Skip to Main Content
     

CLAS 100: Opening Classics (Candelora/Knott): Help with Access

Fall 2025

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and Document Delivery

BOOKS: 


Some things to keep in mind: 

  • Depending on where a book is traveling from, it can take up to 1-2 weeks (though usually less) to arrive. Make sure to plan ahead! 
     
  • If you don't have enough time to wait for a book, consider requesting a chapter from the book instead. 
     
  • ILL books often have shorter checkout periods than books you borrow from HC Libraries. When your book arrives, it will come with a sticker indicating the due date.

 Instructions for Using Interlibrary Loan

BOOK CHAPTERS:

  • InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch our video introduction to Interlibrary Loan to learn more!
  • Document Delivery is a service that allows you to request a scan of materials owned by the Holy Cross Libraries. To find books or journals for Document Delivery, search the catalog as normal. Document Delivery requests follow the same process as Interlibrary Loan requests. 

Requesting Book Chapters:

To request a book chapter on Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery, log into the Interlibrary Loan system....

Log-in using your Google username and password. 

Once you have logged in, choose "Book Chapter" under the appropriate menu: 

 ILL Request menu with options: Article, AV Material, Book, Book Chapter, Thesis/Dissertation, Purchase Request        Doc Delivery Request menu with options: Article, Book Chapter

Then, fill out the request form. A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the chapter, if possible (chapter and book author, chapter and book title, date of publication, publisher, and, ideally, page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request. 

Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email. 

 Instructions for Using Interlibrary Loan

ARTICLES:

  • InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch our video introduction to Interlibrary Loan to learn more!
  • Document Delivery is a service that allows you to request a scan of materials owned by the Holy Cross Libraries. To find books or journals for Document Delivery, search the databases, Google Scholar, etc. as normal. Document Delivery requests follow the same process as Interlibrary Loan requests. 

Requesting Articles via Database:

If you have found an article you would like to request in the article databases and no electronic access is available, you can use the Check for Full Text  button to request an article on Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery. 

Click Check for Full Text, then, in the window that appears, choose  Interlibrary Loan: Request this item.

You can log in with your Holy Cross Google username and password. 

You should be brought automatically to the Article Request form. The database will fill out most information for you. Check to make sure the information entered is accurate (to help us find your article sooner!).  A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the chapter, if possible (author, article and journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request. 

Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email. 

Requesting Other Articles:

If you have found an article you would like to request by means other than the article databases, log into the Interlibrary Loan system....

Log-in using your Google username and password. 

Once you have logged in, choose "Article" under the appropriate menu: 

 ILL Request menu with options: Article, AV Material, Book, Book Chapter, Thesis/Dissertation, Purchase Request    Doc Delivery Request menu with options: Article, Book, Book Chapter

Then, fill out the request form. A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the article (author, article and journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request. 

Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email. 

 Instructions for Using Interlibrary Loan

Article Citations

Being able to follow a citation is crucial for research! If you have a citation, you can use those skills to track down the full-text of the article directly using the Browzine eJournals search

 

All of the information that you need to track down an article is located in its citation -- like this one below! Note that the | is not part of the citation -- these symbols mark where each component of the citation begins and ends.  

 

Candelora, Daniella.  | 2018. | "Entangled in Orientalism: How the Hyksos Became a Race." | 

Author                      Date                                           Title of Article             

Journal of Egyptian History | 11 | (1-2): | 45-72. | Historical Abstracts. | 

  Journal                             Vol    Issue        Pages      DOI, stable URL or database

 Instructions for using the E-Journals search to find articles