Skip to Main Content
     

CLAS 100: Opening Classics (Candelora/Knott): Crediting Sources

Fall 2025

Cite Sources

 


 

 Try writing your citations (or even just drafts) as soon as you find your sources. 

 Incorporate citations as you write -- be meticulous about documenting what came from where. 

 It's OK if you don't know every nuance of your citation style -- even librarians don't! The important thing is knowing how to look up or ask for help when you're not sure how to cite something. 

Don't forget that you can always ask a librarian for help with citations. And, ask a librarian, your professor, or the Writer's Workshop if you are unsure what needs to be cited. Academic integrity is serious business! 

Chicago Citation Help (Notes-Bibliography Style)

There are two versions of Chicago Style citation. For this class, you will use Notes-Bibliography Style. 

  • If you need to reference something in the body of your writing, Notes-Bibliography uses footnote citations. For the most part, you likely won't need to use footnotes for the Early Global World project. |
     
  • Most, but not all, online citation tools with an option for Chicago Style will provide the citation in Notes-Bibliography style -- but it's important to check carefully! An easy giveaway is that the 'other' Chicago (Author-Date) lists the publication date towards the very beginning of the citation -- after the author's name. 

Book with a single author or editor 

In footnotes: 
Aaron M. Seider, Memory in Vergil's Aeneid: Creating the Past (Cambridge University Press, 2013), 10. 

In your bibliography:
Seider, Aaron M. Memory in Vergil's Aeneid: Creating the Past. Cambridge University Press, 2013. 

Online dictionary or encyclopedia entry 

In footnotes:
Edward Togo Salmon and T.W. Potter, "Beneventum," in Oxford Classical Dictionary (Oxford University Press, 2015), published Dec 22, 2015, https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780199381135.013.1091.

In your bibliography:
Salmon, Edward Togo and T.W. Potter. "Beneventum." In Oxford Classical Dictionary. Oxford University Press, 2015. Article published Dec 22, 2015. https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780199381135.013.1091.

Online journal article 

In footnotes:
Daniella Candelora, "Entangled in Orientalism: How the Hyksos Became a Race," Journal of Egyptian History 11, no. 1-2 (2018): 46, Historical Abstracts. 

In your bibliography: 
Candelora, Daniella. "Entangled in Orientalism: How the Hyksos Became a Race." Journal of Egyptian History 11, no. 1-2 (2018): 45-72.  Historical Abstracts. 

Image inside a book

In footnotes: 
Filippo Coarelli, Rome and Environs: An Archaeological Guide (University of California Press, 2014), 385, fig. 66. 

In your bibliography:
[There is no bibliography format for this type of citation!] 

Website page

In your writing:
Elizabeth Knott, "The Middle Babylonian/Kassite Period (ca.1595-1155 B.C.) in Mesopotamia," Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, Metropolitan Museum of Art, last modified June 1, 2016, https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/kass/hd_kass.htm. 

In your bibliography:
Knott, Elizabeth. "The Middle Babylonian/Kassite Period (ca.1595-1155 B.C.) in Mesopotamia." Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, Metropolitan Museum of Art. Last modified June 1,  2016. https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/kass/hd_kass.htm. 

The Chicago Manual of Style was updated in September 2024!
While most changes won't affect your research or citation, there are a few things that will. The biggest change is that we no longer list the city of publication for books when we cite them in our bibliography. 

If you are looking at Chicago Style resources or using a citation tool, make sure it's been updated to the newest version of Chicago Style (or ask Jennifer for help!). All of the resources listed here are based on the newest version, which is the 18th edition.