RELS 118: New Testament (Johnson Hodge): Citation Resources

Citing in Chicago (Notes-Bibliography) Style: 
Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes. 
 

Book with a single editor

Footnote: Martin J. Buss, ed., Encounter with the Text: Form and History in the Hebrew Bible (Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1979), 10. 

Bibliography: Buss, Martin J., ed. Encounter with the Text: Form and History in the Hebrew Bible. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1979. 

Book with an author, editor and a translator

Footnote: Hans Conzelmann, 1 Corinthians: A Commentary on the First Epistle to the Corinthians, ed. George W. MacRae, trans. James W. Leitch (Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1975), 15. 

Bibliography: Conzelmann, Hans. 1 Corinthians: A Commentary on the First Epistle to the Corinthians. Edited by George W. MacRae. Translasted by James W. Leitch. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1975. 

E-Book with a single editor 

Footnote: Daniel Durken, ed., New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament (Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 2015), 5, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4658991.

Bibliography: Durken, Daniel, ed. New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 2015. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4658991.

E-Book chapter with a chapter author and general editor 

Footnote:Irene Nowell, "The Book of Tobit," in New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament, ed. Daniel Durken (Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 2015), 581, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/reader.action?docID=4658991&ppg=580. 

Bibliography: Nowell, Irene. "The Book of Tobit." In New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament, edited by Daniel Durken, 581-595. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 2015. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/reader.action?docID=4658991&ppg=580. 

Journal article from an online database

Footnote: James W. Barker, "Ancient Compositional Practices and the Gospels; A Reassessment." Journal of Biblical Literature 135, no. 1 (2016): 115, Academic Search Premier.

Bibliography: Barker, James W. "Ancient Compositional Practices and the Gospels: A Reassessment." Journal of Biblical Literature 135, no. 1 (2016): 109-121. Academic Search Premier.