Worcester Art Museum
Worcester Art Museum
As you search for art materials in the Library Catalog, you might see some results with locations at the Worcester Art Museum (WAM). The WAM Library is part of the Holy Cross Libraries, and Holy Cross students, faculty, and staff can borrow materials from that library.
If an item is listed at the Worcester Art Museum, you can request for it to be delivered to campus for you to pick up at Dinand Library. On the catalog page, you will see a link that says "Request this item" below the call number. Click that link, log in with your Holy Cross account when prompted, and select your preferred pick up location. You will receive an email when the item is available for you to pick up.
- Worcester Art Museum LibraryBrowse the Worcester Art Museum Library collection directly.
Interlibrary Loan
Did you find an article, book chapter, or book that you want to read, but Holy Cross doesn't have access to it? Use Interlibrary Loan to request any materials not owned by Holy Cross and the Library will try to get what you need.
If you find an article in a Library database, use the purple "Check For Full Text" button to start an Interlibrary Loan request. You can also log in to your Interlibrary Loan account (linked below) to enter a request for the item you need. That account is also where you can view the status of your request, request renewals, and download your electronic materials. Articles and book chapters are typically delivered electronically. Print books will be delivered to the campus library of your choice. You will get an email when your item is ready.
Plan ahead: Interlibrary Loan can take time to process. Journal articles are usually available in less than a week, and print books may take longer if they are shipping from far away.
- Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery & Retrieval ServicesLog in to your Interlibrary Loan account here to submit requests, check the status of requests, and download electronically delivered materials.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A world-wide catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, and other sources available in libraries worldwide. Includes direct links to request items on Interlibrary Loan.
Citation Help
- Chicago Manual of StyleThe online version of the Chicago Manual of Style with guidelines for Notes and Bibliography citations.
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Dinand Reference; Music Reference; Science Reference
Librarian
Slides
Library Catalogs
Use the Library Catalog to search for books (including e-books) and print journals related to your topic. The catalog will search for print books and journals that we own in the library in addition to e-books that can be accessed online. The default search will search for keywords, but you can also search by title, author, subject, or call number. Learn more about call numbers here.
Access the Library Catalog search through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library). Above the search bar, select "Library Catalog."
The library catalog uses subject terms to label or "tag" the main topics in a book. Subject terms are used to put everything related to one topic under a consistent label to make it easier to find with a search. Knowing the relevant subject terms for your topic can help streamline your search by essentially helping you speak the catalog's language.
When you search in the catalog, you will be able to see the subject terms assigned to your results when you click for more details about a search result. Try using one of those subjects in your next search to see what results it brings back.
For art sources, subject terms will typically include the medium (for example, "painting" or "sculpture"), the country or region where the art is from, and may include the art movement. Generally, time periods are noted in subject terms by century, not specific dates. For example, a book about contemporary art may have the subject terms "Art, Modern -- 21st century."
CrossSearch (also known as EBSCO Discovery Service) is a one-stop search tool that enables users to simultaneously search most of the informational resources available through the library, including:
- Books, ebooks, archival materials, media and music scores owned by the Holy Cross Libraries.
- Research databases like Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, ARTstor and ProQuest Central.
- E-journal collections like JSTOR and ScienceDirect.
- The Holy Cross digital repository CrossWorks.
- Open Access collections such as HaithiTrust Digital Library
As you can see, CrossSearch looks in many different places and for many different types of sources. In one search, you might see results for academic journal articles, books in the library’s collection, films, newspaper articles, and more. This can be a good place to start if you want to see a broad scope of the resources available on your topic. However, because CrossSearch includes so many types of resources, you might find you need to filter these results more than you would in a more specific database.
CrossSearch is best accessed through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library).
Using CrossSearch
By default, CrossSearch retrieves items in the Holy Cross Libraries' collections that match your search terms. To expand your results, uncheck "Catalog & Full Text Only" on the results screen. If you discover an item we do not have access to, you may need to place an interlibrary loan request.
More Resources
Not everything owned by the Holy Cross Libraries is included in CrossSearch. You may wish to search individual research databases using our Research Databases list.
CrossSearch Demonstration
Finding Books: Dinand and WAM
The Visual Arts Wing is located in the Dinand Library on the same floor as the Reading Room. It contains all art and photography books -- call numbers that begin with N or TR -- as well as current print magazines and journals related to art and photography.
The Worcester Art Museum (WAM) Library is a close partner of the Holy Cross Libraries and all members of the campus community have access to its resources. Their books are listed in our catalog and you can request them to be picked up in Dinand.
