With RefWorks, you can import references from Holy Cross databases to create your own personal list of references and bibliographies for your papers.
Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which uses footnotes for in-text citation.
Book with a single author or editor
First footnote:
Author Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Publisher, Date), page.
Amy D. Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America (Temple University Press, 2020), 10.
Second footnote:
Author Lastname, Abbreviated Title of Book, page.
Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft, 10.
Bibliography:
Author Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Publisher, Date.
Finstein, Amy D. Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America. Temple University Press, 2020.
Journal article from an online database
First footnote:
Author Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Journal Title volume, no. issue (date): page, DOI link or URL or database.
Chanelle Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada," Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 10, https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Second footnote:
Author Lastname, "Abbreviated Title of Article," page.
Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach,'" 10.
Bibliography:
Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article," Journal Title volume, no. issue (date): pages. DOI link or URL or database.
Robinson, Chanelle. "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada." Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 9-24. https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Online newspaper/magazine article
First footnote:
Author Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Newspaper, Month Day, Year, URL or database.
Edward T. O'Donnell, "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group," Washington Post, March 17, 2019, ProQuest Central.
Second footnote:
Author Lastname, "Abbreviated Title of Article."
O'Donnell, "Irish Immigrants."
Bibliography:
Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Newspaper, month day, year. URL or database.
O'Donnell, Edward T. "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group." Washington Post, March 17, 2019. ProQuest Central.
Page from a website
First footnote:
"Page title," page creator, accessed month day, year, URL.
"Classics," College of the Holy Cross, accessed August 19, 2024, https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
Second footnote:
"Page title."
"Classics."
Bibliography:
Page creator. "Page title." Accessed month day, year. URL.
College of the Holy Cross. "Classics." Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
Chat with a generative AI tool
*Use this format to cite a specific chat with a Generative AI tool. The prompt may be included or summarized in either the body of your writing, or in the footnote (as in example #2 below).
First footnote:
Description and/or prompt followed by AI model, AI Company, Month Day Year of Chat, URL.
1. Recipe generated by Chat GPT, OpenAI, September 25, 2025, https://chatgpt.com/share/68d55965-a224-8003-a448-a9fd8b51e153.
2. Response to "Can you provide me a list of English-language Bible translations, in order by publication date," ChatGPT, OpenAI, September 25, 2025. https://chatgpt.com/share/68d55817-c87c-8003-8ca6-693daca01fdb.
Bibliography:
AI Company. Description and/or prompt. AI Model, Month Day Year of Chat. URL.
OpenAI. Recipe for Pompeiian Bread. ChatGPT, September 25, 2025. https://chatgpt.com/share/68d55965-a224-8003-a448-a9fd8b51e153.
OpenAI. Response to "Can you provide me a list of English-language Bible translations, in order by publication date?" ChatGPT, September 25, 2025. https://chatgpt.com/share/68d55817-c87c-8003-8ca6-693daca01fdb.
Generative AI tool
General use of AI tools (with your professor's permission!) for purposes such as: editing your writing; translating between languages; generating images; etc., do not require a footnote or bibliography citation in Chicago Style, and should instead be acknowledged in the body of your writing. Ask your professor how they would prefer you acknowledge permitted AI use in your work.
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (18th ed.)