Skip to Main Content
     

HIST 281: Imperial China (Rocks): Cite in Chicago Style

Fall 2025

Additional Resources

Citation Software

With RefWorks, you can import references from Holy Cross databases to create your own personal list of references and bibliographies for your papers.

Chicago Manual of Style (Author-Date)

Author-Date is the version of Chicago style which uses parenthetical in-text citation. 

Book with a single author or editor 

In-text: 

(Author Lastname date, page) 

(Hsu 2022, 10)

References: 

Author Lastname, Firstname. Date. Title of Book. Publisher. 

Hsu, Katherine Lu. 2022. The Violent Hero: Heracles in the Greek Imagination. Bloomsbury Academic. 

Journal article from an online database (w/ month or season given)

In-text: 

(Author Lastname and Lastname date, page) 

(Boyle and Lahey 2016, 66)

References: 

Author Lastname, Firstname and Author Firstname Lastname. Date. "Title of Article." Journal Title, volume (month): pages. DOI link or URL or database. 

Boyle, Melissa A. and Joanna N. Lahey. 2016. “Spousal Labor Market Effects from Government Health Insurance: Evidence from a Veterans Affairs Expansion." Journal of Health Economics, 45 (January): 63-76.  https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jhealeco.2015.11.005. 

Journal article from an online database (w/ no month or season given)

In-text: 

(Author Lastname date, page) 

(Candelora 2017, 46)

References: 

Author Lastname, Firstname. Date. "Title of Article." Journal Title volume(issue): pages. DOI link or URL or database.

Candelora, Daniella. 2018. "Entangled in Orientalism: How the Hyksos Became a Race." Journal of Egyptian History 11(1-2): 45-72.  Historical Abstracts. 

Online newspaper/magazine article 

In-text: 

(Author Lastname and Lastname date)

(Malik and Onguny 2022)

References:

(Author Lastname, Firstname and Author Firstname Lastname. Date. "Title of Article." Newspaper, month day. URL or database. 

Malik, Aditi and Philip Onguny. 2022. "From Message to Violence: What to Watch for in the Media Ahead of Kenya's Elections." The Conversation, March 21. https://theconversation.com/from-message-to-violence-what-to-watch-for-in-the-media-ahead-of-kenyas-elections-177459.

Page from a website

In-text: 

(Page creator date)

(College of the Holy Cross n.d.)

References: 

Page creator. Date. "Title of Page." Accessed month day, year. URL. 

College of the Holy Cross. n.d. "Prelaw Program." Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/prelaw-program.