Biology Databases
You can find scholarly articles in the following databases:
Multidisciplinary
- CrossSearch(on the Libraries' homepage)
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books published by Elsevier, covering the natural and social sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for journals, books, and conference proceedings, primarily in the natural and social sciences.
Biology / Medicine
- ProQuest Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and news articles, as well as book chapters and books relating to biology.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Now on EBSCOhost. Citations and abstracts for journal articles in the life sciences.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles about the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles in the life sciences, particularly relating to biomedicine, neuroscience, as well as plant and animal sciences.
Business / Economics
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, working papers, and reports for business research. Click on "Browse" at the top of the page to focus on featured content such as commodity, company, and country reports.
Computer Science / Technology
- IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package This link opens in a new window
Journal and magazine articles, as well as other publications sponsored by the IEEE Society.
- MathSciNet (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, book chapters, books, and theses in the mathematical sciences, compiled and reviewed by the American Mathematical Society (AMS). This is the EBSCOhost version.
- Information Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Magazines and trade magazines, academic journals, news, and other sources relating to the computer and information sciences.
Law / Legal
- HeinOnline: Government, Politics & Law for Academics This link opens in a new window
A library of legal resources including law journals; government, legal and diplomatic documents; books; reports; and historical sources.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal documents at the federal and state level, including court cases, laws, and legal encyclopedias.
Psychology
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in the field of psychology.
Tracing Citations
Use Scopus or Google Scholar to discover articles that cite and are cited by your original source. This is a great way to find more recent articles related to your topic.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for journals, books, and conference proceedings, primarily in the natural and social sciences.
How to Read a Scholarly Article (video 1)
University of Illinois Undergraduate Library. "How to Read a Scholarly Article." YouTube, uploaded by University of Illinois Undergraduate Library, 6 Aug 2019, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ZS1Beio11M
How to Read a Scholarly Article (video 2)
Western University Libraries. "How to Read a Scholarly Article." YouTube, uploaded by Western University, 26 Apr 2012, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SmOq6gENPM