Additional Resources
- Citing Sources & Academic IntegrityThis guide offers resources for citing sources appropriately as well as understanding and practicing academic integrity.
- Writer's WorkshopThe Writer’s Workshop provides an opportunity to meet with trained, peer consultants to discuss assignments, brainstorm ideas, develop outlines for your papers, improve and further polish your paper drafts, and more. The workshop is located on the 2nd floor of Dinand, next to the Debate Room. You can walk-in or, book an appointment here!
In-Class Practice
Citation Resources
MLA Style, 9th ed.
Book with one editor
In-text: (Walker 10).
Works Cited: Walker, Susan, ed. Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt. Routledge: 2000.
Journal article from an online database
In-text: (Montserrat 220).
Works Cited: Montserrat, Dominic. "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits.'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, vol. 79, 1993, pp.215-25. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Chapter in a book
In-text: (Porter 110)
Works Cited: Porter, James I. "Hearing Voices: The Herculaneum Papyri and Classical Scholarship." Antiquity Recovered: The Legacy of Pompeii and Herculaneum, edited by Victoria C. Gardner Coates and Jon L. Seydl, J. Paul Getty Museum, 2007, pp.95-114.
Image on a website
In-text: (Commonists)
Works Cited: Commonists. "Casa della Nave Europa (Pompeii) - Interior." Wikimedia Commons, 2 May 2021, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Casa_della_Nave_Europa_(Pompeii)_-_Interior.jpg. Accessed 30 Oct 2023.
MLA Style Resources
Chicago Style (Notes-Bibliography)
*Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes.
Book with a single author or editor
Footnote: Susan Walker, ed., Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt (New YOrk: Routledge, 2000), 10.
Bibliography: Walker, Susan, ed. Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt. New York: Routledge, 2000.
Journal article from an online database
Footnote: Dominic Montserrat, "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits,'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79 (1993): 220, https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Bibliography: Montserrat, Dominic. "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits.'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79 (1993): 215-25. https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Chapter in a book
Footnote: James I. Porter, "Hearing Voices: The Herculaneum Papyri and Classical Scholarship," in Antiquity Recovered: The Legacy of Pompeii and Herculaneum, ed. Victoria C. Gardner Coates and Jon L. Seydl (Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Museum, 2007), 95-114.
Bibliography: Porter, James I. "Hearing Voices: The Herculaneum Papyri and Classical Scholarship." In Antiquity Recovered: The Legacy of Pompeii and Herculaneum, edited by Victoria C. Gardner Coates and Jon L. Seydl, 95-114. Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Museum, 2007.
Image on a website
Footnote: Commonists, Casa della Nave Europa (Pompeii) - Interior, 2 May 2021, accessed 30 Oct 2023, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Casa_della_Nave_Europa_(Pompeii)_-_Interior.jpg.
Bibliography: Commonists, Casa della Nave Europa (Pompeii) - Interior. 2 May 2021. Accessed 30 Oct 2023. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Casa_della_Nave_Europa_(Pompeii)_-_Interior.jpg.
Chicago Style Resources
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Dinand Reference; Music Reference; Science Reference
APA Style, 7th ed.
Book with a single author or editor
In-text: (Walker, 2000, p. 10).
References: Walker, S., ed. (2000). Ancient faces: Mummy portraits from Roman Egypt. New York: Routledge.
Journal article from an online database
In-text: (Montserrat, 1993, p. 220).
References: Montserrat, D. (1993). The representation of young males in 'Fayum portraits.' The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79: 215-25. https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Chapter in a book
In-text: (Porter, 2007, p. 110).
References: Porter, J.I. (2007). Hearing voices: The Herculaneum papyri and classical scholarship. In V.C.G. Coates & J.L. Seydl (Eds.), Antiquity recovered: The legacy of Pompeii and Herculaneum (pp. 95-114). J. Paul Getty Museum.
Image on a website
In-text: (Commonists, 2021)
References: Commonists. (2021, May 2). Casa della Nave Europa (Pompeii) - interior [Photograph]. Wikimedia Commons. Retrieved October 30, 2023. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Casa_della_Nave_Europa_(Pompeii)_-_Interior.jpg.
APA Style Resources
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2019Available in Dinand, Music and Science Library Reference.
