LibGuides: PHIL 250: Medical Ethics (Stempesy): Library Resources

In Class Activity

In groups of four or five, select a research database from the list above and do a key word search for your topic. Everyone should use the same keywords to search in their database. Compare your results and select two or three sources you think would be useful to you in your assignment. Take note of which database you find helpful resources on, if you find similar resources across the different databases, and what database contains the most accessible resources.

Assignment Case Study Options: pp. 107-8 (1,2,3); pp. 178-9 (1,2,3); pp. 210-12 (1,2,3); pp. 253-7 (1,3).

Recommended Databases for Philosophy and Medicine

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in the field of psychology.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of psychology. This database is a subset of PsycINFO.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles in the life sciences, particularly relating to biomedicine, neuroscience, as well as plant and animal sciences.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles in the life sciences, particularly relating to biomedicine, neuroscience, as well as plant and animal sciences. This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and is a major component of PubMed.
IOPscience Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from multiple scientific disciplines.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Summaries, viewpoint essays, data and further reading on "hot topic" social issues.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and news articles, as well as audiovisual and other credible sources relating to topics in the mathematical and natural sciences
JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly reports focused on "hot topic" issues with summaries, viewpoint essays, and further reading.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar, especially when linked with your Holy Cross Library Account, can be a good resource for background information on a topic. However, be sure you are verifying that the sources you locate on Google Scholar are credible - check out the author and publication credentials.