LibGuides: ECON 236: Economics of Climate Change (Vedogbeton) Spring 2025: Background Information & Other Sources

Online Sources

Center for Climate and Energy Solutions
Mission is to secure a safe and stable climate by accelerating the global transition to net-zero greenhouse gas emissions and a thriving, just, and resilient economy.
Climate Change - LibGuides at The World Bank/IMF Library Network
This guide will help you find Library and online resources for climate change issues related to economics and finance.
**NOTE: Some licensed resources are available to only IMF Library staff.
Council on Foreign Relations: Climate Change Resources
Explore the comprehensive library of free teaching and learning resources on climate change from CFR Education and the experts at the Council on Foreign Relations.
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the United Nations body for assessing the science related to climate change.
The International Monetary Fund
The IMF is a global organization that works to achieve sustainable growth and prosperity for all of its 191 member countries. It does so by supporting economic policies that promote financial stability and monetary cooperation, which are essential to increase productivity, job creation, and economic well-being. The IMF is governed by and accountable to its member countries.
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
The OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) is a forum and knowledge hub for data, analysis and best practices in public policy. We work with over 100 countries across the world to build stronger, fairer and cleaner societies - helping to shape better policies for better lives.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
EIA programs cover data on coal, petroleum, natural gas, electric, renewable and nuclear energy. EIA is part of the U.S. Department of Energy.
World Bank Group Library Guide - Climate Change
Guide on climate change.
**NOTE: Unfortunately, licensed resources are available to only World Bank staff with an institutional user ID and password.

The World Bank, including: Open Knowledge Repository (includes articles & books) and World Development Indicators (WDI) (economic, social, environmental, & governance time series indicators from 200 countries).

Try searching the websites of relevant government agencies. Also, search for reputable organizations/non-profits who have an interest in your country/policy. (Please note that the amount of material available in English on the websites of relevant International agencies may be relatively limited.)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great tool for doing a broad search of scholarly literature on your topic:

Google Scholar searches across many disciplines.
Your search results will include a broad range of sources, including journal articles, conference papers, theses, dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, & abstracts.
Results come from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities & other web sites.

You'll just want to keep some things in mind:

Coverage is not comprehensive. Many sourcess are hidden in publishers' databases and journals that Google can't search, so you'll want to look at other databases as well.
Search results can include links to things like high school term papers, so you'll want to evaluate what you find.

You can access advanced search features by clicking the arrow in the right of the search box. These features allow you to refine your search.

Look for the words Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross next to an article. You should be able to access any of these articles through the library's subscriptions. If you come across a source that Holy Cross does not have access to, remember that you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

When you are on campus, Google Scholar will automatically show you those Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross links next to articles that Holy Cross has access to. If you are off-campus, you can set your Scholar Settings to show the links for accessing sources through Holy Cross. You can modify your settings by selecting the Settings link in the upper-right corner of Google Scholar webpage.

Click on the Cited by and Related articles links at the bottom of a search result to find relevant articles & books.

Library Sources for Background Information

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Local, national, and international news, including the Worcester Telegram & Gazette.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Company profiles, reports, and other industry, market and geopolitical analyses, drawn from four respected sources: Hoover's Company Profile; OxResearch (Oxford Analytica); Barnes Reports; and Snapshots.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 2004-present
Current access to the Financial Times site, including news, columns, reports and more covering global business, finance, and politics. You must create an account to use this online news source.
Foreign Policy Online This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 2011-present
Articles, news stories, podcasts and more from Foreign Policy Magazine including all pictures and advertisements.
New York Times Current (SGA Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Current access to the New York Times site, including news, columns and more -- courtesy of the Holy Cross SGA. ** To access, create an account with your HC email address. If you already have an account, there will be an option to click-through to log in.
Oxford Reference Books: Economics This link opens in a new window
Economics encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books, published by Oxford University Press. Some books limited to 5 users at one time. Please close the website when you are done.
Oxford Reference Books: Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
Environmental science encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books, published by Oxford University Press.
TheAtlantic.com This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1857-present
Articles, articles, newsletters, videos, podcasts, events, and more from TheAtlantic.com. ** To access: Choose “College of the Holy Cross" as your institution. Log-in with your HC email and password.
Wall Street Journal Current (SGA Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Current access to the Wall Street Journal site, including news, columns and more -- courtesy of the Holy Cross SGA.
** To access: log-in with your HC email and password, then create an account using your HC email address.