Catholic Periodical & Literature Index
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Absorbed by Atla Religion. Browse older articles online at Villanova University, or browse the print index in the Dinand Main Reading Room.
The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI)Call Number: AI3 .C3Publication Date: 1968-Dinand Stacks (1933-2004 only). Previously published as The Catholic Periodical Index and The Guide to Catholic Literature [BX800 .G9]. An annual, annotated, author-title-subject bibliography covering many Catholic sources including the Acta Apostolica Sedis, L'Osservatore Romano, and Origins, as well as several Catholic newspapers.
- Digitized Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (Villanova University)An on-going project to digitize the print volumes of the The Guide to Catholic Literature, Catholic Periodical Index,, and Catholic Periodical & Literature Index . Current coverage: Guide to Catholic Literature, 1940-1967; Catholic Periodical Index, 1930-1943.
Other Primary Source Resources
L'Osservatore Romano [English Edition]Call Number: MICROFILM (Debate Room)Publication Date: 1970-The English edition of L’Osservatore Romano is published weekly. Available on microfilm 1970-1998, 2010-present (with some missing issues).
OriginsCall Number: BX801 +O69Publication Date: 1971-Dinand Stacks Oversize and Rehm Library. Published by the Catholic News Service, Origins is a weekly English language periodical dating back to 1971. It includes English translations of significant Vatican documents.- Talks of the PopeCall Number: Stacks Oversize BX1378.3 +T14 v.9-24Continues Talks of Pope Paul VI and is continued by Talks of Pope John Paul II
In addition to published compilations of papal letters and other Church documents, some libraries and archives maintain clippings of primary sources from newspapers, pamphlets, and other sources not traditionally published in book format. Dinand has a handful of such clipping collections pertaining to the popes in its collection, which are listed below. Note that not all of our clipping collections have a record in the catalog.
Pamphlets on the PopesCall Number: Oversize BX960 +A1"Miscellaneous: Newspaper clippings, messages, letters, etc."- Newspaper clippings : speeches, messages, biographical detail, etc., by and about Pope Pius XIICall Number: Oversize BX1378 +A1
- Pamphlets on John Paul XXIIICall Number: Oversize BX1378.2 +I
- Pope Paul VI, journey to America. Newspaper clippings.Call Number: Oversize BX1378.3 +1
Below are listed selected databases that may be helpful for historical Church research.
For our complete list of primary source databases, click here.
- American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1740-1940
Historic magazine and journal articles, including professional, childrens' and womens' magazines. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1701-1800
British and American primary sources from the 18th century. - Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1789-1914
British and American primary sources from the "long" 19th century. - Religion and the Law This link opens in a new window
Books, journal articles, and other resources on the relationship between various world religions, religious law, and systems of government.
- U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 (Archives Unbound)"This publication provides a wealth of unique correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews."