetically. 
   
• Current issues of magazines and journals in the areas of Visual Arts, Art History and Photography are shelved in the Visual Arts Wing, just inside the doorway to the N call number area (the room with the fireplace). These are organized by call number. 
   
• Other current issues of magazines and journals, as well as back-issues, are shelved in the library stacks in the appropriate subject areas. Some issues are loose, and others are bound into annual volumes. These are organized by call number.  
   

In the Music Library...

• Current issues of magazines and journals are shelved in the periodicals area (near the arm chairs). These are organized alphabetically. 
   
• Back-issues of magazines and journals are shelved in the library stacks in the appropriate subject areas. These are organized by call number and are mainly found in the ML1 and ML5 call number areas. 

In the Science Library...

• Current issues of magazines and journals are shelved near the library entrance. These are organized alphabetically. 
   
• Back-issues of magazines and journals are located in the back area of the library, behind the work room. Some issues are loose, and others are bound into annual volumes. These are organized alphabetically. 

Periodicals Online

All newspapers, magazines, journals available online through the Libraries can be searched in our E-Journals finder: 

You can also look for periodicals by database. Below is a list of useful databases for finding popular periodicals in languages other than English: