Additional Resources
- Citing Sources & Academic IntegrityThis guide offers resources for citing sources appropriately as well as understanding and practicing academic integrity.
- Writer's WorkshopThe Writer’s Workshop provides an opportunity to meet with trained, peer consultants to discuss assignments, brainstorm ideas, develop outlines for your papers, improve and further polish your paper drafts, and more. The workshop is located on the 2nd floor of Dinand, next to the Debate Room. You can walk-in or, book an appointment here!
Citation Software
With RefWorks, you can import references from Holy Cross databases to create your own personal list of references and bibliographies for your papers.
Still using the Legacy version of RefWorks? Please consider migrating as soon as possible! -- but in the meantime, you can still access the Legacy RefWorks site. Contact a librarian for help migrating.
- How to: Use RefWorks
-
How to: Export Citations to RefWorks
by HC Libraries Research Help Last Updated Aug 15, 2024 83 views this year
Chicago Manual of Style (Notes-Bibliography)
As of September 2024, Chicago Manual of Style has updated to the 18th edition.
Consult with your professor to confirm whether you should use the 17th or 18th edition.
Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which uses footnotes for in-text citation.
Book with a single author or editor
First footnote: Amy D. Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America (Temple University Press, 2020), 10.
Second footnote: Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft, 10.
Bibliography: Finstein, Amy D. Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America. Temple University Press, 2020.
Journal article from an online database
First footnote: Chanelle Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada," Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 10, https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Second footnote: Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach,'" 10.
Bibliography: Robinson, Chanelle. "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada." Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 9-24. https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Online newspaper/magazine article
First footnote: Edward T. O'Donnell, "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group," Washington Post, March 17, 2019, ProQuest Central.
Second footnote: O'Donnell, "Irish Immigrants."
Bibliography: O'Donnell, Edward T. "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group." Washington Post, March 17, 2019. ProQuest Central.
Page from a website
First footnote: "Classics," College of the Holy Cross, accessed August 19, 2024, https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
Second footnote: "Classics."
Bibliography: College of the Holy Cross. "Classics." Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
As of September 2024, Chicago Manual of Style has updated to the 18th edition.
Consult with your professor to confirm whether you should use the 17th or 18th edition.
Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which uses footnotes for in-text citation.
Book with a single author or editor
First footnote: Amy D. Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America (Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2020), 10.
Second footnote: Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft, 10.
Bibliography: Finstein, Amy D. Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2020.
Journal article from an online database
First footnote: Chanelle Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada," Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 10, https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Second footnote: Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach,'" 10.
Bibliography: Robinson, Chanelle. "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada." Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 9-24. https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Online newspaper/magazine article
First footnote: Edward T. O'Donnell, "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group," Washington Post, March 17, 2019, ProQuest Central.
Second footnote: O'Donnell, "Irish Immigrants."
Bibliography: O'Donnell, Edward T. "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group." Washington Post, March 17, 2019. ProQuest Central.
Page from a website
First footnote: "Classics," College of the Holy Cross, accessed August 19, 2024, https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
Second footnote: "Classics."
Bibliography: "Classics." College of the Holy Cross. Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
As of September 2024, Chicago Manual of Style has updated to the 18th edition.
Consult with your professor to confirm whether you should use the 17th or 18th edition.
Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition:
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (18th ed.)Call Number: Reference Z253 .U69 2024ISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: Sept 2024Copies in Dinand, Science and Music
Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition:
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Dinand Reference; Music Reference; Science Reference