When looking at a book in the catalog, be sure to note the Location as well as the Call Number. Oversize books are shelved separately and will say "Oversize" in the location and have a plus sign (+) in the call number.
Research Databases and Guides
Research Databases
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of important reference works in the visual arts, including The Concise Dictionary of Oxford Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
- Oxford Reference Books: Art & Architecture This link opens in a new window
Art and architecture encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books, published by Oxford University Press.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica Public Library Edition.
Library Guides
Museum Resources
Newspaper Databases - Subscriptions
Follow the instructions below each newspaper title to activate your subscription. For these newspapers, once you have activated your subscription you can access articles directly from the newspaper website.
- New York Times Current (SGA Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Current access to the New York Times site, including news, columns and more -- courtesy of the Holy Cross SGA. ** To access, create an account with your HC email address. If you already have an account, there will be an option to click-through to log in.
- Wall Street Journal Current (SGA Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Current access to the Wall Street Journal site, including news, columns and more -- courtesy of the Holy Cross SGA.
** To access: log-in with your HC email and password, then create an account using your HC email address.
Newspaper Databases
These newspapers are available through library databases. Use the library links to browse current and past issues of the paper.
- Boston Globe Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1980-present
Text-only articles from the Boston Globe. - U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
National newspapers, blogs and online news sites, including the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and international news sources, including major titles like the Boston Globe, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, and LA Times.
- Worcester Telegram & Gazette Current This link opens in a new window
Date(s):1989-present
Articles from the Worcester Telegram & Gazette; all pictures and advertisements are included 2018-present.
Art Ebooks
- A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
Academic ebooks about the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- National Gallery (USA) Online EditionsScroll down to the NGA Online Editions heading.
- British Museum PublicationsNote the areas labeled "Online Research Catalogues" and "Online Journals"
- Getty Research PortalThe Getty Research Portal™ is a free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Citing Sources - Chicago Manual of Style
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
*These examples are in the Notes-Bibliography style*
Book with a single author or editor
Footnote: Susan Walker, ed., Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt (New York: Routledge, 2000), 10.
Bibliography: Walker, Susan, ed. Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt. New York: Routledge, 2000.
Journal article from an online database
Footnote: Dominic Montserrat, "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits,'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79 (1993): 220, https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Bibliography: Montserrat, Dominic. "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits.'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79 (1993): 215-25. https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Newspaper article from an online database
Footnote: Alan Riding, "Under the Probing Gaze of the Egyptian Dead," New York Times, April 26,1997, ProQuest New York Times Historical.
Bibliography: Riding, Alan. "Under the Probing Gaze of the Egyptian Dead." New York Times, April 26, 1997. ProQuest New York Times Historical.
Page from a website
Footnote: Rachel Sabino, "Gilding the Dead: Mummy Portraits in Roman Egypt," Art Institute Chicago, last modified October 23, 2019, https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.
Bibliography: Sabino, Rachel. "Gilding the Dead: Mummy Portraits in Roman Egypt." Art Institute Chicago. Last modified October 23, 2019. https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.
Entry in an online encyclopedia
Footnote: Grove Art Online, s.v. "Cameo Glass," by Gordon Campbell, accessed April 4, 2024, https://doi-org.holycross.idm.oclc.org/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.article.T2071246
Note: "s.v." stands for "sub verbo" or "under the word." It is used before the entry title in the footnote to indicate when articles are listed alphabetically, instead of with a volume or edition number.
Bibliography: Online reference works like major dictionaries and encyclopedias are generally cited in footnotes, not the bibliography.
Published or broadcast interviews
Footnote (audio/radio interview with text accompaniment): Tariq Trotter, “'Music was There for Me When I Needed It,' The Roots Co-Founder Tariq Trotter Says,” interview by Tonya Mosley, Fresh Air, November 7, 2023, https://www.npr.org/2023/11/07/1211025998/tariq-trotter-black-thought-the-roots-questlove-upcycled-self
Bibliography: Trotter, Tariq. “'Music was There for Me When I Needed It,' The Roots Co-Founder Tariq Trotter Says.” By Tonya Mosley. Fresh Air, November 7, 2023.
Footnote (video interview): Njideka Akynyuli Crosby, “Inhabiting Multiple Spaces,” interview with Tate Modern, Tate, October 3, 2016, https://youtu.be/UeYP8ssD_BM?feature=shared
Bibliography: Crosby, Njideka Akynyuli. “Inhabiting Multiple Spaces.” By Tate Modern. Tate, October 3, 2016, https://youtu.be/UeYP8ssD_BM?feature=shared
For other multimedia examples, see Chicago Manual of Style 14.267 Videos, podcasts, and other online multimedia