Library Catalog
Use the Library Catalog to find print books, print journals, and ebooks in the library's collection. Access the Library Catalog search through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library). Above the search bar, select "Library Catalog." To use more advanced searching options, click on the "My Library Account" link below the search bar to go directly to the catalog, where you can search by keyword, title, subject, or call number.
Books on the shelves are organized by call number. A call number is an address for a book that tells you where the book is located on the shelf. Call numbers identify different subject areas, so books with similar call numbers will cover similar subjects. This way, when you find a book on the shelf, you know the books around it are on similar topics.
When you look up a book in CrossSearch or the Library Catalog, you will see the call number listed along with the book's location and its availability. In the example below, you can see this book is located in the Dinand Visual Arts Wing.
Art Resources in the Library
At Holy Cross, print books are organized using a system called the Library of Congress Classification or LCC. In this system, books are assigned a call number based on their subject. Books are arranged on the shelves by their call number, which acts like an address for the book. This is also helpful for browsing, because books with similar subjects will be located in the same area of the shelves.
Materials related to Fine Arts are assigned call numbers that start with the letter N. Most call numbers then have a second letter to give a more specific subject:
| N -- Visual arts | ND -- Painting |
| NA -- Architecture | NE -- Print Media |
| NB -- Sculpture | NK -- Decorative Arts |
| NC -- Drawing. Design. Illustration | NX -- Arts in General |
A Note About Photography: The Library of Congress Classification system puts photography under the technology subject, not fine arts. Therefore, print materials related to photography have a different call number than other fine arts. The call number for photography is TR.
These call numbers (N and TR) can be found in the Visual Arts Wing in Dinand Library. This wing is on the main level of the building. If you are facing the circulation desk, the Visual Arts Wing is to your left by the Hogan entrance to the building. If you have trouble finding it, ask for help at the desk!
Electronic Resources
Library Databases
You can use library databases to find images and other art related sources. Visit the A-Z Database List to see all of the databases the library subscribes to. Use the Subjects dropdown menu to filter for Art & Architecture to see databases specific to visual arts. Some databases will include journal articles, book chapters, magazines, and other print sources. Other databases will include searchable image libraries. The list below includes some recommended databases.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Now part of JSTOR. Library of images relating to art and architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, and book chapters about art, art history, architecture, and design.
- A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
Academic ebooks about the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of important reference works in the visual arts, including The Concise Dictionary of Oxford Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Other Online Image Sources
Artstor is a database the library subscribes to with a library of images relating to art and architecture, humanities, and social sciences. This is a searchable collection where you can save and sort images based on your research needs. Below are some other online sources for images. Be sure to review the Copyright page on this guide to understand how to use images in your work.
- WorldImagesWorldImages provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
- LUNA CommonsA free public image resource for discovering valuable educational content with authoritative descriptive data.
- Art Images for College TeachingArt Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community. The University of Michigan Library provides access to this collection for educational and research purposes.
- Google Arts & CultureGoogle Arts & Culture works with museums and cultural institutions around the world to digitize art and culture resources and make them available online. Explore virtual galleries and go on virtual tours of museums across the globe.
Museums and Archives
Many museums and archives have digitized collections available on their websites. If you are looking for a specific work of art or work by a specific artist, do some research to see if that artwork is part of a museum collection. Then, look for that museum's website to see if they have accompanying photos or information about the work.