LibGuides: ENGL 401: Nineteenth-Century American Activist Rhetoric (Bizzell): Books & Other Print Resources

Books and reference in Dinand

Sojourner Truth by Nell Irvin Painter
ISBN: 0393027392
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Lucretia Mott's Heresy by Carol Faulkner
ISBN: 9780812243215
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
The Political Thought of Elizabeth Cady Stanton by Sue Davis
ISBN: 9780814719985
Publication Date: 2008-04-01

Increasingly, our reference books are available online. Below are listed some of the library's most useful sources for online reference books:

OED: Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Considered the authoritative dictionary of the English language.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books on all subjects, published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Reference Books: Literature This link opens in a new window
Literature encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books, published by Oxford University Press. Some books limited to 5 users at one time. Please close the website when you are done.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias across many subject areas.

WorldCat is union catalog containing millions of records from thousands of libraries worldwide. It is an excellent starting point for finding resources for request through Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A world-wide catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, and other sources available in libraries worldwide. Includes direct links to request items on Interlibrary Loan.

If you need to access a book that Holy Cross does not own, search for the title in WorldCat and look for the list of libraries that own your book.

ARC

If a library at another Worcester-area college, or the Worcester Public Library, has a book that you need, you can go to that library and check out the book in person. You'll just need to stop by the circulation desk in Dinand to pick up an ARC card, then present your ARC card and Holy Cross ID to staff at the other library. Click here for a list of libraries that you can use with your ARC card. Check their local catalog -- or call ahead -- before you go to make sure that the book isn't already checked out!

Interlibrary Loan

If the book you need is not available at another Worcester college (or if you don't have the means to get to one!), you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request to have the book sent here. Interlibrary Loan is a service provided by the libraries and won't cost you anything. On very rare occasions (for example, if a book is being sent from overseas), there might be a charge for Interlibrary Loan, but we will waive these charges for you anyway as Honors students!

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg is a free, online resources which is a great tool for searching the full-text of many long novels. It is one of the longest-running sites for free eBooks and now includes close to 7,000 books, all in the public domain (that is, published before 1923 and thus no longer in copyright). All Project Gutenberg books are free to view and download. Each book may be available in a number of different formats ranging from text files to PDFs and Kindle books (EPUB).

Project Gutenberg

OpenLibrary

A repository of digitized books drawn from the Internet Archive.

OpenLibrary

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a repository of digitized books drawn from major research libraries in the United States. The library contains millions of books of all different dates and subjects. Certain parts of the collection are restricted, but many books are free online.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a repository of digitized books drawn from major research libraries in the United States. The library contains millions of books of all different dates and subjects. Certain parts of the collection are restricted, but many books are free online.

Google Books

Like Project Gutenberg, Google Book Search allows you to search the full text of many public domain works. Use the Advanced Search to limit by different criteria, such as author.